We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Traveller (280)
Room & Suite (71)
Traveller (280)
Room & Suite (71)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Certificate of Excellence
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Outdoor pool
Airport Transportation
Multilingual Staff
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Hidden Gems
Full view
Getting there
Kingsford Smith Airport65 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 342
  • 9
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We've just had a wonderful weekend at Spicers Sangoma. Everything was pretty much perfect. Thanks to John and his team, including Jess and Lauren when we were there, for your attention to detail, your customer focus and the quality of hospitality you deliver.
The location is wond
Read more
Disappointing couple of nights at Spicers Sangoma retreat. We stayed in the lounge suite - don’t choose this room. It’s directly under the main dining room and so fairly noisy, dark, uninspiring interior, with only a fake fireplace. Fine for $400 per night but not $1500! Asked to
Read more
Response from SGiles70, Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Phoebe C, Thank you for your feedback. It certainly is disappointing you didn't love your stay with us. This is highly unusual for the retreat. The room price of $1499 is a package rate rather than room rate, so guests certainly get more inclusions than just the room (all food, drinks, minibar and wine matches are included in this price). I do recall speaking with you about your request to room move, but as explained we were fully booked out all weekend, so were unable to fulfil this request. I did try to assist with your objections with solutions and apologise if you felt they were not resolved. Yes, the touristy areas of the Blue Mountains are an hour and 15 minutes away. This makes them a great day trip for guests who want to enjoy them, yet stay in a retreat with a marvellous view across the Hawkesbury region in the secluded foothills of the Blue Mountains. It is great that you found the food to be delicious, as our head chef takes a high level of pride in the food at the retreat. Warm Regards, John Syme General Manager
Read more
Thank you to John, Sam, Jess and the team for an amazing wedding and stay. This retreat is stunning and the rooms are pure luxury. The attention to detail and service make this venue a standout. The menu was well thought out and delicious. Thank you for a very special wedding and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Every aspect of Sangoma was exquisite. The food was absolutely divine, the service & hospitality was fabulous and friendly. The aroma therapy massage was the best ever. One one downside, the bed was far too soft, and it felt like you were sleeping in quicksand.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This is a blissful escape with the sound of bellbirds as background music. The food is beyond amazing and the matched wines are delightful. Our bush suite is a perfect location for a romantic break with a couples bath, campaign and wood fire to set the mood. Love this place.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
The Stone Suite
tent suite
View from the bed.
Is the tent suite warm enough in winter? We'll be there in June and want to use that lovely bath! I see a fireplace in the corner by the lounge area in photos.... just wondering if that's the only heating - if it reaches/is enough to heat the whole room?
Hi MissMotivated! There is a heater in the bedroom area in addition to the fireplace in the living space, so you'll be nice & cosy during your stay. We'll look forward to welcoming you soon!
1 vote
Show all answers
Are bikes provided on the property or so we need to BYO?
Sorry it took so long to reply. They have a few bikes there but it’s first in first served so might be best to take you own.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Chief Suite is the most expensive but couldn't be faulted."
"we loved the tent suite, but will try escarpment next time. Tent suite maybe best when it's not boiling hot or freezing cold weather."
"tent suite - Glamping Style"
"Villa worth it for the size and deck. But,the communal main house is a great with huge deck if you stay in a smaller room."
"there are only 8 suites, all are fabulous."
US$ 933 - US$ 1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Sangoma Retreat
AustraliaNew South WalesBlue MountainsBowen Mountain
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing