We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge Downtown
 Click to rate
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This old place has been run Hard and Put away Wet ,but it shouldn't get in the way of putting out some new towels and doing a few touch-ups. I thought I was back in Havana Cuba circa 1995,stayin at a Castro Holiday Inn,they have renovated the bathroom but the towels looked like the same ones I use in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbuddy1
EconoLodge Gues... S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

A Pleasant Morning to you. Please accept our sincere apology on behalf of Econolodge Downtown Ottawa. I am very sorry to learn your experience was less than adequate. The building is undoubtedly an older structure, but we strive to maintain cleanliness in all areas, including our guest rooms and all common areas, as best as possible. We have also been...

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Parking is included and easy. Close enough to walk to the Byward Market, Parliament Hill and other attractions. Great Shawarma restaurant right across the street. Older motel type property with room upgrades. We had a really noisy coupled engaged in loud play in the next room. Their stamina made me envious. Might not be suitable if your children are with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank revtdi
EconoLodge Gues... S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for your review. Yes, the location is simply ideal! Sincere apologies for the the negative experience as a result of the guest next door. Although some situations are beyond our control, once we are made aware, immediate action is taken. I trust this will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Have...

Whitby Ont.
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Booked superior queen, came with couch and two sinks, bar fridge and microwave. Decor definitely a little tired, but clean and convenient. Walked into town both days, about 15 minutes. Two days of free parking probable worth another $50. Breakfast a little weak. Checked in with very pleasant lady and had a good albeit short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 59DenM
EconoLodge Gues... S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for your review. We were quite pleased to read your positive feedback pertaining to the cleanliness of your room, free parking and the location of the property to the downtown area. We regret not meeting your expectations for breakfast. Our breakfast room is being renovated at this time and upon completion, the choices will be...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We had very bad experience..bed bugs crawling over us within the first hours of our evening check in. It bites my child while he was early sleeping. I've directly asked for checking out and to be refunded. The reception apologized for that and she said you will and I'm still waiting after one day. However, it costs me more money...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ali O
EconoLodge Gues... S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

A Pleasant Morning to you. Thank you for informing us of your experience before your departure. First, we would like to express our deepest regret for the inconvenience caused by this unintentional incident. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with superior service and meet all your expectations. Your complaint was handled in a serious manner and...

Québec
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Quiet and clean room. Some rooms have refrigerators. Parking spaces are widely available and it is excellent because in Ottawa it is always a problem to park. What we liked was the proximity to all the important places to visit. The Marche By is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Everything can be done on foot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bébert B
EconoLodge Gues... S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

A Pleasant Afternoon and we thank you kindly for your review. Our location makes it easy to park, walk and explore the beautiful, capital city, Ottawa. Thank you for making Econolodge Downtown Ottawa your property of choice. We look forward to being at your service soon!

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Staying in Ottawa for two nights we booked our stay at the Econo Lodge, booking the Superior Room (1 Queen sized bed). After calling a few days in advance and inquiring if they had a military discount - which the gentleman on the phone stated they did; I was surprised to hear that they did not when we arrived, told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason M
EconoLodge Gues... S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Guest: Sincere apologies for the negative experience with the Guest Service Agent on duty at check in and the delay in the check in process. We do have a Government/Military discount which each Agent is aware of and if it is not applied at the time of the booking, it can be applied at or after check in....

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel close to Parliament Hill and other attractions such as Byward Market and Rideau Centre, the Econolodge Downtown is within a 5-10 minute bus ride on bus #'s 7, 12, 14, 18. It's a two story walk up hotel with parking in the center court behind the front desk. The staff are nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lousab56
EconoLodge Gues... S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Although we are an older property, we have recently taken steps to upgrade the property with renovations to the lobby and breakfast room. Renovations to the breakfast room will allow us to provide a wider variety of breakfast options for our guests.

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I would have given 4 star but as for the worst check out and unexpected disturbance. When we checked in we meet Mr Rakesh and his wife, wonderful people and very professional. we were supposed to stay for a night but as we experienced there welcome, clean rooms and great location we decided to add one more night. Upon check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hussein A
EconoLodge Gues... S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry you had that experience during check-out. The $100 USD should have been noted and put aside for your check out the following morning. There appeared to be a miscommunication somewhere along the lines. However, I am happy to hear that for the most part you did enjoy your stay. I hope...

Caledon, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Spent a couple of nights at this EconoLodge, while it was on the tired side and some work is needed, the room was clean and had all we needed. The location was very convenient, as it was within walking distance of many of the attractions ie: Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal locks and the National War Mamorial. If your looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
EconoLodge Gues... S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback regarding your stay. Undoubtedly, the structure is an older type, which we take time and effort to maintain as best as possible. The location is also excellent with great accessibility to downtown. Econolodge Downtown Ottawa is a 2 star property with an excellent team, who ensures all our guests experience...

Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This past weekend my girlfriend and I stayed 3 days at the Econo lodge in downtown Ottawa. This hotel needs some work. Our room was a non-smoking room, however it was obvious that it had been a smoking room for several, several years before we arrived. Most likely they just slapped a Non-smoking sign in the room a few minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
EconoLodge Gues... S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Although we are an older property, we are in fact a non smoking property. However, we can not guarantee that a guest will adhere to our non smoking policy. We encourage our guests during check-in to call the front desk at any hour should they find an issue with the room. This gives us a chance to rectify the situation...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.5 km away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
256 reviews
0.9 km away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
655 reviews
1.7 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#51 of 67 in Ottawa
487 reviews
1.6 km away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
11.6 km away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Downtown Ottawa The Econo Lodge(R) Downtown is in a prime location minutes from the University of Ottawa and close to many national capital attractions including Parliament Hill, the Royal Canadian Mint, the National Arts Centre and the National Gallery of Canada. The nearby Rideau Canal is perfect for canoeing, kayaking, skating in winter or simply strolling along the shore. Some of the area's best shopping facilities are nearby, including Rideau Centre mall, ByWard Market and the Sparks Street Mall. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. All spacious guest rooms at the Econo Lodge hotel are air-conditioned and have cable television. Some rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and whirlpool bathtubs. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests of this Ottawa hotel enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, free coffee, free local calls, free parking and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 475 Rideau St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: ₹ 4,263 - ₹ 8,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Econolodge Hotel Downtown
Econo Lodge Ottawa
Ottawa Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Buenos Aires, Argentina

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good luck all the 3 rooms we booked were losers”
 of 5 bubbles Thunderbuddy1, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Parking avalable.”
 of 5 bubbles b_bertb2017, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All about the same, from what I could see”
 of 5 bubbles 827PaulH, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles robinbQ8262JE, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a ground level room, you get to park the car in front of the door, makes it easier to move your luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles name_isnt_available, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5