We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    HI Montreal Hostel

    1030 Mackay, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2H1, Canada
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$ 59US$ 133
    View Deal
    Traveller (83)
    Room & Suite (164)
    Dining (30)
    Overview
    • Excellent30%
    • Very good49%
    • Average16%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “bed dorm” (17 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Multilingual Staff
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Restaurant
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from HI Montreal Hostel
    Deals (7)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • 2xBed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      US$ 133US$ 59
      View Deal
    • Double Room
      US$ 133
      View Deal
    • Room, 1 Double Bed - Members Only Rate (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$ 128
      View Deal
    More deals for this property
    • 2xBed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      US$ 59
      View Deal
    • Room, 1 Double Bed - Members Only Rate
      US$ 127
      View Deal
    • Room, 1 Double Bed - Members Only Rate
      US$ 128
      View Deal
    • Room, 1 Double Bed - Members Only Rate (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$ 128
      View Deal
    • Room, 1 Double Bed - Members Only Rate
      US$ 128
      View Deal
    • Room, 1 Double Bed - Members Only Rate
      US$ 128
      View Deal
    • Double Room
      US$ 133
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 7
    Novotel Montreal Center
    1,664 reviews
    #40 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    Hotel Y Montreal
    185 reviews
    #66 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
    894 reviews
    #69 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
    2,381 reviews
    #46 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (385)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 238 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Was only in Montreal for 24 hours for a conference at the Bonaventure Hotel but, since I didn't want to pay $250 a night, I opted for this place. Was a close 10-15 minute walk to my conference. Check in was really easy, all of...More

    Thank csztova
    Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Beautiful. Thanks a lot. Hoping that you will choose to stay again with us next time you come to Montréal! :) Au Revoir, Nic, hostel manager

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    The biggest let down for me was the location of the hostel, it was down some back street that was full of construction taking place. Though the hostel was okay, and the beds were somewhat comfy. Bathrooms are tiny, but that's a hostel Inguess! But...More

    Thank Zane998
    Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Bonjour and thank you for the review, Indeed, there is a lot of construction around the hostel but fortunately, the major projects finally arrive to an end! The good news is that the areas is looking much greater now than it was and it should...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We stayed at this hostel for one night in July. The location of the hostel is great, as it's close to the city centre and the Metro. The staff at the hostel were very friendly and helped us with whatever we needed. However, we stayed...More

    Thank Caribby96
    Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Bonjour and thank you for the feedback, It is great to read that you generally appreciated your stay at the hostel. I would like to highlight that cleanliness is a top priority for us. That said, sharing a dorm room with other traveller may affect...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    For backpacker probably it's ok.. but we have got a room for 8 person without bathroom and towel .. and anything .the 🚽 was dirty and of course no toilets paper.. I don't wanna come back in this hostel again .More

    Thank Monika T
    Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

    Hello Monika T, I will write you a private message to clarify the matter, but I believe that you may have been to another hostel, and not the Auberge HI-Montréal hostel. 100% of our private rooms and dorm rooms have ensuite bathroom and we do...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    (+) Good location to Montreal Downtown Very friendly and helpful staff Spacious room (-) Breakfast food is old and tasteless Dining area can be cleaner Generally, rooms and furniture are old Room floor is unclean and dusty

    Thank The-Jellyfish
    Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hello and thanks for the review. It’s great to see that you had a good time with us and your suggestions of improvements are fully noted! Hoping that you had a good time in the city! Nic, hostel manager

    Novotel Montreal Center
    1,664 reviews
    #40 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    Hotel Y Montreal
    185 reviews
    #66 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
    894 reviews
    #69 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
    2,381 reviews
    #46 of 165 hotels in Montreal
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 25 - US$ 130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 239
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HI Montreal Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Canada >
    • Quebec >
    • Montreal >
    • Centre-Ville (Downtown) / Ville-Marie
    • Also Known As
    • Hi Montreal Hotel Montreal
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (83)
    Room & Suite (164)
    Dining (30)
    Hotel & Grounds (103)
    Bathroom (3)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Centre-Ville (Downtown)
    Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the
    Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and
    commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship
    stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate
    headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by
    nightfall transforms from a business district into a
    youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and
    restaurants heavily peopled by students and young
    ...More
    Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
    2,381 reviews
    .44 km away
     
    Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
    894 reviews
    .32 km away
     
    Hotel Y Montreal
    185 reviews
    .24 km away
     
    Novotel Montreal Center
    1,664 reviews
    .32 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Da Vinci Restaurant
    287 reviews
    .22 km away
    Bistro Laurentien La Coupole
    116 reviews
    .27 km away
    Bar B Barn
    287 reviews
    .26 km away
    Chez La Mere Michel
    71 reviews
    .27 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Bell Centre
    1,224 reviews
    .43 km away
    St. George's Church
    22 reviews
    .45 km away
    Windsor Station
    25 reviews
    .50 km away
    1250 boulevard Rene-Levesque
    7 reviews
    .42 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    paulynnita
    2 January 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Don_G_Wright | Reviewed this property |
    There are steps up to the entrance, and then only stairs up to the rooms and down to the kitchen and dining area as far as I recall, so probably not wheelchair accessible. But I would suggest contacting the hostel directly... More
    1
    Vote
    Susan K
    14 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from laidbackmofo | Reviewed this property |
    Hi! I wish I could help more in this situation. My group arrived in a large truck and parked it on the street in front of the building. We did have to pay for street parking. As far as a parking structure, I didn't see any... More
    0
    Votes
    Sparky01950
    20 June 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from marijansesvete | Reviewed this property |
    I didn't have a car, but there was pretty big and pretty empty parking just in front of the hostel. I can send you photos.
    2
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "2nd floor and away from the stairs"
    Read review
    "best rates, accessibility, enjoyable"
    Read review
    "all the rooms seem good."
    Read review
    "I had room 103, it was quiet even though it was on the 1st floor."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing