We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

Save
Share
33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7 Canada
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Get Real - Experience it ALL - Save Up to 15%
US$ 159
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Expedia.comUS$ 159
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (472)
Room & Suite (231)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Updated 24/02/21

About

#33 of 76 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 283 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries.
Read more
Room & Suite (231)231
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Get Real - Experience it ALL - Save Up to 15%
1,894Review22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 521
  • 875
  • 328
  • 116
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joyce K wrote a review Mar 2021
Toronto, Canada11 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked a 4 night stay and added 2 more nights. We were in a deluxe king room with a sofa and coffee table. It came with a mini-fridge and decent size cupboard: one side to hang the other side 4 shelve sections. The room was clean and spacious. The restaurant was closed due to covid. Parking was underground. Across the street is a large indoor mall. We brought back some take-out and ate in the room and watched tv. We walked around each day around the nearby Byward market and enjoyed coffee and cheesecake at a cafe or an all day breakfast at the King Eddy Pub. We visited the National Art Gallery, we walked across the Alexander Bridge over the Ottawa River and visited the Museum of Canadian History on the Quebec side, we walked in front of the parliament buildings. One day we walked from the hotel then westward passing in front of the parliament buildings we crossed the portage bridge to the Quebec side, then followed the foot trail eastward along the river to the Alexander bridge crossed it to the Byward market, had dinner and back to the hotel. There are some small islands in the Ottawa River with a lot of seagulls. There were a number of Canada goose on the grassy areas alongside the trail. Another day we went to the Canadian War museum. It was a great stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
eli487 wrote a review Feb 2021
Toronto, Canada7 contributions
When you stay at the novotel at ottawa it does feel as part of your family They do care about the hotel guest, each staff member try the best they can for you. with all the hardship they suffer, the hotel management do not save anything from the guests. I will replace my future stay in ottawa with any other hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
ubaedithnonye wrote a review Feb 2021
Halifax, Canada1 contribution
Due to COVID, I wasn’t able to access some facilities as I hoped to. However, Novotel services was spot on. My room was so clean, spacious and nice and they have good customer service especially at the reception.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Achref Sassi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 14 Feb 2021
Dear ubaedithnonye, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you when the Covid situation will be over so that you can enjoy all the hotel facilities. Sincerely,
Read more
Sylvie Theraz wrote a review Dec 2020
Ottawa, Canada146 contributions86 helpful votes
We just came back from a weekend getaway at the Novotel in Ottawa. We took advantage of a promotion from Tourism Ottawa where you book to days and get 100$ off. This hotel is in a great location across the street from the Rideau Centre. We live 40 min east of Ottawa but we wanted to make our anniversary a bit more special. I had indicated that we were celebrating our anniversary when I booked the room she me hotels will do a little something but I was not sure if this would matter considering the restaurant and other services in the hotel were closed due to COVID. I was pleasantly surprised to see a very sweet gesture when we got to our room. The king size bed was very comfortable. My husband thought is was too soft but I loved it. The room was very clean. My only complaint is the size of the room but who cares we only slept in it did not have kids with us and there was also no bath tub only a large shower but that’s the only negative. the staff at the front desk were very nice. It was raining one night and we asked to borrow umbrellas to keep us dry when we walked to the restaurant. Internet worked very well speed was just under 40 Mbps fast enough to watch Netflix. Tv had many Chanel’s to choose from. Look forward to trying this again when all services resume.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Achref Sassi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dear Sylvie, What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely,
Read more
Debra S wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We did not have a good experience with the room. The thermostat was not working and room was very cold. The shower door was broken. Having arrived a bit late after coming from a funeral we attended in Toronto, this was very inconvenient - It appears maintenance is not high o the list of things to do. Perhaps COVID-19 situation is in part to blame. After complaining about the issue we were given the key for another room. This room did not have the view the other room had (we were viewing some garbage containers and other rooms - One would think that after the hassle we went through - at least give us a better view or one similar de one we had. One thing though! The Staff! Very Friendly and professional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Achref Sassi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 29 Nov 2020
Dear Debra, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. However, I read your comment with great interest and I shared it with the concerned department heads to take the necessary measures. We extend our most sincere apologies for the frustrating impression you have received and actions will be taken immediately. Despite the details you mentioned above, I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Novotel Ottawa and be assured that we will do our utmost to make your next stay unforgettable. Sincerely,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel ottawa hotel ottawa, ottawa novotel, accor ottawa
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawaByward Market Area
NUMBER OF ROOMS
283
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Nearby attractions include Jigsaw Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Escape Manor Byward Market (0.4 km), and Ottawa Locks (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega, BeaverTails, and The Brig Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Novotel Ottawa City Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Ottawa City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Hill and Buildings (0.8 km), Rideau Hall (2.0 km), and Laurier House National Historic Site (0.9 km).