We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swiss Hotel

Save
Share
89 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6 Canada
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (154)
Room & Suite (263)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Swiss Hotel
Updated 02/02/21

About

#19 of 76 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Swiss Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. The Swiss Hotel offers unpretentious modern comfort in a beautifully restored historic three-story building. As a small adults-only boutique hotel, it offers a tranquil and intimate atmosphere that caters to business people and tourists alike. Its 22 rooms have been transformed to provide you with an intimate experience and personalized service. Rooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi, crisp white Swiss-style linens, hardwood floors, modern glass-tile bathrooms, and a Nespresso machine in every room. Choose from our cozy standard rooms to our larger rooms with fireplaces or a jetted tub. Beyond the rooms, guests can enjoy the garden courtyard when the weather is warm, or sit by the fireplace in our lounge in the cooler months. The Swiss Hotel also offers an optional Swiss-style buffet breakfast, parking and opportunities for small meetings (each for an additional charge).
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Patio
Adults only
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Paid private parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
433Reviews5Q+A84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 237
  • 129
  • 40
  • 11
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Barb D wrote a review Mar 2021
Kitchener, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
Proprietor was gracious and so accommodating! Facilities were very clean. The room wad well laid out. Loved the matching red colour extras; Nespresso maker, kettle, blow dryer. It had wine glasses along with China cups and saucer. It was a nice touch. Even had a curling iron. Would highly recommend and will stay there again on my next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Terry C wrote a review Mar 2021
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution
I booked 3 nights (March 2 - 4, 2021) at this hotel. I arrived there and was greeted rudely by the front desk clerk who said "You cannot get into your room until 3". I said fine and left all my luggage in the hotel lobby which is in the basement. They do not have trolleys to put luggage on. I went back around 3 and the same grumpy receptionist had now raised her rudeness a few levels higher< She demanded my ID and credit card. I provided them. She examined them and said 'Your credit card is invalid." I replied "It is valid. You are mistaken as I paid for my room on Expedia with this card and just ate at HQ paying with the same card." She replied louder still and with an indignant righteous voice "It is invalid'. I said 'If you want a security deposit I can pay in cash.' She replied angrily 'No. We do not accept cash.' I said I wll go to my bank and straighten this matter out.' She then replied angrily 'Which bank." I replied 'My bank.' She said angrily 'Which bank.' I said 'It is not of any concern to you who I bank with. I informed her I would go to my bank and see what they can do.' My bank informed me that many hotels and other establishments do not accept a combined bank debit/credit card as a credit card. I am thinking why then does Expedia accept it to confirm a reservation. I got my cab fares refunded by Expedia and more for the inconvenience of my visit to this hotel, My advice is to stay away from the Swiss Hotel in Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Q1074XCterryc, Thank you for telling us about your experience, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I have taken your comments seriously and will take corrective action. Please be aware that we only accept a valid credit card as form of deposit upon check-inn. We do not accept cash, debit, pre-paid credit cards, or visa debit. Best regards
Read more
DohaInternational wrote a review Jan 2021
Doha, Qatar1,388 contribution364 helpful votes
I stayed at this nice little hotel on December 31st and January 1st 2021. First of all it is in a great location in Sandy Hill which is close to the downtown and the market area and is a very nice historic district in Ottawa. The hotel is in a nice old stone building that is private and well kept. The accommodation was comfortable and there was parking at the back. The nicest thing was the owner Sabine who has been the proprietor of this hotel for 40 years. She is the most charming and kind woman and very interesting to talk to. She and her husband have worked hard to build this business and Covid has been a hard hit for them. Sabine does everything to make your stay run perfectly and I think this is a great place to stay. A good family business to support.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: My room at the front was great.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and thank you for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you upon your next trip to Ottawa. Warmest regards, Sabina
Read more
CaCro wrote a review Nov 2020
Ontario, Canada12 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed in October 2020 for 20+days while visiting the family that lives nearby. The hotel and the owner exceeded all of our expectations. We felt very welcomed, pampered and safe in this beautifully appointed boutique hotel. Extra towels, extra coffee and anything else we needed was provided instantly. The hotel is very clean, and we had no concerns about disinfection during the pandemic. The room and the were very comfortable, we slept well. One regret only: we did not have a chance to experience the highly rated breakfast prepared by Sabina; it was not offered due to Covid. Another reason to come back soon :-).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for your staying with us and your great review. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and service and we hope to see you soon again. What a year 2020 has been! All the best!
Read more
Sean C wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
great location! and clean comfy room. its a great price because it's a boutique hotel! small, but quiet, clean and a great location! east in and out parking! Easy walk to the market and downtown in about a 20 min walk! we would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for you rating and thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Gasthaus Switzerland Inn
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Swiss Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Swiss Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rideau Centre (0.4 km), Ottawa Art Gallery (0.2 km), and The Highlander Pub (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Swiss Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Swiss Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Swiss Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Swiss Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega, BeaverTails, and Cumberland Pizza.
Is Swiss Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Ottawa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Swiss Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Swiss Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Hill and Buildings (1.0 km), Rideau Hall (2.0 km), and Laurier House National Historic Site (0.7 km).
Does Swiss Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.