We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Universel Quebec

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Quebec
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Universel Quebec
 Click to rate
Longueuil, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One night coming back to my room ( was near a escape stair way leading outside )I saw the emergency door open ,to my surprise ;no alarm and nobody in sight .I closed the door and I went to the front desk to tell them what I saw and did. On this door it is in red and white letters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write your comments on Tripadvisor. For the emergency alarm, maybe our employee did not inform you properly. We are currently doing a lot of renovations in the hotel and the workers go through that door really often. We decided to disable the alarm on the door to not disturb our clients every...

Montreal
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was looking for an hotel in Quebec city and was attracted by the nice pictures...For once, I forgot to check the reviews. The room are dirty, ugly and service was bad. They had no water bottle available. They pretend to be a 3 stars...They maybe deserve one. AVOID this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mibl06
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to read that our hotel has not fully met your expectations. It is not in our habits to offer an experience like the one you describe. Let us assure you that the cleanliness of establishment is a priority for all our employees and we do not offer rooms that do not answer to our cleanliness standards....

Caledon, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a great place to relax! the hotel in located in Sainte-Foy. The atmosphere was wonderful. After a long day of walking around and touring the city, we winded down at the pool area. They have a Nordic Spa in the pool area for everyone to enjoy. No appointments needed only if you want a massage or service before or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbot2ni
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have fully enjoyed their stay. Our pool and spa area is quite recent, so we are glad to know you and your family appreciated it. Thank you again, and we hope to have the pleasure to...

Standish, Maine
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The photos have some close and creative cropping - you can't say they lie- they just are not totally true. When we arrived we came to an overworked check in clerk who in a bit of time got us checked in. The hotel - and the rooms - have a smell that I can't describe, but I'm glad to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJ-USA
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to read that you did not fully enjoyed your stay with us. We are disappointed to see that our rooms did not meet your expectations. However, we do believe that the pictures on our website do represent the state of our rooms. Once again, we are sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced while you were...

Rowley, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Great place to stay, you can rent snowmobiles from Jean Morneau and they will deliver them and pick them up at the hotel can not ask for better service. The pool and Hot tub are fantastic, if you have children they can go on the water slide. I would stay here again. !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogtrem
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay. Your good comments will be shared with our staff. It is really nice to see that you had a great service from everyone. Once again, we thank you and we hope to welcome you on your next...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We recently stayed at the Hotel Universel in Quebec city for a basketball tournament at the Université Laval. We chose this hotel for its convenient location as it was located right in across the street from the sports complex. We were then able to walk to the games or to get food at the Pyramid where they have a number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine16
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to see that you fully enjoyed your stay with us! It is true that we are perfectly located in the heart of Ste-Foy, at only a few steps from the Laval University and near several restaurants. We are glad that this...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice pool and facilities. There's a Boston Pizza inside the hotel is very convenient. The hotel room was very nice though the bed was a little soft. Was quiet at times though some people were quite loud.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stormy_Water_Travels
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to read that you appreciated your stay with us! It is always great to receive feedback from our guests as your comments help us to know what we do right and what we could improve. With that being said, we are...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Hotel Universel is usually a good value fr the money but this hotel. The hotel has been under serious renovations and unfortunately it's not yet completed. If you get a new rooms, it's really good, but there are still a lot of very average rooms. Clean, but bad mattresses, rare electrical outlets, hallways that need restorations. Staff very pleasant, convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liquid_gumbi
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that, overall, you appreciated your stay with us. It is true that we have been under renovations in order to build a brand new section to our hotel. Indeed, these new rooms are very beautiful, and we are proud to offer a...

Hawkesbury
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Great location, very nice pool and spa area. We really enjoyed the massage therapy offered in the NeoVee spa located in the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. However, the plumbing was really in poor condition. The hallways were dirty and need some updating. The check-in and check-out was excellent and the common areas are really nice. Parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francoisl309
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to know that in overall your last stay with us has met your expectations. We are really sorry to read that you had some problem with the plumbing in your room. We would like to precise that...

Gatineau, QC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Hotel is located right beside the Laval University and the PEPS centre which makes it convenient when attending events in that part of town. Hotel is not new but has been kept in order with some retrofit. Rooms are fairly large and well furnished. Prices are fair for location. My only negative point would be that room are not sound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boutip
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment to evaluate us on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to know that your stay with us has met your expectations. In fact, our hotel has a great position right beside the Laval University and really close to public transportation. Also, our establishment is close to a...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#80 of 101 in Quebec City
478 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
295 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#82 of 101 in Quebec City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
5.1 km away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
1,856 reviews
3.2 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#89 of 101 in Quebec City
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 4,264 - ₹ 9,656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose elsewere”
 of 5 bubbles stephengF2749JN, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it is located across from the university which is not a bad thing because there were close amenities by”
 of 5 bubbles cbot2ni, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DJ-USA, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take a room on the higher floor as there as it's not very sound proof.”
 of 5 bubbles Nadine16, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for newer rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles liquid_gumbi, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5