We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Great George

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Great George
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Start your review of The Great George
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a wonderfully appointed, wonderfully located, wonderfully staffed gem. It's within easy walking distance of all the Charlottetown sites and an easy drive to anywhere else on the Island. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The attention to detail is exceptional. Sadly, I had to cut my stay short due to the weather (was driving back to Boston...

Thank Fferffee
GG58GGS, Marketing Co-ordinator at The Great George, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can make a return trip. Charlottetown in the summer is unmatched and we would love to host you again! All the best, Rod

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very quaint. Beautiful foyer, lovely historic feeling rooms with the comfiest bedding. The breakfast staff went beyond and above the call of duty with my dietary restrictions. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else on the island. A true treasure.

Thank LadyJax78
GG58GGS, Marketing Coordinator at The Great George, responded to this review

We are so pleased you are happy with your stay at The Great George. We want to make sure that our guests' needs are met and we will definitely pass along your compliments to our breakfast team. We would love to have you stay with us again! Yours, Rod

Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

I come to PEI for business on a regular base and I've stayed several times at the Great George. The rooms and especially the beds are very comfortable. The service is great and I love the afternoon cookies offered. The only drawback is the variety offered for breakfast. Basically it's some bread, muffins, some fruit and coffee. In my opinion...

Thank Luftfahrtingenieur
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you found the rooms and beds comfortable. We are disappointed that your impression of our breakfast was disappointing. Our goal is to make sure all our guests have an exceptional experience. We hope to have another chance to wow you in the future. ~ Michelle

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Great hotel, had a free upgrade to a suite room. Excellent parking, good buffet breakfast and available tea/coffee all day. Excellent location, would definitely stay here again. Great character, although you could tell it was very old!

Thank Sarah S
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review

We are happy you had such a good experience. We are very proud of our property and its history. The Great George Hotel has operated as a hotel for almost 170 years. We do hope to see you again! ~ Michelle

Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here New Years Eve as we were flying out early the next morning. The staff were phenomenal, the Inn is historic yet we kept. From the freshly baked cookies to the reception with the terrific young lady playing guitar and singing, it exceeded expectations. Because we were leaving before breakfast the following morning, they had a bagged breakfast...

Thank Islandspud
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review

We are glad our team made you feel at home and that you found the property clean and comfortable. We are very proud of the services we provide and the atmosphere we create. We do apologize for the noise and the wake-up call. We are reviewing our wake-up call process and hope this doesn't deter you from a future visit....

Nova Scotia
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My wife and I spent a night here on a business trip. A great location, very nice décor, service was very good. The king sized bed was very comfy but have had better nights sleep. The heater/ac unit was very noisy so every hour or so I'd wake up when it turned on. Also, there was a fair bit of...

1Thank novascroller
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review

We are pleased you were impressed with our service and decor. We work very hard to ensure all of our guests are treated to a special stay. We apologize for the noisy heater and the street noise. We do hope you will give us an other opportunity to wow you. ~ Michelle

Reviewed 1 December 2016

The Good- lovely atmosphere, nice staff, great breakfast, great "Happy Hour", great welcome basket with goodies, excellent location. The Bad- very difficult to find seats to eat breakfast. Our room was not as clean as one would expect from such a place-there was a thick layer of dust on many things and we found a dryer sheet and hair in...

2Thank tierrasierra
Megan H, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable feedback. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and although some aspects did not meet our usual standards, that they were dealt with immediately. We hope you'll visit us again soon, and if so, I encourage you to let our friendly Guest Service Agents know that you...

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I traveled to PEI in April 2016 to open up a family home in Point Prim. After a 10 plus hour drive from Boston we decided to stay here rather than continue the drive to our home. This was by far the BEST hotel we've ever stayed at. The rooms were super clean and comfortable. The front...

1Thank JA B
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review

We are so happy that you had such a wonderful experience. We aim to be the best hotel you've ever stayed at and it's great when we can provide that experience. We hope to host you again in the future (even if you now have a home on PEI!). ~ Michelle

Satellite Beach, Florida
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Enetering the lobby during the Christmas season is a great experience. You're greeted with home-made cookies and your choice of adult beverages to enjoy in front of the fire. Just sit back into the sumptuous leather couch and let your worries disappear... The Great George is a fantastic place to stay, and a relative bargain to boot! In addition to...

1Thank jonchaley
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review

What a great review. We are very happy you found the lobby so inviting. There is something special about Christmas at The Great George Hotel and we're glad you were able to experience that atmosphere. As you can tell there are challenges to our location when it comes to parking and being part of a neighbourhood but we hope that...

Reviewed 25 November 2016

I stayed only 1 night, and wished I could have stayed longer! This was my first time to Charlottetown, and was hoping for a well-located hotel to allow walking the downtown area. This one fit the bill, and was very impressive in terms of service level and comfort. The beer and wine reception was a nice surprise, and the complimentary...

1Thank gordonk593
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review

And we would love for you to come for a longer visit. Our goal is to make you feel like you've come home and we pride ourselves on top-notch service. We do hope you will visit us again soon. ~ Michelle

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (190)
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Room/Suite (22)
View from Room (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (3)
Bathroom (4)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Videos (2)
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (39)
Room/Suite (23)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Bathroom (1)
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
377 reviews
0.6 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
686 reviews
0.3 km away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
451 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
270 reviews
0.7 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Great George

Address: 58 Great George St., Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range: ₹ 7,647 - ₹ 15,882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Great George staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Great George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Main building especially in the winter as it is easier to get to the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Islandspud, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would avoid room 221, or any ground floor room facing a street.”
 of 5 bubbles jonchaley, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are a great variety of room sizes, historical furnishings styles, and locations in the multi-building complex.”
 of 5 bubbles cstratton15, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in an upstairs room over looking the corner and a giant church across the street. It was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 26Sandeep, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 2 different rooms - one in the main building and the other in one of the out buildings. Both excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles CanuckBabs, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5