We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Universel Quebec

TripAdvisorUS$ 74*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 84*
US$ 74*
Great Deal
US$ 84*
US$ 84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Quebec
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Universel Quebec
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a king suite with atrium view. This was such a noisy room. The noise from the kids playing in the pool and the birds were non stop up until 10pm at night.. moreover the birds located in the atrium started chirping at 5am.. kids were also running and yelling in the hallway around 6am.. the bed was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We would first like to thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations and standards of comfort. As for the noise occurred by the kids, we have no control on the behaviors of the other visitors. However, please note that...

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are dated with paint chipping off the walls. The hotel has a restaurant Boston Pizza attached to it . The service was terrible ,waited for half an hour before the waitress even came by ,I can't blame her as she was the only person working .Their was a gentlemen standing at the entrance who seemed more interested in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank washerman2004
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly disappointed to know that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. It is not in our habits to offer a room in the state you describe and we are really sorry to read that you had an issue with your ceiling. Upon you mentioning the issue, we believe that our staff on site manage the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we rented via Tripadvisor, it did not say that it was not a loft inside the hotel but in a adjacent building. Which is fine until you want to use the pool. Gives us better parking on the other hand. EVery thing is new and clean....but a few things bothered me. The faucet spouts are loose.. kitchen and bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that, overall, you appreciated your experience in our urban lofts. We take good note of your comments and we will assure a follow-up on these aspects. We take customers’ reviews very seriously as they are essential to improve our services and...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I stayed here because I needed somewhere convenient that was close to the airport and with good access to downtown, plus something no more than $100.00 per night. This place fits the bill. Based on hotel alone, its a 2.5 Star establishment; rooms are spacious and I found the beds comfortable and it was clean. Free WiFi in all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that overall, you enjoyed your experience with us. It pleases us to see that your room has met your expectations and that you had a comfortable stay. Moreover, we are glad to know that you received a courteous and professional service from...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I booked a room at this for me and my boyfriend as our birthday getaway from the city and for a standard king we really like it! It was clean and everything we needed was there. We enjoyed it very much especially the pool. The staff was friendly and very helpful to were we could go for dinner and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chanthima D
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your satisfaction concerning your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to see that everything was perfect for your birthday getaway and that you fully enjoyed your stay with us! It pleases us to read that your room has met your expectations and that you had...

Longueuil, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2017

One night coming back to my room ( was near a escape stair way leading outside )I saw the emergency door open ,to my surprise ;no alarm and nobody in sight .I closed the door and I went to the front desk to tell them what I saw and did. On this door it is in red and white letters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write your comments on Tripadvisor. For the emergency alarm, maybe our employee did not inform you properly. We are currently doing a lot of renovations in the hotel and the workers go through that door really often. We decided to disable the alarm on the door to not disturb our clients every...

Montreal
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

I was looking for an hotel in Quebec city and was attracted by the nice pictures...For once, I forgot to check the reviews. The room are dirty, ugly and service was bad. They had no water bottle available. They pretend to be a 3 stars...They maybe deserve one. AVOID this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mibl06
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to read that our hotel has not fully met your expectations. It is not in our habits to offer an experience like the one you describe. Let us assure you that the cleanliness of establishment is a priority for all our employees and we do not offer rooms that do not answer to our cleanliness standards....

Caledon, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2017

What a great place to relax! the hotel in located in Sainte-Foy. The atmosphere was wonderful. After a long day of walking around and touring the city, we winded down at the pool area. They have a Nordic Spa in the pool area for everyone to enjoy. No appointments needed only if you want a massage or service before or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbot2ni
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have fully enjoyed their stay. Our pool and spa area is quite recent, so we are glad to know you and your family appreciated it. Thank you again, and we hope to have the pleasure to...

Standish, Maine
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The photos have some close and creative cropping - you can't say they lie- they just are not totally true. When we arrived we came to an overworked check in clerk who in a bit of time got us checked in. The hotel - and the rooms - have a smell that I can't describe, but I'm glad to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJ-USA
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to read that you did not fully enjoyed your stay with us. We are disappointed to see that our rooms did not meet your expectations. However, we do believe that the pictures on our website do represent the state of our rooms. Once again, we are sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced while you were...

Rowley, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Great place to stay, you can rent snowmobiles from Jean Morneau and they will deliver them and pick them up at the hotel can not ask for better service. The pool and Hot tub are fantastic, if you have children they can go on the water slide. I would stay here again. !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogtrem
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay. Your good comments will be shared with our staff. It is really nice to see that you had a great service from everyone. Once again, we thank you and we hope to welcome you on your next...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 101 in Quebec City
483 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#55 of 101 in Quebec City
301 reviews
3.5 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#68 of 101 in Quebec City
197 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#51 of 101 in Quebec City
312 reviews
2.3 km away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 4,807 - ₹ 10,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor (4th)”
812stevent, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chose elsewere”
stephengF2749JN, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it is located across from the university which is not a bad thing because there were close amenities by”
cbot2ni, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At another hotel”
DJ-USA, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take a room on the higher floor as there as it's not very sound proof.”
Nadine16, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 74* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 84
Hotwire.comUS$ 84
Booking.comUS$ 84
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates