We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Le Champlain Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Le Champlain Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Champlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,203: English reviews
Phippsburg, Maine
Reviewed 29 January 2015

We've only been to Quebec twice before, each time for winter Canavale, and have previously stayed at the Frontenac and the Clarendon, both at much higher rates than those we booked here. If you are fond of the arcane historical references or elaborate architectural details, the former hotels may suit you better. If you want a good night's sleep, fair...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank h0trudderedbum
MichelleDore, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear h0trudderedbum, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. Your good words will be presented to our front office staff with great joy. As mentioned in your comments, we are offering an...

Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Just returned from a very pleasant weekend stay. The hotel is perfectly located to explore all of Old Quebec on foot. The room was warm and cozy, clean and well equipped with a fridge and hair dryer. Unlike some of the reviewers, we found the staff friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and a big improvement over what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R S
MichelleDore, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R S, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. Your good words will be presented to our front office staff with great joy. Parking in Old Quebec can be rare. If...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 26 January 2015

The hotel was very well run, well kept, with an excellent friendly helpful staff. A lovely room. The complementary breakfast was amazing. We particularly loved the comfortable lounge and the 24/7 expresso bar.The location was primo! We had an extremely pleasant visit. We're going back in May. J Brian, Ottawa

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbs115
MichelleDore, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jbs115, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for special welcome back rates! We look forward to your next visit in Quebec city! Warmest...

miami, fl
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We stayed here just before Christmas as we wanted a winter vacation spot with some charm. Vieux Quebec did not disappoint and neither did the Hotel Champlain. Very nice accommodations and the 24 hour hot chocolate/expresso were the high points. I cannot begin to tell you how welcome that hot chocolate was after a cold visit around the Old City....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dandyone
MichelleDore, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dandyone I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. Our 24h espresso/hot chocolate machine in the lobby is becoming the best friend of all our guest as soon as they are stepping...

Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a lovely, romantic suit for a few days at this hotel which is located walking distance from the skating rink, Chateau Frontenac as well as a great many restaurants and stores (you must try Le Pain Beni, a great restaurant located a few blocks east of the hotel!). We didn't even need to take the car for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sam n
MichelleDore, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour sam n, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and I will pass the good words to my front desk colleague with pleasure. Tranquility is what we are offering to all of our...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2015

I really don't understand these 4 or 5 star reviews, something is really not making sense because the hotel staff is way unfriendly than the people at mcdonalds down the street. Not accommodating at all. Please avoid this hotel at all costs and especially if you book through 3rd party like expedia,hotwire or hotels.com because they give you subpar service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaal H
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2015

-Stayed here for a conference at the Quebec City Convention Centre. -Pros- this hotel was conveient to walk to the convention centre or many parts of Old Quebec; 24 hour hot chocolate/tea/espresso; GREAT breakfast; decent bed. -Cons- leaky shower with uncomfortably high water pressure; variable front desk customer service; only one iron/ironing board for entire floor; no safe in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Versa5555
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Versa5555 I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. As you had mentioned in your comment, the hotel is well situated, in the heart of the Old Quebec, 10 minutes walking distance...

Reviewed 18 January 2015

The worst hotel ever. It was -36 outside and floor was freezing.. Heating wasn't on before we checked in. It took 2 hours for room to get warm. When asked for carpeted room they lied they dont have any. Payed $20 extra for breakfast which only had 3 to 4 things in it. The lady at reception needs to learn...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Meethiama
MichelleDore, Owner at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Meethiama You recently wrote a comment on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read that your stay in a Quebec hotel did not meet your expectations. Your last comment that you had to pay for breakfast is clear indication that you are talking of another hotel. Breakfast is free for ALL our guest at the Champlain and this has...

Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We initially chose this hotel due to its centralized location to everything we wanted to see inside the walls of Quebec City. What we soon found out on arrival was not only the location perfect, but the women at the front desk were the most helpful and polite people ever. The restaurants and bars near the hotel were top notch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex C I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and I will pass the good words to my front desk colleague with pleasure. We look forward to your next visit in Quebec city!...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Spent 3 nights in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was a good size very comfortable fireplace nice touch. Shower had great water pressure and nice hot water. Within walking distance of everything. Even though parking was extra and lot was small it was worth it. Breakfast was just ok but it was nice to be able to grab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristen M I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and we look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards, Jean-Luc Fluet General Manager

700 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
3,847 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,336 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
1,335 reviews
0.7 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,880 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 6,567 - ₹ 11,955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Champlain Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Le Champlain Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor quiet”
 of 5 bubbles hollyd993, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rm 46 is quiet with a kitchen & a separate bedroom nook. Small bathroom, but overall great room for us.”
  • Room 46 has a separate sleeping area at back right.
 of 5 bubbles Sherylcatmom, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For more money you can face the church across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 884barbraf, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“"Older" section has beautiful, spacious, quaint rooms from days gone by. Updated section just as lovely in their own way.”
 of 5 bubbles douxmete, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The fourth floor had a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles Torontocrew6, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5