We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Prince of Wales

Booking.comUS$ 248*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 318*
US$ 248*
Great Deal
US$ 282*
US$ 318*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Prince of Wales
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,592: English reviews
Start your review of Prince of Wales
 Click to rate
Stouffville
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My wife and I went for one night to see some plays. The hotel was great beginning with a room upgrade and attention to the little details including decaf coffee pods and a specific pillow. The breakfast was fantastic and we really didn't need to eat again until dinner time. The staff couldn't be more accommodating nor better trained. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 February 2017

From the first moment that I started with my booking I knew that this was going to be a memorable stay, one that surpassed any expectation from my last visit. My husband and I work extremely busy schedules (me 7 days a week and him 6 days a week) so quality one on one time is non existent. We decided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Sarah S, WOW! What an outstanding review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your experience here at the Prince of Wales. You mentioned so many team members--they honestly love to see their names mentioned! Thank you for this--they will be thrilled! We are delighted we made your one day a year so special. We...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unwelcoming atmosphere for first time visitor! For the price you pay for a room you are better off finding a local B & B. We arrived to valet park our car with no greeting or assistance with luggage. We brought our own bags inside the lobby and met the hotel reception. The lady was frustrated with her computer being down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is perfect if you want to be able to walk down main street or to the lake. The hotel staff are fantastic, helpful, friendly and genuinely seem to love their jobs. The hotel has a free shuttle to and from winery where we booked dinner reservations, this is an awesome perk to this hotel, The rooms are a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A girlfriend and I came to celebrate our birthdays which are on the same day. After spending the day blissfully wandering about the shops, we checked in to our room. Absolutely stunning, clean, and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Escabeche. Try the rib eye! Our desserts were delicious as well, especially the Mint Patti. We both appreciated the birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique M
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Monique M, Happy Birthday! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind compliments about your recent visit to the Prince of Wales! It means so much to us. I will proudly share your comments with our dedicated team. The 20 oz. Dry Aged Rib Eye is amazing! It definitely is a MUST try. We will...

Burlington
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived at the Prince on a last minute weekend getaway to NOTL. We had booked a premium room and being last minute, we expected the worst of the best. I've stayed here numerous times and we were surprised when we arrived at our room to find that we had been moved to a suite. What a pleasant surprise. I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deans44
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A girlfriend from my college days and I took a mini vacation in Niagara-On-The-Lake. We stayed at the Prince of Wales and were impressed by the wonderful service. We had a relaxing morning at the spa, took the trolley to some wineries and enjoyed high tea. The room was very comfortable. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandie3591
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Sandie3591, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience here at the Prince of Wales. It honestly does mean so much! So great you were able to experience so much while you were here in Niagara on the Lake...the spa, trolley, tea! It is a special time to be able to...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

For many years a few days and nights at the Prince of Wales has been a great refreshing getaway. We attend a few plays and walk quite a bit. Each stay at the hotel is always pleasant, comfortable and makes us feel safe. The grounds and hotel are well looked after, the staff are always accommodating! They make you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dconcordia
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear dconcordia, "They make you feel more like family than visitors."--that is such a wonderful comment! We have an awesome team here at the Prince of Wales--truly! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review--it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest Regards, Kelly Exelby General Manager...

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I have been staying at the Prince of Wales many times since 2003. The service, atmosphere, food, wine, and rooms seem to get better and better with each visit. It is a big part of what has made Niagara on the Lake our home away from home. GO! And stay at The Prince of Wales: worth every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtdukes
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear jtdukes, We look forward to your visit every year! Thank you for all of your kind words! My favourite is "...our home away from home." The Prince of Wales is a special place and we are so proud to work here! I am also so very proud of our team! So honoured that you consider it your home. We...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clearly, this is the place to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake. It is a very short walk to the theatre and right in the middle of the shops and attractions. The lobby area is exquisite. More importantly, the rooms are lovely, well appointed and full of nice touches - like heated towel bars. Yes, there is a price to pay and this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SFKSAW
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear SFKSAW, You are absolutely correct--"this is the place to stay in Niagara on the Lake!" :) It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us! You absolutely must try Afternoon Tea in our Drawing Room. It is very a special experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest Regards, Kelly Exelby General...

596 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (582)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (221)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,427 reviews
0.8 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,935 reviews
0.4 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,174 reviews
0.3 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
907 reviews
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Escabeche
Escabeche
Cuisines: French, Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: ₹ 16,311 - ₹ 23,534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Prince of Wales staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each room is private and makes you feel safe!”
dconcordia, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“They are all good, but I prefer the rooms in the main building. But we've stayed in the other buildings and loved their spaciousness.”
jtdukes, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Sound can carry into the rooms from the hallways so you may wish to ask for a room that is located towards the end of the hall”
SFKSAW, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“We requested and preferred the main building. The hotel owns several adjacent properties. Check to see what is available for your time frame”
Dawnervf, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A ground floor would be great when the weather is nice. Patio doors open to the street.”
DCanadian, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 248* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 282
Hotwire.comUS$ 318
TripAdvisorUS$ 248
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates