We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel

30 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2E9 Canada
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (431)
Room & Suite (214)
Dining (73)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 22/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel
Updated 22/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#66 of 140 in Toronto
Stay safe at the Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, located steps from “Hospital Row”. Our hotel offers competitive rates and flexible cancellation plans, in the heart of the city. Our staff practices a variety of Covid-19 protocols, including social distancing, hand washing, face coverings and sanitization procedures. Located only a half a block from College Subway Station, and offering onsite parking, the Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre has quick access to local hospitals, such as Sick Kids, Mount Sinai, Women’s College and Toronto General. Upon arrival, you’ll be greeted by our masked Front Desk team, who are behind plexi-glass for your protection. They’ll walk you through our Covid-19 protocols and guide you through what to expect during your visit. You’ll notice markers on the floor of our lobby to assist you with social distancing and hand sanitizing stations throughout our public areas. The Carlton Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for for dine in or take out, and complies with guidelines laid out by Toronto Public Health. Please note, some services that may be restricted during your visit. These may include the pool, fitness room, bar, room service and gift shop. Please contact us to confirm the availability of our amenities and services, as they may change in accordance with provincial guidelines. Your health, safety and comfort are always a priority at the Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 4 more


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
247Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
34Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2032Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 377
  • 951
  • 454
  • 160
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zoe n wrote a review 25 Jun
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The Holiday Inn is ideal if you’re looking for somewhere just to lay your head. It’s clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Shout of to Jarryd who helped us so much and was so polite and professional. He went above and beyond for us- thank you guys
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Rob wrote a review 24 Jun
11 contributions2 helpful votes
This large hotel is very well located in central downtown close to Yonge Street and with College subway station a 1 minute walk from the front door. The staff are totally excellent - very attentive to problems and very committed to their jobs. However... There are many woefully inadequate points. The TV screens in the hotel proudly proclaim that this is the largest Holiday Inn in Canada. If so, it should have been equipped with a correspondingly large number of elevators and a correspondingly large breakfast facility - which it was not. The breakfast facility is not sufficiently large for a hotel of this size (21 floors). There are long lines for getting seated at breakfast - a 20 minute wait to be seated is not untypical - I advise taking the room-only rate and getting breakfast at one of the nearby cafes. At peak times (i.e. breakfast time) there can also be long lines for the elevators - only four of them for a 21 floor property is disgraceful - my advice take one going in the wrong direction or you'll never get in. Our room. We were at the back of the building where the external a/c fan units for the whole building are located. Even with the room a/c switched off the sheer noise coming from these external units meant I had to push earplugs painfully deep into my ears to even get a semblance of a good nights sleep. I'm not even sure the windows were double-glazed. The door to the corridor was very loose in the frame so a ton of corridor light came into the room at night - we had to place our cases and spare pillows against the door to try to make the room remotely dark at night. All in all a very disappointing hotel (and this from a seasoned traveller) - I will pick somewhere else next time I'm in town.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: You might try for a higher room to try to get away from external noise - though we were on 12th...
See more room tips
Kate P wrote a review 23 Jun
Ireland36 contributions17 helpful votes
Liked · Hotel location was our main reason for choosing this hotel. It is close to the subway system with College Station closeby. The room was much better than the one we had on our last stay but in truth we didn't spend much time in it. The staff are the real gems of this hotel, Afomiya for great service in wonderful restaurant, Isabella (call me Bella) on the Housekeeping team and Johannes in the breakfast room to name three that we had very positive interactions with during our time there. We ate most nights in the restaurant where the food was good and the wine better! Disliked · The queue for the lifts especially at peak times was frustrating. Not all floors can call a lift both up and down ... why? When accessing the pool area don't forget to bring your key card into the pool area as you need it to access the changing rooms from both the poolside and the external door. The long queues for breakfast looked daunting but in fairness to the staff moved at a decent pace.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
crazycanuckEMS wrote a review 7 Jun
Alberta202 contributions62 helpful votes
Booked based on friend recommendation. It’s cheap and close to Pearson with a 24/7 shuttle. Check in was ok but I had to ask about the breakfast I had paid extra for. Got up to my room and here it’s at the end of the hallway. Had to maneuver around cleaning carts and garbage in the hall - this was a 6:00pm!! The hallways had a super strong marijuana smoke odor. A room next to me had constant people in and out so I had to listen to their door slamming all night. Once when I walked past a guy popped out and said “hello did you knock”. I said no. Kind of creeped me out to be honest - unsure if there was drug dealing going on or something else. Felt a bit uneasy but since I was settled in I didn’t ask for another room. My room was ok. Bed was pretty comfy. The lounge chair had noticeable and questionable “stains”. I would rate cleanliness overall 2 out of 5. The breakfast was ok but not many gluten free options if you are celiac. They had yogurt and fruit so that had to do but paying $15 for breakfast that is only those options is pretty steep. The waiter didn’t even offer me coffee!! The shuttle driver however made up for it. He was great. He helped me load my luggage and was very nice - visiting the whole time. Overall I would stay again but next time I would not pay for breakfast and I would move rooms if I had a disturbing room nearby again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Celiac avoid this breakfast unless you only want yogurt and fruit
See more room tips
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi crazycanuckEMS, The Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre appreciated your comments and visit. Our hotel is the best place to relax and enjoy time with your family. I received your message and am sorry for your experience. I understand you have an option when staying and chose us because this is not characteristic of our chain. I sent your remarks to our local area managers and took action to prevent this from happening. I invite you to come on your next travel adventure. We know that you won't regret your decision. Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Marley G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Hotel was amazing super close to all the hot spots in DT, sadly forgot my wallet but their customer service was amazing and Sanam helped me schedule a pickup. Definitely coming back again soon time :))
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
honey843 wrote a review May 2022
South Carolina12 contributions
Location is good. Close to public transportation, CVS and a diner with pretty good food. Beautiful lobby and friendly front desk staff. Room and bathroom were small and clean ( carpet could use vacuuming) but fit the purpose for two nights stay. Small dresser in closet with a safe that didn’t work. Beds comfortable I suggest higher floor because we could hear street noise on second floor. Room had a slight stench to it but we didn’t spend too much time in the room anyway. Hall configuration was a little strange and very narrow with signs of wear and tear and again the carpet needed vacuuming. Small Microwave in its own room next to the laundry room. Maid comes earlier (2nd floor) and she will open the door quickly so put your do not disturb sign up if you’re not an early riser. Didn’t use the hotel resturant. Would probably stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Stay in room higher than second floor.
See more room tips
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hello honey843, We value your opinion as it helps us understand how to serve our guests better. I shared your review with our management team. Our staff will review all your concerns as soon as possible. I offer you my humble apology for the shortcomings. We truly enjoy delivering the most delightful and awesome stay every time. It's been a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to serving you again. I'm sure you'll love the changes and improvements. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Ann L wrote a review May 2022
16 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed in room 703 - fabulous view over the air handling units and associated noise. Very basic room in all aspects. We are IHG members but it made no difference. Breakfast extremely basic and coffee undrinkable. The only saving grace is the staff who are brilliant and very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good day R9148VPannl, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate you for choosing our Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, where travel is a joy for all. We are dedicated to providing a positive and excellent hotel experience, and your review is so much appreciated. I want to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. Your feedback is certainly being shared with our hotel leadership team. We will take the necessary steps, and we will work hard to improve and do better in the future. On the positive side, we are delighted to hear you have had a positive encounter with our hotel staff. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Christa K wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Overall great experience at this hotel! Rooms and bathrooms are a bit tight but have been recently renovated so we didn't mind. My only complaint (more of a suggestion to the hotel) is if the breakfast line is long they will offer guests a "to - go" option - there should be a seperate area for pickup. Basically they bypass the front of the line, get a cardboard container and get to go in but still stand in the food line with the dine in guests. To us it seemed like they were butting in line and took the remaining food while we had to wait for hot stuff to be replenished. Could have been organized a bit better or else eliminate the to-go option so everyone has to wait the same amount of time. Other than that, will def stay here again when in Toronto!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
PUMBRIDGE wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom1846 contributions325 helpful votes
The Downtown Holiday Inn was our base in Toronto for three days, and was - overall - a very good experience. It's an excellent position - central and slightly north, right beside College subway station, but within easy walking distance of the downtown and waterfront areas. At night the area can be a bit edgy - there are a lot of beggars, rough sleepers and drug-users. But I suppose all city centres are like that these days. The number of beggars and drunks was surprising. Is it not a police priority? There were police around, but they all preferred the comfort of their cop cars, and that's no help to visitors walking around and being constantly approached. The hotel is 23 storeys high. The dowside is that the lift situation can be chaotic. Try getting a lift on any of the higher storeys at peak time in the morning, and you'll have a very long, frustrating wait. Everyone was commenting on it. I don't know how it can be resolved. We moved our room down to the second floor, and used the stairs. But higher up, guests don't have that option. Best of all, the breakfast. Top breakfast hot food and fruit, despite peak times being very pressured with sheer numbers. The senior managers were very good organisers, and the serving staff extremely efficient. Considering how many people they were trying to cater for at the same time, it was remarkably smooth. Our room (225) was clean and good; perhaps the bathroom was a little tight trying to enter - there was no spare room with the door opening inwards. The air-con juddered into life at various times during the night, making a knocking sound which briefly woke us each night. On the whole though, considering the churn at this busy city-centre hotel, it runs well. I'd come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Room Tip: The higher you go, the longer you'll have to wait for the elevators, especially early in the...
See more room tips
Zoe D wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Second night here and struggling to get any sleep due to the really old noisy air conditioning/heater. Supposedly turned off using the controls but still very noisy. Will not stay here again once our week is over next Monday
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello zoed360, We are very interested in your opinion about your stay with us on our property. We need insights like yours to improve our quality and constantly aim higher for our guests' enjoyment. I apologize for not meeting your expectations, and I have shared your sentiment with our management to ensure proper action is taken. I have also sent you a private message in case you need additional assistance. We're always thankful to see you have opted for us for your accommodation. I hope we get another chance to show you can do better. Our staff can't wait to serve you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager. IHGService.
Read more
$168 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn toronto downtown centre hotel toronto, days hotel toronto downtown, days inn toronto, day inn toronto
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Church and Wellesley (The Village) / Church-Yonge Corridor / Old Toronto
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maple Leaf Gardens (0.1 km), Roundabout Canada Escape Room (0.5 km), and Mysteriously Yours Dinner Theatre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loblaw's, Kinka Izakaya Original, and Hair of the Dog Restaurant & Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Chinese, Hindi, Vietnamese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre (1.0 km), Spadina Museum (2.9 km), and Casa Loma (2.9 km).