We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer

Save
Share
30 Mercer St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (261)
360
Panoramas (28)
Room & Suite (211)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 01/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Updated 01/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 140 in Toronto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set among the theatres of the Entertainment District, this chic, upscale hotel is a few minutes walk from St. Andrew subway station, the Rogers Centre, Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada and the CN Tower. The sleek, refined and luxury rooms and suites feature HD TVs, Nespresso coffee machines and Bose stereos, as well as free Wi-Fi. There's also an acclaimed restaurant, a library, and a seasonal rooftop patio and putting green for the best stay possible in Toronto. Other amenities include a fitness room and 4 meeting spaces.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
286Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
70Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1104Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 761
  • 245
  • 67
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BMitch wrote a review 15 Jun
8 contributions
Beautifully designed and comfortable rooms (although lighting difficult to work out!). Continental breakfast very disappointing, however, al La carte menu was excellent. Restaurant staff seemed to be new, reception staff very helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Note ongoing construction works and book room only not bed and breakfast
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 1 week ago
DearBMitch94, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I was delighted to hear that you found our team of staff at the reception to be very helpful, however I was sorry to read that you felt the continental breakfast was disappointing. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
Cindy L wrote a review 15 Jun
Winnipeg, MB5 contributions1 helpful vote
We just got back from a 3 night stay, and it was fantastic! The rooms are large and cozy, and the bathroom is like a spa. (That shower!) My husband and I both commented on how quiet our stay was, probably the quietest stay we've ever had at a hotel. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and lovely, with check in/out being such a breeze. Would highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 1 week ago
Dear cleszczynski, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
Backpacker59 wrote a review 13 Jun
Crawley, United Kingdom120 contributions53 helpful votes
There are two Le Germain Hotels in Toronto so if you stay, make sure you have the address on you, especially if you're getting a taxi there. The Le Germain Hotel on Mercer Street in Toronto is lovely. Nicely decorated and the rooms are very spacious and modern. We had a 2x Queen bed twin room and had plenty of space. The ensuite is the best we had in all the hotels we stayed in in Canada. It was very large and very modern and the shower was the nicest we had. I do hate that the ensuite is glass so you have to put the blind down to get some privacy and room keeping always reopen it. If the blind is down, please can housekeeping leave it?! The main thing I would say is they don't seem to like lighting in this hotel! It's quite dim everywhere including in the hotel foyer and in the bedrooms. When we first arrived in the taxi, it didn't look open! There are little lights/lamps everywhere along the edges of the room but you could really do with a brighter main light in the middle of the ceiling! The location is perfect for exploring Toronto. It's in downtown Toronto very close to the CN Tower and aquarium. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see/visit. One important thing to note is that the hotel is currently next to a building site. They have been building a new hotel and restaurant next to Le Germain for 7 years (COVID delayed it), due to finish in the next 2 years they said. So when you arrive it doesn't look great and pick ups for trips/airport runs are quite hard as often the street in front of the hotel is blocked off by the builders. Other than the pick ups, the building working didn't bother us at all, we never heard it. But it is worth being aware in advance. The final thing I'd mention is the service. The reception staff are fantastic. They were so friendly, welcoming and helpful! However the staff in the dining room were pretty shocking. We had breakfast included in our rate so ate in the hotel each morning. The included breakfast consisted of a small set continental breakfast of fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese and croissant served to your table (see picture). It could not have taken long to put together as there was no cooking required. However the staff were always so slow, despite never having more than 3 people in the dining room. We saw several people complain about their breakfast ordered off the a la carte menu and the wait. The first day we turned up they totally ignored us. We had to ask how it all worked and they were very unfriendly. Every day the service was extremely slow. It was really weirdly run. They seemed to serve tables in pairs, bringing out drinks together, and ignoring newer tables, rather than serving a table each. Then they would completely disappear out the back so there were no staff to talk to. It seemed like they had no idea how to run a restaurant. Overall great rooms, perfect location, poor restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Backpacker59, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review following your recent stay at Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I was very pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and I also thank you greatly for sharing your feedback particularly on the team at the breakfast area. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
Shaun W wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Unbelievable stay at Le Germain. Haven’t been back to Toronto in years and the hotel staff made us feel like we were back home. Tatiana and team even got us dinner reservations at our fave restaurant. Will only stay here when visiting Toronto from now on. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Shaunw19861, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kindest regards, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
CarlyKuntz wrote a review Apr 2022
Waterloo, Canada19 contributions2 helpful votes
This boutique hotel has large, luxurious rooms and extra large luxurious bathrooms. It is trendy and chic in the lobby and rooms. And very comfortable beds! The staff is attentive and it is not busy. Short walk to the theatre, to the Air Canada Centre, the CN Tower or Queen St shopping and about 19 min. walk to the Eaton Ctr. This is where i stay every time I come to Toronto.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose double queens, single queen or a king.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Dear Carly, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and I couldn't agree with you more in how comfortable the beds are in our hotel, in addition to our attentive staff, this is one of our biggest strengths in providing a good nights sleep. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
Alisa and Mike wrote a review Nov 2021
Diss, United Kingdom11 contributions11 helpful votes
Until the construction is finished all I can say is don't bother to visit this hotel. Work starts at 7am and its awful. We even left with concrete all over our shoes/boots, complete disaster. In terms of the actual hotel once inside I'm afraid to say it didn't improve much. Short of staff, short on most things really. It felt like it was closed and dark. Bar opened occasionally. As we left I even had to load up bags on trolley myself and the staff watched as I tried to get out the door without any help whatsoever. Restaurant was closed so breakfast served as a cold boiled egg in a paper bag! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Shirani wrote a review Nov 2021
Toronto, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
Spent two nights at this hotel with friends to celebrate birthdays. Enjoyed every minute we stayed here. Comfy beds, great coffee and personalized service is what we enjoyed. Spacious room with a state of the art washroom. Hotel is ideally located with walking distance to CN Tower, Aquarium, TIFF Bell and theatres. Lots of restaurants offering fine dining. Staff were very friendly and helpful in suggesting activities. If you like personal friendly service, this is where to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Joanna L C wrote a review Sep 2021
Sudbury, Canada42 contributions51 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the weekend. The staff were over the top! The service was absolutely amazing and the staff were very friendly. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. We’re looking forward to returning again soon for another staycation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Book your restaurants early. It’s hard to get in without a reservation due to the pandemic.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 17 Sep 2021
Dear j0annalc, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your staycation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Sincerely, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
johanne wrote a review Sep 2021
Montreal, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
Have been there before. Room is still great, roomy and well appointed . The breakfast on the go in a brown bag less so. Great but very small rooftop lounge. Will go again if they upgrade the breakfast experience. Good location . As everywhere else, need to ask for housekeeping which we did. Was well done.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Dear FarAway12854008065, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I was very pleased to hear that you found our room to be very comfortable and that you enjoyed our location. I was also pleased to hear that our housekeeping team were able to service your room upon your request and it was handled properly. I would like to apologize that our restaurant has not yet reopened for breakfast. We are hoping to be able to reopen that part of the hotel service in the near future once business levels return to a more normal level. We are excited to announce that we will be opening Victor diner restaurant starting on Wednesday September 8th. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kindest regards, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
Russ wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions6 helpful votes
we woke up at 6 am with the very loud noise of construction directly across from our room. I did ask if we could be moved when we arrived and was told there was no other room like ours available. No other option was suggested.The day of our arrival all bars, restaurants, room service were unavailable due to some emergency. Not sure why they couldn't open a bar. No milk or cream available for coffee. Only 1 long coffee available for 2 people. No tea at all. We were booked for 2 nights and left after 1. Overall very disappointing for what we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: ask for room not on Mercer street
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicolas Lazarou, General Manager at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear Explore317507, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Hotel Le Germain Toronto. I would like to firstly extend to you our sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with noise coming from the construction surrounding the hotel. I understand that you had requested a room move however in addition to not being able to move you to a similar room type that you had reserved, I'm afraid moving you to the alternate side of the hotel would not have changed anything simply due to the fact the hotel is currently surrounded by construction. Sadly there are currently 3 developments that are ongoing at the moment which surround both the front and the back of the hotel and with the new city bylaw that has been introduced construction crews are able to start work as early as 6am 7 days per week. I do apologize that this affected your stay with us, rest assured we are continuing to fight this with the local city officials in an effort to change the start time of when the construction teams can begin their work. With regards to the F&B operation again I do apologize that we were not able to offer you service on the day of your arrival. However as you mentioned due to staffing shortages we were not able to operate the Bar lounge on that given day. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly so we can discuss your experience together. You can reach me at the hotel directly at 416-345-9500 or feel free to e-mail me directly at: nlazarou@germainhotels.com Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I do hope to hear from you soon, Kindest regards, Nicolas Lazarou General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$300 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel le germain
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Downtown West / Entertainment District / Waterfront Communities-The Island / Old Toronto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Which popular attractions are close to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Nearby attractions include Come From Away (0.3 km), Toronto Symphony Orchestra (0.4 km), and Royal Alexandra Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pai Northern Thai Kitchen, Sportsnet Grill, and Rodney's Oyster House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Toronto.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.