Auberge St. Jacques

Auberge St. Jacques

6120 Rue Saint-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H4A 2G4 Canada
Auberge St. Jacques
Traveller (44)
Queen room
Room & Suite (206)
Event & Party Room at the Auberge St. Jacques
Amenities (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 8 motels in Montreal
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located less than 5 minutes drive from Montreal's New MUHC Hospital, and about 15 minutes drive from Downtown Montreal and Montreal's Pierre Elliot Trudeau International Airport, Auberge St.Jacques offers its guests a conveniently located, recently renovated lodging and a high-quality service at very affordable prices. Our motel offers 38 completely renovated rooms; each of them features a unique modern design, as well as essential amenities that include individually controlled AC and heating, cable flat-screen TVs, free WiFi access, free parking, and some other services. At Auberge St. Jacques, we are dedicated to provide the best customer service and ensure that your stay in Montreal is pleasant and unforgettable. So, if you have any questions, suggestions or comments, do not hesitate to contact us. Numéro d'établissement | Establishment Number: 513936
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

6120 Rue Saint-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H4A 2G4 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Montreal Airports
10.6 km
See all flights
Pierre Elliott Trudeau Intl Airport
10.2 km
See all flights
Vendôme
18 minMontreal Metro
153Reviews4Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 51
  • 22
  • 9
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AtsYan wrote a review Jul 2018
Newmarket, Canada46 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros:
- the extra bed was placed in the room before our arrival.
- the room was renovated with a modernistic design (not an old motel style anymore)
- staff was there to welcome us on the late arrival
- the beds were comfortable enough for a short night stay
- the towels were high quality and somewhat larger than standard motels
- the room is equipped with a small fridge, microwave, and a kettle.

Cons:
- although communicated in advance, having to pay extra 20$ for the extra bed
- the room had the constant rumble white noise from the nearby auto-route (even when windows were shut)
- you have to drive a bit to buy breakfast (so either you dine in the room or drive a few minutes)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Malita N, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 3 Jul 2018
Thank you AtsYan for staying with us, and taking the time to share your experienced! We are happy to read you were satisfied with your room and the amenities offered! We sincerely hope to welcome you back as our guest at Auberge St.Jacques on your next visit to Montreal! Kindest wishes, Malita N.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkLBoston wrote a review Aug 2017
Boston, Massachusetts155 contributions165 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
With Montreal hotel rooms approaching $300/night, and all the city's parking and traffic nightmares, I wanted a nice, less-expensive hotel with free parking and a quick bus/subway trip downtown. This is that place! It was fairly easy to get to, avoiding most of the downtown traffic, and with two bus routes less than 10 minutes from Vendome subway station, you're never isolated from the city. From the outside the Auberge St. Jacques is not too glamorous and the glassed-in desk in the lobby is not very welcoming, but the rooms are nicely remodeled, well-equipped with microwave and fridge, spacious, quiet, and comfortable. Free wifi is fast and reliable. TV service was top-notch: dozens of HD cable channels, some with a "rewind" feature that allows you to watch the program from the beginning. The bed was large and comfortable. The bar-style table and stools looked cool, but I'd prefer a more comfy chair to relax in and a more traditional desk or table set. The bathroom had great water pressure and hot water - however the little shampoo packets were very difficult to open - so plan ahead and rip them open before your hands get wet!

The neighborhood itself doesn't offer much. There's a nice Korean restaurant next door, a couple of depanneurs (convenience stores) within walking distance, and a Tim Hortons about a half mile down the street. Sherbrooke St. is a nice neighborhood but getting there involves finding one of the few streets that tunnel under the nearby railroad tracks. It seemed to be a safe and quiet neighborhood, and you're going to want to take that bus/subway trip downtown to enjoy Montreal anyway.

