We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Senator Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Senator Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 219: English reviews
Start your review of The Senator Hotel
 Click to rate
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I've stayed at this hotel many times when it was Days Inn and there was no problem. Now it's the Senator. When I checked in there was a homeless man in the lobby greeting people loudly. In the morning there was no hot water for about 15 minutes. There was no longer a hot breakfast. The continental would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honint123
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value your opinion and apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the issue with the hot water with our maintenance staff to ensure this won't happen again. Our main priority is the comfort of our guests and would like to speak with you...

Timmins, ON
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My last visit was many years ago and when I heard about the name changing back to the Senator and about the new renovations, I knew I had to check it out and it did not disappoint. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and the lobby is just gorgeous. The new elevators are very fast and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristen252
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Senator Hotel for your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the views just as beautiful as we do. We look forward to serving you again.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Horrible beats, has that 1960s look to it. Has an Older smell walking into the main lobby. Management was unprofessional at the least. No hot breakfast, high rates for old modern looking rooms. Not satisfied at all. The management, named "Charm" wasn't charming at the most ignorant and impolite. I wouldn't suggest this hotel even if it was free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank invalidhotel
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay with us. This is certainly nor the norm for our hotel. We work very hard to improve our surroundings including installing new elevators which unfortunately is a complicated procedure. Our hotel does have a lot to offer and is full service. Please do consider staying with us again in...

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I hope everyone reads this review as a cautionary warning. We had booked a dining room for an important family function some time ago. We had also booked a few rooms for out of town guests. The event was to take place on December 27, 2017. We booked this with a CONTRACT some month and a half ago. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SchumacherJack
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that we had to cancel your function. We are closing the hotel from December 23 until February 1, 2017 for some renovations and minor maintenance work. I assure you that it has nothing to do with health or safety issues. We are operating to full capacity until the 23rd in all areas of the hotel.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonmD6476NM
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Hamilton
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel was nice ! Apon check in couldn't find a reception girl at desk for over 10 minutes. When she arrived she was fairly new on the job. She had no real knowledge of location on ice machine etc . We were In the east tower which had smoking rooms. The room was clean but the floor was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cher415
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a great review. Also very informative and we appreciate your honesty. Have a great day!

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

While there have been lots of cosmetic upgrades to the hotel and they recently upgraded an elevator, there are certain things lacking. The bed was completely lumpy and incredibly uncomfortable. The pillows were so awful that in the middle of the night my husband got up and slept on the chair in the room for the rest of the night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan_O683
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your last stay with us. For your information, we do have extra pillows available at the front desk, soft and hard, for exactly the reason you mention. I will have our Chef check out the waffle maker to see why the waffles are sticking to the plates. We will correct these...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Can not access east wing on Sunday's door locked have to travel through long hallways to access elevator for east wing no go for handicap or senior citizens. Room was very dirty microwave dirty tooth paste on bathroom mirror

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corey B
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were sent to a dirty room. I trust you reported it to the front desk clerk and she offered you another room. The east wing entrance door is locked for security reasons and your safety in mind. Please do come back and give us another chance. Thank you.

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2016

The Room was beautiful, very clean with a great view of the town. We had our coffee in our room before heading to the complimentary hot breakfast with friends & family which was appreciated. The management and front desk was very friendly and we were directed to our room very promptly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bourgoin15
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your very special night!!! We do have a great front desk staff and our goal is to always ensure all our guests feel appreciated and pampered. Do com back, maybe for your first anniversary!!!! Congratulations!

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

My sister had a beautiful wedding there. Service is always to same.... GREAT! The room I booked was 746 and it was beautiful and it had a really nice view of the city. Spacious and really nice for a days inn and for the price is always reasonable. Elevators is being change on the first side so patience is needed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghost1000
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for this great review!!! Always rewarding when we please our guests. I will ensure staff see your comments. It will be very nice to offer our guests "state of the art" elevators. Thank you again and do come back and please tell your friends.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timmins hotels
4.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Travelodge Timmins
Travelodge Timmins
#11 of 12 in Timmins
217 reviews
4.0 km away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#7 of 12 in Timmins
124 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Timmins
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Book a room at the Senator Hotel for value and warm hospitality in beautiful downtown Timmins. With a prime spot in the heart of the city, our Timmins, Ontario, hotel near Timmins Square makes it easy to reach in just minutes. From an on-site restaurant, sports bar and room service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, our pet-friendly Timmins, Ontario, hotel offers all the amenities and special touches to make your stay memorable. All Rooms feature Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Wake up for an early morning workout in our fitness center before enjoying free Hot Buffet Daybreak breakfast. Book our spacious conference center or ballroom for your meeting or event. Guest laundry facilities, non-smoking rooms and executive suites are available. We offer a 5,776 square-foot ballroom, three conference rooms, catering service, audio / visual equipment to take care of all your business needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Senator Hotel

Address: 14 Mountjoy St S, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1S4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Price Range: ₹ 5,044 - ₹ 8,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Senator Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Conference Centre Timmins Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Timmins
Timmins Days Inn
The Senator Hotel Timmins, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Senator Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for the best views.”
  • Fridge included in the room
  • Could see to the river and beyond, very nice view of the city.
  • Room with 1 king bed
  • Comfy king bed.
  • Microwave and fridge (in the unit)
  • Sitting area and desk near the window. Amazing view.
 of 5 bubbles kristen252, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 646 had a beautiful view of the town, our bed was very big and comfortable. Thank you Kathie this was exactly what we needed”
 of 5 bubbles Bourgoin15, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the Tower!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles marycentral2013, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“bad customer service”
 of 5 bubbles punkydo30, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose a smoking room, they are run down and not remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles nancybD5124KE, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5