We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Meet Arron & Elaine & Adam to discuss purchasing a new modular home at Lancaster Resort. Speaking with Adam and Arron first and then meeting Elaine, Arron's wife for the first time, my experience was amazing. They were all so friendly, helpful and welcoming and answered all of my questions and concerns about the Resort. Elaine showed me various vacant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank judy1dog
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2013

If you want a quiet, peaceful park to visit Lancaster is it. The park model cottages are all newer and clean. The hosts are great people. Although Chemong lake is weedy you can still fish. We liked it so much that we have purchased a park model cottage of our own in order to stay in the park. All those...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammy P
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Its great to hear that vacationers love our small family resort. We are happy that you have now purchased a unit in our park and can enjoy this little vacation getaway always. Welcome!

Fenwick
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My family and I arrived at Lancaster and we're greeted very well by Anne!! :) Upon arrival, we we're pleased to hear that we we're getting an upgrade especially because we wanted something bigger to begin with! We also got an upgrade with an A/C cottage (mobile home). If you are looking to rent a cottage I believe that they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NatalieFenwick
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. As you will notice from most of our responses we normally will not comment on cottagers’ opinions, as they are most definitely entitled to them. We usually just clarify incorrect facts. This review, however, has made us feel kind of upset and sad. There are some great positive comments but I think...

Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My fiance and I are pretty laid back and easy going. We tend to camp instead of renting a cottage but last year we decided to switch it up and just happened to see this place and thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed, though the lake is weedy we also knew this going in so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sabrina A
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a great time. Our resort is meant for people just like you - laid back and easy going. We offer a quiet atmosphere for people to just relax and enjoy. Thanks again for your help with the canoe and we will see you again this summer!

Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2012

After booking out stay at Lancaster, we finally arrived at this small, quiet location on the south tip of Chemung Lake. We were treated by the friendly office staff and management, and shown our cottage. I can not relate to any of the negative comments on this site, because it clearly states on the website that the lake is weedy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian V
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear when people enjoy their stay with us. We especialy like when they enjoy it so much that they want to be here every year. Our resort is just how you explained it - friendly staff, quaint environment, beautiful sights and sounds of the Kawarthas. See you again this...

Toronto
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The owners are very friendly and quickly attended to any concerns we had with the cottage, but over-all it was not a great place to stay. If there had been no pool, we likely would have left much sooner. The cottage we rented wasn't the cleanest...there were broken blinds in the living room/bedroom...our bathroom had an odour of 'backed up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jellybean99Toronto
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that this cottager thought we were not a great place to stay. I don't like to respond to people's opinions but I will address some things. We do offer all of our advertised activities listed on our website. Thank you for your review.

Newcastle, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had a fantastic time. The owners were amazing, the park was peaceful. The only complaint I have is once we were moved to a cottage that everything was working was it wasnt cleaned the best. Under the bunk bed mattress was bars of soap candy wrappers pretty much a bunch of garbage. The other thing was that if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie1331
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You're right! When we upgraded your cottage to the larger one with satelite television we just a quick clean to get you in and had missed some things. Sorry about that. And, you are right again, our cottages/park model homes only have 30 amp service so its not like a hotel or your house -...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We loved the cottage, pool, very convenient location. The only thing we missed is not much planned activities for kids and the playground was very small and terrible condition as well as the Gazebo. The place was very quiet during our stay. Interior the cottage was nice and clean except for the curtains, which were falling apart. We were happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReshuShrestha
LancasterResort, Manager at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you are able to make it back to see us soon.

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2011

To all the negative reviewers of this resort I must say thank you for I will never have to meet you there.We searched the web, made our reservations and the three of us went(me ,the wife and of course the dog).We found the website very acurate.The wheather the trailer and the other friendly guests all made for a most enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank golden54
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our resort. It really makes us happy to know you had a good time and that we will be seeing you again.

Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We had a wonderful time. It was very relaxing. We got to spend time with our daughter, son-in-law and grandkids. They only live 10 minutes away. The resort's hospitality was great. We will be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ckb8552
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our resort and all of your kind words. We are glad you had a relaxing time. That is what is vacation is all about.!

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
9.5 km away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,424 reviews
12.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
395 reviews
9.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
331 reviews
9.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
165 reviews
12.6 km away
Motel 6 Peterborough
Motel 6 Peterborough
#8 of 12 in Peterborough
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort. We are a Family Resort located in the Kawarthas on Chemong Lake. Our location is great! Only 10 minutes from Peterborough and under 90 minutes from Toronto.We offer year round waterfront cottage rentals and 50 full service seasonal trailer sites. Enjoy fun family activities such as, swimming in our heated in-ground pool, fishing in the weedy Chemong Lake, boating, canoeing, horseshoes, badminton, volleyball, relaxation, and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort

Address: 691 Frank Hill Rd, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lancaster Cottage And Trailer Resort Peterborough, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My fiance and I are pretty laid back and easy going. We tend to camp instead of renting a cottage but last year we decided to switch it up and just happened to see this place and thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed, though the lake is weedy we also knew this going in so we bought our fishing gear accordingly. We also used the canoe all week provided by them to fish instead of renting a boat. Though the canoe needed alittle bit of help, the owners were more then happy to provide a few screws to fix the seat and we were off to the races. Fishing was great! We also brought out two black labs along with us on the trip, I cant say how nice it was to find a dog friendly park. We got to spent all week with our whole family! Lancaster cottages was a wonderful place everyone from the owners to the other renters were all very friendly! And we just booked our second summer with them this year and we cant wait to go! Thanks Lancaster cottages!”
 of 5 bubbles SabrinaA60, 20 Mar 2012 | Read review
“Any room is nice, but the water front ones are definitely a must”
 of 5 bubbles BrianV987, 6 Mar 2012 | Read review
2 of 2