Conclusion: nice rooms, free parking, low rates...I had a few quibbles with the facilities, but I'd definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, there's no elevator to the second floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Malita N, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 11 Aug 2017
Thank you Mark for staying with us, and taking the time to share your feedback! Our team at Auberge St.Jacques thanks you for your kind words! We are delighted you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and we will definitely keep your suggestions in mind the next time we upgrade our rooms. We sincerely hope to welcome you back as our guest in the nearest future! Kindest wishes, Malita N.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2010Timmy wrote a review Jun 2016
Niagara Falls, Canada170 contributions182 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a Platinum Choice hotel member which means I stay in over 20 hotels per year for Choice hotels and it is more like 35 hotels/year. All hotels are for pleasure trips only. The Auberge St. Jacques is a good hotel close to city center and clean and bright rooms and is close city and cheap. I would recommend staying there. Positive: great staff, clean rooms. Hotel room is older but the rooms are newly renovated and clean. We had a room- 109 which was a good location. Staff is great. Negatives: No breakfast and nothing to walk to. Hotel forgot to insulate the pipes so all showers in rooms next store can be clearly heard in other rooms. You May be woken up Very Early due to lack on insulation on Pipes and in the Walls. Loud Place. I would recommend for a couple staying here without hesitation and not so much for families. We went to the Bell Center which is close by. If you read this review click the Green 'HELPFUL' Box under the review thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 109 is great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandra E, Public Relations Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 20 Jun 2016
Dear Timmy, Thank you for choosing Auberge St.Jacques, and taking the time to share your kind words with us! We are very happy to read you were satisfied with our newly renovated rooms, and the attention of our staff. We are always working on improving the experience for our guests, and feedback such as yours is very valuable. We sincerely hope you will choose Auberge St.Jacques on your next visit to Montreal! Kindest wishes, Sandra E.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pavel130 wrote a review Jul 2020
Florence, Italy4 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent a night at Auberge Saint Jacque in Montreal.
Such a hidden treasure this Auberge!
Very affordable price, yet very comfortable, exceptionally clean, newly renovated hotel. We loved design of our room, it’s functionality and contemporary look.
We came very late at night, very tired. Olesya, lady working in reception area, was very friendly, answered all our questions. She was very professional and we felt like we were in right place.
Due to coronavirus pandemic we were very concerned about safety, disinfection policies at the hotel. We were pleased to find out that each room routinely sterilized
after cleaning according to established protocol.
We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for clean, modern place to stay on a very reasonable budget
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Zubova, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to know that you liked your stay, our property, and our receptionist. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Kindest Wishes, Kate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill W wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In early May, I stayed for a couple of weeks at the Auberge St-Jacques because my husband had a kidney transplant at The Glen. We have stayed at this establishment many times in the past because he had appointments with specialists at the hospital and we always found the rooms were clean and well equipped, and the area was quiet. In addition, we always felt safe, and both the hospital and grocery stores are quite close.

I had to stay at the Auberge a second time, at the last minute, because my husband contracted a serious infection and was airlifted back to the Glen for treatment, which lasted almost a month. When I checked in, the motel was almost full but fortunately, they were able to find me a room, which I kept for the entire time of my husband’s recovery.

It was a very stressful time for me during both of my stays at the motel. However, everyone there was kind and caring, and I cannot thank the team enough for helping me endure such huge stresses.

I will always cherish their many acts of kindness during an extremely rough time in my life. Everybody was thoughtful and caring. The team is absolutely fantastic! In particular, thank you to: Igor, Olesea, Ira, Irena, Nelly, Marina, Kate, Olga, Tetyana and Jacques… ; - )

Naturally, when my husband has other appointments in Montreal, or we simply go there for a holiday, we will stay at this motel. In fact, we look forward to it!

I want to thank the team and I send you my best wishes!

Anne Grondin
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Zubova, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Dear Anne, Thank you so much for your beautiful review and for your kind words. We appreciate it a lot! We are sorry that you had to stay with us due to such horrible circumstances, but we were really happy to accommodate you during your stay! We really hope that you and your husband stay with us for a happier reason next time :) Kindest Wishes, Kate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David N wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for somewhere affordable to stay in Montreal for a few days during Just for Laughs, so Auberge St. Jacques seemed like a good option.

Not so much.

The place looks fine from the outside and the check-in process went smoothly, but we knew something had gone awry the second we stepped inside our room.

It's a dump, quite frankly.

The place was clean, yes, but that's pretty much where the positives end. It's small, cramped, and completely lacking in necessary amenities. Want to sit down? Too bad, here's an uncomfortable stool. How about some TV? You're out of luck, here's a tiny monitor bolted to the ceiling.

The worst part, however, is the bed. The tiny, uncomfortable, horrible bed. It's a small twin that's clearly seen better days, and feels way too hard and springy to provide any rest or relaxation. I barely slept that first night and my feet were hanging off the end of the bed the whole time. It enraged me, to put it mildly.

I spent the following day dreading going back to that dump, but fortunately (I guess) I became violently ill and we decided to cut our trip short.

We had pre-paid for three nights and now we weren't going to use two of them, but do you think they refunded our money for the days were weren't going to be there? Of course not! We were offered a free night on a return visit, but that's gonna be the hardest of passes from me. So we essentially paid $475 for a one night stay at the worst motel I've ever had the displeasure of encountering.

