We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Richmond Plaza Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Richmond Plaza Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2016

This motel could be great if they put money into it. The area is kind of hipsterish and if they thought more on a Boutique high end style which each room being different. This place would be great. What they forgot to tell us over the phone was a building is being built right in front of the motel and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mathew j
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Richmond Plaza Motel is a good choice if you'll travel by car. Neither close to downtown nor touristic attractions. It's a good neighborhood, though. You'll find a gas station, LCBO, a supermarket and restaurants a few meters away. It's very convenient. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Everything worked perfectly.

Helpful?
Thank ialim
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I was scared to stay here because the out side doesn't look that good and i heard a lot of bad things about this motel. The location is great. great restaurants and walking paths.super store is next door .Everything you need is walking distance. The staff were very nice and helpful they dont charge you for the pet and most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank melissamelissa2015
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Nice neighborhood with a lot of upscale pubs and bistros. LCBO and a Superstore next door. 1970's decor and tile, with fridge, microwave, free wifi and cable. The room was pretty clean, but the windows are glued shut and the a/c didn't work very well. Most ground floor rooms open onto the parking lot. The front desk staff are friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Horton777
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2014

My lease had ended on August 1rst and needed a place to stay until my appartamant was ready for me to move in. i had heard bad things about this place but I was absolutely suprised by my experience. The staff is great! They always ask you if you need anything or if everything is to your taste. House cleaning... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alex6n
RichmondPlazaMotel, Manager at Richmond Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. As you are aware, the motel is under new management since the summer of 2014. We have a dedicated full-time maintenance and housekeeping personnel. We are building a repeat clientele and they are appreciating the changes, as you did. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

The only reason we stayed the night was because we were wrongfully evicted from another hotel on Canada day..with no other hotel available.. We got charged 100 for the night in a room with the narrowest dirtiest bathroom in the world! I rather squat outside like a homeless person! As we walked in the room I hadn't boyfriend inspect the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BlingBelle
RichmondPlazaMotel, Manager at Richmond Plaza Motel, responded to this review

We understand your frustration, as we found the premises unacceptable when we took over. Please be advised that the motel is now under new management since the summer of 2014. Since then, we have a full-time maintenance and housekeeping personnel, and Front Desk services are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We are building a repeat clientele... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Bedbugs. Swarms of bedbugs. An old dump with a lower class clientele. Frequent police visits, not that that would help you. Loud, rude punks amid welfare recipients. The name makes it seem nice. But its an old dump. Normal people do not stay there. Sleep in a phone booth rather that this dump.

Helpful?
15 Thank Never7
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

If convenience is your top priority,this is excellent. We didn't want to drive in downtown Ottawa so the Transit is a 5 minute walk. The Westboro neighbourhood is quiet ,safe ,and interesting. You could walk and shop inthe evening and feel safe. The hotel was quiet,1/2block from a major grocery store.It was nice to have a fridge.There is no coffee... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jerrat
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2006

On the up side it had a mini bar fridge, microwave, and cable TV. The floors (bathroom excluded) were tile and looked fairly new. There was some noise from next door, but they quieted-down by bedtime. You'd think the walls were paper thin given the noise transmission, but the walls are painted cinder block. On the down side, the first... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank bitride
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 November 2004

The reviewer from overseas--are we talking the same place here??? You spent probably close to a thousand dollars on a return ticket (not to mention a 10 hour trip probably) and are staying here??? My Goodness thats really hard to believe or understand... Stayed here 1 night September 2004 and I would NEVER EVER stay here again. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
4.7 km away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
1.4 km away
Travelodge Ottawa West
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre
10.3 km away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#43 of 66 in Ottawa
421 reviews
4.3 km away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Richmond Plaza Motel

Address: 238 Richmond Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 6W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Westboro Village
Price Range: ₹ 16,842 - ₹ 17,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Richmond Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Richmond Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Plaza Hotel Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Plaza Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Richmond Plaza Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 bed you would have more room in the room”
 of 5 bubbles melissamelissa2015, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay