We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pundaluoya
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate
 Click to rate
Valbonne, France
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed only one night but we should have stayed 2! Amazing cottage, great food and people. The decoration of the cottage is fantastic and you have plenty of space. Don't miss it. Perfect for a break. Just keep in mind that it's a bit in the middle of nowhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecile G
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in a lovely villa, beautifully integrated in the wild environment - Interesting experience almost sleeping right in the jungle but with modern confort. Everything we ate was locally produced and kindly proposed by our host. We also had the opportunity to realize a really interesting and authentic visit led by our host to the village next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arnaud D
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location, amazing views, cosy lodge. Everything very clean and shiny. Food excellent, but very traditional, expect vegetables you've never heard of. Great staff but expect to be given the sales pitch regarding homegrown produce like coffee, kithul etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
origineMaussawa, Guest Relations Manager at Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Eco Lanka Villa. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please inform us regarding your next holiday plan to our place so that we could be ready to welcome you back. Best regards...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

This is my favoutite place to sleep, eat and learn about botanic and nature. We had a warm welcome from the staff. The place were we slept was very romantic, clean and well designed . We had the chance to eat their garden fruits and vegetables ... it was delicious ! Then Kevin organised a visit of their beautiful garden...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Delphinepouiche
origineMaussawa, Guest Relations Manager at Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments here. It is a great pleasure and also a encouragement for us to improve our service much better. We hope you will visit us again! Best regards Team Eco Lanka Villa.

Verona, Italy
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

After almost two weeks of travelling crazy around sri lanka we ended up our vacation here...and it was the perfect choice! Rooms are comfortable, clean and very cured on details. We were the only couple in the estate and Chaminda has been like our personal guide! He showed us how to make kitul with the natural process (organic production), how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gi058
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We were s group of 3 couples who have holidayed together for over 30 years. We expected to have similar rooms and maybe have to share two bathrooms. We were dismayed therefore to find that one couple would have a luxury cottage and the others the miserable rooms in the manor house. We drew straws for the rooms. We found...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Pam S S
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Ecolanka is a special place. It's a project to regenerate the natural biodiversity of Sri Lanka. I stayed in the cottage that is separate from the other rooms. Everything is beautiful and just humming with wildlife and diversity. The mornings and evenings were so alive with activity that the best thing to do was sit on the balcony and soak...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisL35
Maussawa E, Guest Relations Manager at Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate, responded to this review

Dear Sir. We were very pleased to go through your good comments about Eco Lanka Villa Tourist Center. Thank you very much for your enthusiasm. Always our guests had commented about our place and good food we served and staff's hospitality. Surely there will be more guests in our place in time to come. We wish you all the best....

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

To begin, it is the amazing staff and setting that the owner relies on. Where we come from, calling yourself 'Eco' something does not mean a poor standard. This place gives 'Eco' a bad name. The owners seem not to have actioned earlier criticisms of old and uncomfortable beds and hardware. In the cottage, the taps were not fixed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DomCindy
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Literally a hidden gem-hard to find up in the hill country of Sri Lanka, but paradise found. My friend and I stayed for two nights in the deluxe cottage. The food was the best I have had. The views were phenomenal. The day trips were well supported. The functioning farm was inspirational. It was a sanctuary.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pacificbloei1996
Maussawa E, Manager at Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, and for your visit! We really do our best to offer to each visitor a beautiful stay and a personal service. As we only have 7 rooms it is possible for us to offer you a great welcome ! Do not hesitate to write us an email if you have ideas that could...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I am glad we didn't pay in advance as asked as we cut our stay short. On arrival, the bungalow looked run down and the bedroom was horrible. Dank, dark, mouldy, mossie nets so old and full of holes. Nothing like the picture on the website. We wanted to leave but had been driving for a long time. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorie
Maussawa E, Manager at Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We have improved a lot of things in our estate since your visit, and still do! Our region can be damp, especially during the winter season, but we ventilate all the rooms every day. We don't use dryers for ecological reasons, so it can happen, that we need more time to dry the towels. We...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pundaluoya
21.4 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
2,477 reviews
7.2 km away
Tea Bush Ramboda
Tea Bush Ramboda
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
208 reviews
9.5 km away
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Nawalapitiya
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Singha Sanasa Luxury Homestay
19.5 km away
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ceylon Tea Trails
#1 of 1 in Hatton
1,176 reviews
5.2 km away
Mas Villa
Mas Villa
#1 of 3 in Kotmale
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the middle of the Sri Lankan moutains, EcoLanka is the perfect ecotourism site to fully enjoy the nature. We are set up on a 20 ha area where biodiversity is growing all around you. We can propose you nights in our deluxe cottage with a double stairs and balcony, from there you can enjoy an amazing view on the valley and rest peacefully. We have also a bungalow with 6 rooms and their bathroom with common balcony.We can offer you free tour in our estate but also making you visit the surroundings such as Buddhist or Hindu temples, waterfalls, tea factories... We also can provide delicious typical Sri Lankan meals. Looking forwards to welcoming you !! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate

Address: Halpola, Pundaluoya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Pundaluoya
Price Range: ₹ 2,535 - ₹ 5,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ecolanka - Maussawa Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the private cottage”
KatziF, 20 Jan 2012 | Read review
1 of 1