We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“free breakfast”(7 reviews)
“common room”(3 reviews)
“few blocks”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Auberge L'Apero
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastcommon roomfew blocksclean roomsmetro stationvisit montrealhostelbedsbunkfridgefacilitiesdowntowncatherineskeyluxurylinenmcgill
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed there for one night before my conference had started, and I had a long travel from Warsaw, so I had a terrible jet lag and I wanted just to sleep, that's all. Appeared that this hostel has horrible acoustics and some club downstairs...More

1  Thank NC T
Response from Paul852, Owner at Auberge L'AperoResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Guest, We are truly sorry we were not able to meet your expectations; we will take your comments into consideration in order to improve our hostel. We wanted to take the opportunity to let you know that we are not located near a club;...More

Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have stayed in better places, but also worse. But this hostel has a great downtown location. The rooms were clean, however there were plumbing problems while I was there, and they were trying to fix them while I was in the shower. Beds were...More

Thank klph
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Worst hostel we stayed at in a 3 month trip across Canada and Europe. Tiny rooms, tiny kitchen with only 1 fridge which is disgusting and appears to never be cleaned out. Included in the free food section during our stay was some rotting mince...More

Thank Peta M
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed in this hostel because I wanted a quiet and affordable hostel in Montreal. Auberge is advertised as clean, calm, and relaxing. In fact, it was incredibly cramped (and I have stayed in hostels before) and very loud. Bedding was a bit dirty and...More

Thank M G
Reviewed 16 December 2011

If all you'll be using your room for is a place to crash after a long day this is the perfect place to stay. Our group of 6 had a whole dorm appointed to us after e-mailing them and experienced no problems upon arrival and...More

1  Thank Alex K
View more reviews
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Price range
US$ 13 - US$ 37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Price range
US$ 13 - US$ 37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the
Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and
commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship
stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate
headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by
nightfall transforms from a business district into a
youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and
restaurants heavily peopled by students and young
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Auberge L'Apero staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All rooms are great."
Read review
"boil the water in the kettle, than pour it over the coffee grounds: its faster than using the coffee maker..."
Read review
"Entire hostel is good."
Read review
"Ask for a room were nobody from the staff is staying at."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing