We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
4/2/2018 5/2/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Global Village Backpackers

    460 King St W | (near Bay Street), Toronto, Ontario M5V 1L7, Canada
    Lowest prices for your stay
    4/2/2018 5/2/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in TorontoSee available hotels in Toronto
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (8)
    Dining (1)
    • Excellent10%
    • Very good15%
    • Average18%
    • Poor16%
    • Terrible41%
    18 Jan 2014
    “Amazing staff.”
    6 Jan 2014
    “Excellent experience but not very clean!”
    Free Internet
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    Reviews (168)
    There are newer reviews for Global Village Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    111 - 115 of 142 reviews

    Reviewed 14 May 2010

    If you have any other option for accommodation in Toronto take it!! The Global Village Backpackers is dirty and noisy, the only good thing about it is the friendly staff at reception. I stayed at Global Village as I was taking a Moose Tour which...More

    Thank Brisvegas_Boarder
    Response from YouthHostel, Manager at Global Village BackpackersResponded 17 May 2010

    Hello and thank you for your response. I would like to tell you that we are undertaking a comprehensive renovation project which started earlier this month (May). We will be upgrading washrooms, sleeping areas, common areas and more. We have already completely re-painted the facility...More

    Reviewed 2 May 2010

    Absolutely disgusting. Ive travelled around the world and stayed in hostels all over the world and nothing compares to this hostel, not even hostels in India, Asia and South America. The hostel dorms are dark, filthy with bedbugs and mice. The showers and toilets are...More

    Thank Andres G
    Response from YouthHostel, President at Global Village BackpackersResponded 3 May 2010

    I am very sorry about your experience at the hostel, however I have to strongly disagree with your comments. We do not have bedbugs or rats in our facility. We have employed a company to inspect rooms (and the hostel) weekly for the past ten...More

    Reviewed 25 April 2010

    I've just spent several nights at this hostel, and found it to be fairly dirty. There were big dark hairs on the sheets when I turned them down the first night; and if I hadn't brought shower shoes I'm pretty sure I would have had...More

    Thank anonymouse22
    Reviewed 21 March 2010

    this hostel is the most digusting dirty unkept place i have ever stayed in,the list of failures is soo long i do not know where to begin,there are lockers about 30 of them ,at the most 5 are working,most of the time the keycard does...More

    Thank EilatFelix
    Response from YouthHostel, President at Global Village BackpackersResponded 30 March 2010

    In response to this review I would like to point out that this guest was asked to leave our hostel because of his aggressive behavior to other guests and staff. Unfortunately this happens from time to time, however the vast majority of guests at our...More

    Reviewed 20 March 2010

    Although this hostel is in good location, the rooms and sleeping arrangements were very poor. The beds were terrible - we had a triple room with a double bed on the bottom and single on top. The beds were creaky, old, the mattresses were barely...More

    Thank KKE87
    Response from YouthHostel, Managing Director at Global Village BackpackersResponded 26 March 2010

    I am sorry that you had a bad stay in our facility. Our staff works very hard to try and make each and every guest experience a positive one. Just so you are aware, our policy for no food in the sleeping rooms is common...More

    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Number of rooms
    • 45
    • Location
    • Canada >
    • Ontario >
    • Toronto >
    • Downtown West
    • Also Known As
    • Global Village Backpackers Hotel Toronto
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (8)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (24)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Downtown West
    Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner
    Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the
    outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is
    celebrated by a number of monuments and museums,
    giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier
    destination for modern art, people here stroll through
    the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy
    the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe
    Nearby HotelsSee all 138 hotels in Toronto
    Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
    1,550 reviews
    .23 km away
    SoHo Metropolitan
    863 reviews
    .24 km away
    Bisha Hotel Toronto
    28 reviews
    .25 km away
    Templar Hotel
    191 reviews
    .26 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Rodney's Oyster House
    725 reviews
    .14 km away
    426 reviews
    .10 km away
    Weslodge Saloon
    244 reviews
    .07 km away
    Bar Hop Bar
    218 reviews
    .14 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Toronto Entertainment District BIA
    34 reviews
    .16 km away
    Second City Toronto
    726 reviews
    .34 km away
    Queen Tour Niagara Falls Tours
    149 reviews
    .29 km away
    SPiN Toronto
    61 reviews
    .14 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Global Village Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "We stayed on both the second floor which was spacious, comfortable and enjoyable and the first floor which..."
    Read review
    "stay elsewhere"
    Read review
    "Don't always just look for the cheapest - sometimes it can be worth it to pay just a little more for a..."
    Read review
    "Choose another hostel"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing