We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Universel Quebec

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Quebec
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universel Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Universal as part of a tour group. Our room was quite a walk from the entrance and in the lower area of the hotel. The room was clean, but there was nothing fancy about it. The restaurant was closed so we had to walk over to the neighbouring shopping mall for food. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussietriptraveller
Tommy B, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry to learn that the hotel location disappointed you. The hotel is 10 minutes away from the city center, but depending on your needs, we understand that it could...

Montreal
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Nice location, close to old Quebec (but not walking distance). Good service, quick check-in, free large parking, free WIFI. New restaurant (Boston Pizza) inside the hotel. Great inside pool (small) and spa area! Large room, but no fridge. That is the first time I found a bed to be less than average in an hotel. Nothing exceptional but great value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dudeneverstop
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Average hotel with nice location if you have a car. Pool area is very nice and perfect for families. Try to get a room with direct access to pool, it has patio furniture and a few away from the pool. There is a Boston Pizza restaurant right next door with direct access to the hotel, no need to go outside....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesco74
danniecaron, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to notice it was a good experience. We are glad you had time to enjoy our pool area which is indeed very appreciated by our guests. And yes, as you mentioned our rooms with direct access to the pool...

Brisbane
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Room was okay, clean and with a comfortable bed, but could do with an update. The public areas of the hotel appeared to be under some renovation whilst I was there, with the restaurant closed and what appeared to be an extension being added to the front, however the pool area, lobby and hallways could do with some work. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clova2013
danniecaron, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having selected the Hotel Universel for your recent stay in Quebec City and thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Please rest assured that all your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is very important to us and we will surely use it to improve the quality of...

Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here while visiting Quebec City. It was close to old Quebec but still far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle. During our stay, we had to move our room because of a leak in our ceiling, but the hotel was gracious about what happened and upgraded us for the inconvenience. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
danniecaron, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us. We are delighted to notice that it was a good experience. We are glad you enjoyed our suites on the 4th floor overlooking the pool area, and we were very pleased to offer the upgrade. We are taking good note of your comments concerning the rooms...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A one night stay, but it was comfortable and affordable, it was all we required when travelling around Canada. We also found the AC outdated and noisy, but the room did need it, as it was hot and stuffy without it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael-paulsen
danniecaron, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you appreciated the affordable price and the comfort of our rooms and we are taking good note on your comment about the noisy air conditioner and we thank you for it. It is with such comments that we can better improve our service....

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Purchased a night's stay here on Hotwire which was very cheap however we regretted it. We were only stopping to sleep on our way through to Toronto therefore should have picked a spot more central, like Levi. Staff were not friendly. There was confusion about the breakfast which we thought was free but were told that had recently changed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny010133
danniecaron, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is with great regret that we read your comment on your stay among us and we are sorry it was such a disappointment for you and your family... We assure you that it is not the kind of stay we want our guests to experience, and we assure you that each of your comments will be studied...

Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this place for one night only. Checked in around 9:30 pm. We asked to see a room. The first room we checked was so cold. The A/C was working well even it was very old but was very noisy, The bedroom needed some upgrades especially the bathroom. There was a dark short curly hair in the tub!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mews62
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. All comments from our guests, good or bad are positive to us since they both motivate and help us emproving our service. We are sincerely sorry if your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We will take good mesures concerning the " incident" in the tub...

Stratford Upon Avon
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very comfortable bed and spacious room but room hot - air con not the best. Did not have time to use - but pool/spa area looked great. Not bothered by roadworks outside as on a coach trip and not driving for myself. However- remember bulk of construction occurs during the all to brief summer (no snow then!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iman321
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hotel Universel for you stay in Quebec city and for taking a moment to give us your feedback about it. We are sorry to ear you had some issues with the air conditioning and please do not hesitate to mention any issues like this to our team member during your future stays with us. We will...

Québec
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#80 of 101 in Quebec City
482 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
294 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
301 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#70 of 101 in Quebec City
183 reviews
3.2 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#89 of 101 in Quebec City
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 4,255 - ₹ 9,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose elsewere”
 of 5 bubbles stephengF2749JN, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it is located across from the university which is not a bad thing because there were close amenities by”
 of 5 bubbles cbot2ni, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DJ-USA, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take a room on the higher floor as there as it's not very sound proof.”
 of 5 bubbles Nadine16, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for newer rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles liquid_gumbi, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5