We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strathcona Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
Panoramas (61)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,317: English reviews
Ontario
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Appearance wise the hotel was pretty ordinary for a downtown hotel. It was clean and well maintained. It was in a good location too for anyone wishing to stay downtown. What bothered me was that a standard room is 2 single beds. They couldn't even offer a double bed. Upgrading was too expensive for me, considering I already believe this...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank shaner82
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shaner82 Allow me to thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate and value all feedback. We believe we have the best location and unfortunately along with that comes parking challenges. We do have a public parking spot right next to the hotel, however that does not provide you in and out privileges that our valet parking does....

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and well made every day. Location was absolutely perfect! Right in the middle of everything in downtown Toronto! No complaints at all, would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future Thank You Athif Yousuf Front Office Manager

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 23 October 2014

This hotel came recommended, so when I traveled to Toronto in 2009, there was no question that this is where I'd stay. The hotel is central to all of the tourist attractions nearby, and also near public transportation in case you want to tour the rest of the city. Clean, quiet, easy check-in/out. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittney K
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brittney Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on this trip. I am glad you enjoyed your trip and took the time out to share your experience with other travelers. Downtown Toronto is an exciting and vibrant place to be and we are glad that you considered us central to your plan. Looking forward to seeing...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Stayed for one night in Toronto during a leisure trip. Excellent location, walking distance from the CN Tower, Rogers Center and several other downtown attractions, restaurants and bars. The rooms were very clean and the appliances worked great except for the wi-fi, the signal was very weak and at times it was nonexistent. The curious thing is that it worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1986renatol
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 1986renatol Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay. It is feedback such as these that present us an opportunity to work on areas that our guests feel would enhance value and finally their entire stay. We thank you for that. Looking forward to your next visit. In case...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business and The only positive thing I can say is it has a great location. I arrived at my hotel late at night exhausted, checked in, went to my room and there was hair in the bathroom sink in the tub and hair in between the sheets. I have pictures to prove it. as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paula05192012
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paula Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am extremely sorry to hear of your experience, however I must thank you for taking the time to share your experience which I will be using towards coaching and training. No words can express my disappointment and I can assure you that your feedback will be acted upon and we do...

Ottawa
Reviewed 17 October 2014

My wife and I just stayed at the hotel while on business for four nights. For most of our stay the wi-fi would not reach our room. The vanity top is small, there is a nice shelf under it to store things, but unfortunately the sink leaked and all our stuff got wet. My wife got stuck in the elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank hdm960
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hdm960 Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I am sorry that your stay was filled with so many challenges and I wish that we had converted a disappointment into an opportunity. I understand that words will not suffice, however I can assure you that I take this very seriously and will look into your feedback with all...

Rimouski, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2014 via mobile

Good price compared to what's around, well located, comfortable room. If you go there for business, mention it.. They have a special floor for business clients, with free internet... I had to pay mine and realized that only at the end of the stay. Restaurants on site are good and pretty affordable to.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cboli
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cboli Thank you so much for your feedback. It feel great to be appreciated and we do value your input as we improve our services continuously. As you noted we do charge a reasonable fee for our internet use as we believe it is not right to incorporate free internet into the rate thus increasing the price which is...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night to attend Nuit Blanche. The hotel is nice and very clean. Front desk reception was top-notch. I even heard the fellow helping another guest mention it was only his third shift, and I couldn't believe it! He was so knowledgable. It seemed like he'd been working there for years....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel C
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel Thank you so much for your feedback and also recognizing individual efforts. Your experience will be shared with all teams and recognition is due to the above mentioned employee. We look forward to your next visit Regards Athif Yousuf Front Office Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2014

I recently stayed here for a night as I was enjoying some films at TIFF this year. I needed a last minute place to stay as I hadn't realized one of the movies wouldn't allow me to take the last train home. I found a good deal for a queen bedroom a week before. The room was small, but perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danic4
Swift Current, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We stayed here recently. This hotel was picked because it is very close to the train station and cheaper than the Royal York. For the price saving you get a much smaller room, about 3 by 5 meters. One would not wish to spend many days there, but for a night or two it is adequate. Room was clean, air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonard M
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leonard, Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear that although you found your room type small, that you still found it to have the necessary amenities. Our room inventory includes 9 different room types ranging from a room with One Twin Bed, up to rooms with Two Queen Beds. We try our best to...

797 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (516)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Double Queen Room (Two Queen Beds) (34)
Viewed
Executive Double Twin Room (Two Beds) (30)
Viewed
Executive King Room (One King Bed) (45)
Viewed
Executive Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (38)
Viewed
Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (31)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Single Room (One Double Bed) (34)
Viewed
Smart Double Room (Two Double Beds) (29)
Viewed
Smart Double Twin Room (Two Twin Beds) (26)
Viewed
Smart King Room (One King Bed) (29)
Viewed
Smart Twin Room (One Twin Bed) (23)
Viewed
Suite (98)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 132 in Toronto
991 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
2,007 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
2,767 reviews
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#58 of 132 in Toronto
5,797 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: ₹ 7,394 - ₹ 17,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Haslett, Michigan
Newfoundland, Canada
over a year ago
Brights Grove, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good spot, the gym is not included and its next door at Goodlife.”
 of 5 bubbles Z9141NLandyc, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from elevators for quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles IreneParAvion, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Really good location + good price, affordable”
 of 5 bubbles 433talars, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view...I did not have that..”
 of 5 bubbles lynus2016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“small hotel with central elevator so no rooms free from elevator noise”
 of 5 bubbles 315davek, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5