I'm astonished Auberge St. Jacques has managed to hang around for so long. Please, please, please, learn from my awful experience and stay somewhere else. *Anywhere* else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Zubova, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, We are surprised to read such feedback since some of the points you mention don't make any sense in relation to our motel. We would really love to know which room you have stayed in because you mentioned that the room had a small twin bed... however, all our rooms with 1 bed have either a standard Queen bed or a King-size bed. Also, knowing the room number would allow us to check the mattress quality in that room and change it if necessary. As for the lack of amenities, our website, our google page, and reservation websites all have room photos visible and all amenities clearly listed. So, when you booked the room, you were aware that there is only a bar table and 2 stools in each room, and that the TV is bolted to the wall and is 32" (which is the correct size for the size of our rooms and we never had complaints about it before). As for the refunds - it is clearly stated on the papers you signed, on all websites and at the reception desk that we don't offer any refunds. You always have an option of paying daily, but you chose to pay the full amount right away; therefore, unfortunately, the credit note for 2 nights is the only solution we could offer. Nevertheless, we hope you had a good trip and wish you all the best! Kindest Wishes, Kate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michel Berthiaume wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is like an Oasis. The price is amazing for what it brings. The place has great WiFi, it is well decorates and clean. The staff is very respectful. Easy access by car. The motel has all the commodities close by. Just few minutes walk for anything needed. The free morning coffee is great!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Zubova, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for your review :) We are delighted to read that you liked our motel and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Best Regards, Kate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freedom104984 wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An excellent place to stay in. Awesome place. Clean premises, rooms, washroom, co-operative staff. Situated in prime locality in the city. Staff employed having good command over English as well. Availability of local conveyance at door step. Easily accessible from main road, situated on the edge of main road.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Zubova, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave such a nice review. We are really happy to hear that you liked your stay at our motel. We sincerely hope to welcome you again at Auberge St. Jacques on your next visit to Montreal. Kindest Wishes, Kate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amirhossein R wrote a review Jun 2015
Mississauga, Canada40 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Okay, don't get me wrong, this motel has great staff and very clean bathrooms. The location is between car mechanic shops in st. Jacques so you are surrounded by car garages and noises.
It offers free wifi and parking and also cable tv. Funny thing is that it also offer free adult channel! Mmmm.... Not suitable for families, you see!
Busy nights start around 2 am! Guys bring "late shift women" and it is disgusting... No proper wall insulations, so technically it is live adult experience, ugh!!
The only good things is that rooms are clean and offers free parking.
By the way they ask you for $20 key deposit (come on you are offering free parking and wifi, deposit for room key?!)
Anyway, if i go to Montreal I will never stay there, period.
First time I was fooled by tripadvisor good reviews otherwise my choice was another place. But if you are on your road trip and just want to stay for a night, this place can be on your list, but again remember about "the night life experience" over there. Good luck!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Z, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 17 Jun 2015
Thank you for choosing Auberge St.Jacques and taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our newly renovated rooms, our friendly staff, and our free services such as parking. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the noises from nearby. Kindest wishes, Katherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emmjay04 wrote a review Apr 2015
10 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading pretty good reviews on tripadvisor we decided to book through Expedia, our rate for a single queen bed was very good. About $67.00 per night.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning, the staff was very friendly and quick to get us into our room.
The room- exceptionally clean!! Very basic room 1 queen bed, 2 night tables, TV viewers, microwave & mini fridge. The mattress was firm but still offered a good nights rest.
Washroom was also very clean, newly renovated. Shower head gave great water pressure and ample hot water for showers.
We liked the motel enough to stay an additional two nights, the front desk offered us the same rate as we had paid through Expedia with our original two night booking. That was a nice bonus!
Lots of parking in what appears to be a safe area. Close enough to drive to downtown Montreal in 10-15 minutes, but not so close to be caught in the busy downtown traffic.
Overall great stay, very friendly and welcoming staff. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Z, General Manager at Auberge St. Jacques
Responded 8 May 2015
Dear Emmjay004, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our newly renovated rooms, their cleanliness, our welcoming staff and our convenient location. We really hope to see you again in the nearest future. Kindest Wishes, Katherine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clément asked a question Apr 2022
Toulouse, France8 contributions16 helpful votes
Un service de bagagerie est-il proposé auprès de la réception ?
Answer from Auberge St.Jacques
Montreal, Canada
Bonjour, Oui, vous pouvez laisser vos bagages à la réception pendant quelques heures. Merci, Kate
Answer from maddogrick
Calgary, Canada165 contributions85 helpful votes
I'm uncertain as to whether their rooms are available for such short terms. You would be wise to contact them directly and ask.
Answer from maddogrick
Calgary, Canada165 contributions85 helpful votes
Yes... in our standard room both were available!
Michel Berthiaume wrote a tip Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are great!"
Read full review
maddogrick wrote a tip Oct 2019
Calgary, Canada165 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beds frames were quite close to the floor in our room. If this could be an issue for you, clarify if that is the case for every room."
Read full review
Cosmopolitan796745 wrote a tip Sept 2018
Mississauga, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No squeaky floors, no carpeting, a/c and above all clean."
Read full review
David A wrote a tip May 2018
Vancouver, Canada221 contributions106 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upper floor probably quieter. 139 was good"
Read full review
Aj Z wrote a tip Aug 2017
52 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Specify if you want a non-smoking room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montreal area.
PRICE RANGE
₹8,521 - ₹10,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecMontrealCote-des-Neiges—Notre-Dame-de-Grace / Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AUBERGE ST. JACQUES (Montreal) - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge St. Jacques
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge St. Jacques?
Nearby attractions include The Wheel Club (1.0 km), Palais de Justice (0.8 km), and Honey Martin (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge St. Jacques?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a 24 hour front desk.
Which room amenities are available at Auberge St. Jacques?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Auberge St. Jacques?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge St. Jacques?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chalet Bar B-Q, Notre Boeuf de Grace, and Cafe de Mercanti.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge St. Jacques?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Auberge St. Jacques?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel (7.1 km), Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine (6.1 km), and Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal (6.8 km).
All Montreal HotelsMontreal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontrealHotels near Auberge St. Jacques
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire