We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ARC The Hotel

Show Prices
#21 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ARC The Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ARC The Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,084: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Ottawa direly lacks any legit boutique style hotels, with Arc being the closest too it. The staff are wonderfully friendly and the hotel is clean and well cared for, though the rooms and lounge simply feel too small and the whole 'boutique' feel works, and doesn't work at the same time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eastvancity
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing ARC The.Hotel and for writing your valuable feedback. These comments are very important because they help us pursue continuous improvement

Callander, Canada
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great hotel for the money, especially for downtown Ottawa. We were offered sparkling wine upon check-in, and later on housekeeping brought us complimentary chocolates to our room. The bed was extremely comfortable! The room (standard queen) was fairly small, but we were only in there to shower and sleep. Anyone looking for a place to relax and socialize in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenna M
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

We do appreciate your feedback in regards to our deposit requirements. We do not charge an incidental fee, we do however take an incidental deposit similar to other hotels in North America. We do hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Ottawa.

Canada
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I've stayed there twice now. My husband and I booked in for 3 days over Christmas. We took a king-size with the Roman tub (a bath-tub big enough for three people). The room's aren't large, but they are well thought out and the privacy hallway is a big bonus. The staff are friendly and helpful. The one downside to our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KarenOhCanada
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your sincere comments about ARC The.Hotel. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your say with us and would recommend us to other visitors to Ottawa

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a small boutique hotel that needs to be discovered!! The service is very friendly, with tons of small attentions. The rooms are a little small, but very cozy! The beds are probably my highlight of my experiene...I travel ALOT and this was the most comfortable bed ever!!! I did not want to get out of my bed!!!! So...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chantall242
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your sincere comments about ARC The.Hotel. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your say with us and would recommend us to other visitors to Ottawa.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked the cosy Queen. Cosy wasn't the right word for it. The room they first put us in was so small that the two of us kept tripping over each other. The closet was good for hanging one item. One person could barely move in the tiny bathroom. We were booked in for 4 nights & there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KConthehill
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback is welcome at ARC The.Hotel. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so that we can take the appropriate steps to correct them.

Northeast
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I liked my stay here for just one night but I am not sure I would stay longer. Staff was very friendly but the building feels a bit "squeezed in." The rooms are small but nice and comfortable. No good view - the gym is fine but limited number of cardio machines. The food was excellent in the restaurant for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilmafred1
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The staff was very friendly and this is a good value for a downtown location. Hint: At the time of our booking they were giving free parking with AAA/CAA membership which is normally almost $30 per day at downtown hotels. Also sign up as an iprefer member before you book and get a free glass of wine at happy hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenvt
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will be sure to share your comments with my guest services team.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed overnight for business meeting. Room was compact but excellent layout. Very comfortable bed. Big bathroom. Quiet corner of floor (Rm. 504). Pleasant, friendly staff. Room service was very efficient and thoughtful. Note: No view out the window. Only complaint, nightlight near room entrance was hardwired in, very yellow and very bright. Had to throw a shirt over it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amblesidedreamer
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad you chose to stay at ARC The.Hotel, and are very happy you had such a nice experience

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I enjoyed the rooms. They are stylish, comfortable, and cozy. Some are small, but some are average size for the most part. The beds are very comfortable! The room service at this hotel is fantastic. Food is high quality and right portions, priced right for its category. My only concern / issue was the service standards: Front desk agents, they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CanJAD
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed remarks. Your comments help us increase our learning and give us the opportunity to review our standards and levels of service. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future

Ottawa
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Definitely not worth the money. The room was so small I really couldn't believe the price we paid to stay there. We just weren't digging the overall vibe. Nothing bad to say about service however I also don't have anything positive to say either. Nothing stood out for us. We travel several times a year and usually stay at boutique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KapBoy77
Colin M, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. As General Manager, your comments are invaluable to me.

417 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Executive Suite (44)
Viewed
Intimate Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Majestic King Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Romantic Luxury Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
173 reviews
Lord Elgin
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
92 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
937 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
1,983 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
ARC Lounge- ARC The Hotel
ARC Lounge- ARC The Hotel
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: ₹ 8,069 - ₹ 20,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ARC The Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from ARC The Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“always bring ear plugs when you travel you never know when you can hear your neighbours”
 of 5 bubbles samir46, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are lovely and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 455michelew, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I attended a meeting in the board room...all was good but it was very cold. Had an excellent lunch in the restaurant. The valet parking was great!”
 of 5 bubbles jackiehH7644ME, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My recommendation would be to stay at the Alt hotel across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles CecileG2648, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles attercliffe, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5