We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,063: English reviews
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great room excellant service we had a very nice stay my wife and myself have become members now and its important for us to enjoy great stays at howard johnson.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dereck H
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Happy anniversary ! We are very pleased that you chose Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls to be a part of your special day. Thank you for the compliments of our staff and facilities and welcome to Wyndham Rewards. We appreciate your trust in Howard Johnson and look forward to the next opportunity to have you as our guests again...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good hotel. Check in was okay. We don't have a credit card and they charge a huge security deposit because of that. I was a little disappointed that they charge $10 a night for parking considering what they charge to stay. Room was clean and tidy. Once the shower was turned on you could see the poor job done on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kareny685
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know where we are able to improve service to our guests. We are glad to know that overall you were happy with your restful stay. We hope that you will continue to stay with us on future visits as we will endeavour to provide for and meet your expectations for an enjoyable stay. Thank you...

Indiana
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location, package deal was worthwhile. You can walk anywhere or grab bus Room was okay, but cold... Bare bones. Pool too many chemicals for us. No microwave unless a suite. :( No breakfast or coffee in lobby. Dennys was our go to ; great coffee!!!!!! Keg was $$$ $. Very worth it! Wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shineon6
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Happy Thanksgiving and thank you for spending it with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our package specials. Coffee is provided complimentary in all rooms and if you feel the need for that extra shot of java you need only contact the desk and they will be happy to assist in getting you more. We...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 874fahima
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Never an issue, clean, quiet and usually good value for your money. I love off season! Perfect walking distance to all areas. I would like to have parking included. My $60.00 a night went up to $70 a night, their public parking rate was $5. Charge that to me, I'm staying on your property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsWendyRox
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for continuing to make Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls your "go to hotel in Niagara Falls". We are happy to hear you appreciate the quality of the property and find it to be of good value. The public parking rate is dependent on the availability of space and occupancy and can range from $5.00 - $20.00 for...

Collingwood, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenhA8342QE
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Ajax
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall hotel was good. However one of the reasons we chose it was because of the arcade. However it was closed during our stay. Very disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 28maryannk
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that overall you did enjoy your stay. I am sorry that we could not provide all the amenities you were expecting. We have posted notice that the hotel was going through a change and that the arcade was currently not available. If the family is into gaming we might suggest they check out the midway...

cambridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband myself and my son stayed for a Saturday night to see the Christmas lights. The lady at the front desk was fantastic even told us about the celebration and fireworks at the falls. The rooms have been redone since our last visit and have a definite 1960s vibe that was very cute. The room was spotless, the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 771sue
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support of Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls as we welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again. We are happy to hear that you liked the new look of our rooms. As part of the Howard Johnson Renew program thenew style is a look to the past with a nod to the...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroly240
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougbU1336KL
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 130 in Niagara Falls
728 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#33 of 130 in Niagara Falls
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls by the Falls
Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls b...
#39 of 130 in Niagara Falls
537 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.1 km away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#9 of 130 in Niagara Falls
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Price Range: ₹ 3,323 - ₹ 11,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#10 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double room”
 of 5 bubbles 684alesa, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Handicapped room not available, didn't matter as only differences were in the shower which was not a deal breaker for me.”
 of 5 bubbles angied764, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking car park ok.”
 of 5 bubbles pams281, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a very quiet A/C unit in room 331.”
 of 5 bubbles BUDDYBC, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early Niagara Falls is always busy and good places to stay go fast.”
 of 5 bubbles Travellingtheworld1, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay