We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The front desk staff are wonderfully friendly and you will find them in a very nice, clean nicely decorated front lobby. The rooms are not quite so updated. The one we got was small with 2 double beds that where comfortable. A nice perk was the microwave and fridge in the room which did come in handy for our dog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Our family stopped in Sarnia for one night during a long car trip. We booked at the last minute and didn't have many choices, but I felt confident going with the Howard Johnson, which I remember as a reliable hotel from my youth. I don't care about outdated decor, but this place is really run down. The room was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 728lindsayi
Vineland, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDC2009
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I had a great sleep, but the smoke detector malfunction, I was told someone would come by to replace it within 10 to 20 mins and an hour later I received another call asking when I would be leaving for the day and to let them know when I was. The bath tub was not clean properly and the extra...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 822bonitab
HojoSarnia, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you 822bonitab for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay, and apologize if you were not comfortable during your stay. We are sincerely sorry about the smoke detector issue as a new one was needed and we were not able to get to it right away. Our...

Sherwood Park
Reviewed 15 July 2015

HOJO has been a standard which would be anticipated to be of a certain minimum. No longer! The first room we were shown to was not of a level of decency that I would have even considered staying there, let alone bringing my spouse in from the car. A "Better" room was then designated. New, clean and tidy seemed to...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leam W
HojoSarnia, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you LiamW for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay, and apologize if you and your family were not comfortable during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the first room you were shown and were not impressed with. We have looked into the issue of the smell...

London, Canada
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I stayed here recently 1 night as I travelled to Sarnia for a wedding. Not downtown, but everything in Sarnia is close. At 1st when we pulled up, I gasped as it was next to a race track. Visions of dirty rms came into my head, along with drunk party people. This was not the case. To my pleasant surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail945
HojoSarnia, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Dear Gail, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear that there were no issues with your stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia. We look forward to seeing you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia and welcome you back. Regards, General Manager

Maidstone, Canada
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88donaldm
HojoSarnia, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Nice hotel, good location clean riom, was happy until came back the second night and our room had not been done. Front desk said BC we had the DND sign on until 9, what about after 9? We had to empty our own trash and change our own towel that spoiled it for me.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank riazb2015
HojoSarnia, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry about your rooms was not cleaned. I asked staff and she said they had DND on and was on all day. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area. Warm Regards, Management

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The walls were so paper thin we thought the people staying beside us were family. We heard their baby cry all night, and the TV on in the morning for cartoons at an ungodly hour. There was an extra pillow in the drawer that was blood-stained and the heater only pumped out freezing cold air. The people at the front...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 483cassandrec
HojoSarnia, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I apologize about the noise. These are solid cement walls plus the drywall and on top is wall paper. I don't know why that baby was crying all night. We have 24...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
6.4 km away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
30 reviews
6.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
5.7 km away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
6.5 km away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#8 of 16 in Sarnia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please pay pets fee is $25 at check-in because its not included the price ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia

Address: 1716 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Price Range: ₹ 2,876 - ₹ 3,987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Hotel Sarnia
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room at the back on the main floor allows you your own exit door.”
 of 5 bubbles 10JenniferW, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet rm. if that's what you want. Main floor was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Gail945, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Jenn77Toronto, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Do not give these people your credit card information”
 of 5 bubbles miss_mew_21, 15 Aug 2013 | Read review
“I stayed in an economy room, as the others were sold out, I will be booking another stay in a nicer room in the future.”
 of 5 bubbles RConant, 19 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5