We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,954: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is literally in Old City Quebec, and when you would walk out you would literally be in the old city of Quebec. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, and my favorite personal favorite, the Creperie. When I stayed there, I was with a big group, and there were no issues with anything, and they let kids walk around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will R
Marin County, California
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not the first time at Chateau Frontenac, and it certainly won't be the last! Such an amazing hotel. Everything about it is great, absolutely stunning hotel, with a historic feel reminiscent of Old Québec. Located above the St. Lawrence, the hotel has breathtaking views of the river, the ile d'Orleans and also old town Québec and the city...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nanci C
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear Nanci C, We are so delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and specifically the service provided by our staff. Thank you for this great feedback and sharing it with us. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Sincerely, Patricia Carré Rooms Division Director

Osprey, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very well located and quite comfortable. Welcoming staff, nice restaurants in the hotel and close to many more. Shopping is convenient and fun. If I return to Quebec City this will definitely be my choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThoughtsOnFood
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear ThoughtsOnFood, What a delight to read your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, Thank you for these wonderful comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Patricia Carré Rooms Division Director

Vergennes, Vermont
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Another wonderful visit at the Frontenac. It really is worth waiting 365 days for the next visit. Our kids are treated well, the food and beverage is exceptional and the location is magical. We do have our favorite rooms. The renovated ones are so well done but the older more traditional rooms are charming as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwvt19
Jean-François V, Directeur général at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear jwvt19, Thank you for this wonderful feedback, we are delighted your family enjoyed their stay. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec City. Best regards, Jean-François Vary Director of Operations

ottawa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just finished a 4 day stay at Le Chateau. An excellent location with pleasant and professional staff focused on providing a positive experience. They went above and beyond to make sure we had a good stay. Great breakfast buffet and very good room service as well!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CapitalCpl
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear CapitalCpl, We are so delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and specifically the service provided by our staff. Thank you for this great feedback and sharing it with us. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Sincerely, Patricia Carré Rooms Division Director

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent the first two evenings of a honeymoon here. It was a disappointing start. We chose Quebec City specifically to stay at the Frontenac. I had seen a photo and was desperate to go. It is an incredible building, in a beautiful setting. Truly it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. The boardwalk around...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samuel H
Jean-François V, Directeur général at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear Samuel H, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. Our guest feedback is both valued and welcome, and I thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the areas that require improvement. I was most concerned to learn that you were disappointed with your stay with us and I cannot...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really glad we stayed here as we did not have to search for parking, inside of hotel is impressive and room was charming and modern. Convenient to visit the old part of the city the next morning, as well as finding a traditional restaurant nearby in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Virginie A
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear Virginie A, Thank you for this great review which we will be sharing with our teams. We are thrilled you had such a great experience and we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Patricia Carré Rooms Division Director

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A long overdue review of an iconic property, where I stayed during a conference last Fall. This was my second stay at the Chateau, the first time being way back in 2010 during another conference. At that time, I had some issues with my stay, and reported them to management as part of a follow up survey conducted by Fairmont....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CdnMtnGal
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear CdnMtnGal, What a delight to read your review and know we were able to create such a memorable experience for you. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we hope to welcome you again. Sincerely, Patricia Carré Rooms Division Director

Utica, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent 10 days at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac during the recent PeeWee tournament and Carnaval de Québecl. The fantastic location of the hotel is equally matched by the accommodations and phenomenal staff. The staff at the hotel is second to none and there are a nearly unlimited number of places to shop, eat and drink within walking distance. Just staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amjs13501
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear amjs13501, Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay for the PeeWee tournament. We are truly thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec City. Sincerely, Patricia Carré Rooms Division Director

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived with a very warm welcome outside and entering thru the main entrance to a beautifully adorned architectural kept lobby, we approached the highly polished brass ornate elevators to the 14th gold level check in. We were greeted warmly in French and they already knew who we were! They explained everything to a tee and showed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Patricia C, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review

Dear Richard G, Thank you for this detailed and very informative review of your recent Chateau Frontenac stay. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and the great amenities of our Fairmont Gold product. I will share your great feedback with our teams and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Best regards, Patricia Carré Rooms...

2,312 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2267)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (247)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (654)
Viewed
View from Room (140)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Other (1066)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,884 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,034 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
2,474 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.2 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 11,463 - ₹ 37,404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4.5*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac staff and other travellers.
56 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (56)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to choose one with a city view.”
 of 5 bubbles 147willr, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try the Auberge St Antoine. You can visit/see the best bits of this hotel without booking a room.”
 of 5 bubbles 491samuelh, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a city view (cheaper) and it overlooked the courtyard and was pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Gold level is worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles C4483FWrichardg, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“river view is best...get room with Floor 14 amenity”
 of 5 bubbles fakelley, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5