We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Horseshoe Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Horseshoe Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Horseshoe Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 771: English reviews
Georgetown, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were assigned room 508 in the slope side building. A 2 bedroom condo with a full kitchen. When we arrived at the room it was a complete mess. Previous renters had been making pancakes and there was a disaster in the kitchen, towels all over the bathrooms, beds not made. Not a great first impression. Called the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DXB538
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your observations. Feedback such as yours, though critical is important to us and appreciated. I sincerely apologize for the poor impression we made and for failing to meet your expectations. I was glad to hear that we managed to do our best to accommodate most of your needs and...

Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Our room was recently renovated - so it was nice. However, it was overpriced. Half of our team did not stay here because they thought it was too expensive. Do not agree with the addition of a resort amenity fee on top of the room rate. Pool was average and towels needed to be obtained at the front desk which...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank raskobk
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short in our service and product during your stay. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that each of your valued remarks will be reviewed by the team...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Overall great , however for the price there should be the following in the room: dvd player for bed room(s). Cots should be available at request. Firelogs shoud be made available on cold nights. We appreciate the service as we have been coming for the last 4 years, however we found this year everyone is super friendly but do not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LBH2014
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short in our service and product during your stay. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that each of your valued remarks will be reviewed by the team...

Markham
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Modern suite with top line amenities and designer soaps and lotions. Excellent breakfast buffet. Terrific spa. Wonderful attractions. Attentive and engaged staff. Good check in and out experience. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank abslegal_inter
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor! First and foremost, thank you for sharing such positive feedback, it is important to us and very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back, very soon. Regards, Wendy

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2016

A downtown Toronto couple took advantage of the mid week winter break special. We went up to snowshoe one day and cross country ski the next. Front desk staff and staff at the Fireside lounge were terrific. Loved the hot tub and pool as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christina V
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our resort, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Thank you for your nice comments on our staff at front desk and the Fireside lounge. I will ensure to pass your comments on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We stayed at Horseshoe for our daughters hockey tournament and absolutely loved the place. Small hotel perfect for our group, great location, very good pool and amenities, very good food/restaurant for breakfast and dinner, excellent tubing on the hill! Lots to do between games. Very large and clean rooms. Highly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Glen O
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. It was nice to hear that you loved everything from the rooms, pool, restaurants to the tubing on the hill. Horseshoe is a family friendly resort and we were glad to hear that you had such a positive experience....

Reviewed 15 January 2016

I have been coming to Horseshoe for the past 3 years and every year it seems to get worse and worse. This year the surrounding ski resorts, St. Louis and Blue, have had most of their ski runs open, Horseshoe has had only 7 runs open. Really disappointed that the money I've spent is going to waste and I recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason M
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short in our service and product during your stay. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that your valued remarks will be reviewed by the team to ensure...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2016

This is my second visit after 10 years and coming here this time reminded me why I never returned in the first place. It was not that great. They staff were not very friendly and you really had to do everything yourself here as far as getting the rental equipment and getting it on. Not personable at all. The runs...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank loracarce
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short in our service and product during your stay. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that each of your valued remarks will be reviewed by the team...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We have just gone back up to horseshoe resort as a family and as always we had the most wonderful time! Even if it poured with rain the kids had a ball skiing and swimming and playing in the new arcade. The adults loved the new Inn Steakhouse and the gorgeous spa. It truly is a gem of a spot....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rahel M
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed such a special time with us, that your family had such a wonderful time as you mentioned. Your comment on our friendly staff, georgeous spa and the new Steakhouse is all very appreciated. I will let Zoe know that her staff are amazing,...

Barrie
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Beautiful resort, recently renovated. EXCELLENT food in the Inn Steakhouse. Amazing. Great customer service from the staff. We went for New Year's Eve and it was lovely, though we felt it as overpriced. One issue arose during our stay but they customer service was excellent and we were given a credit for our inconvenience. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank momma2016
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and your compliments on our great customer service. We are delighted that you enjoyed such a special occasion with us. New Year's Eve is always a great experience at our resort, from the food, to the entertainment to the fireworks, it is fun had by all. We want you to know that we do...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Double Queen Horseshoe Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
19.5 km away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
22.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
22.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
24.0 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,060 reviews
19.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Price Range: ₹ 8,804 - ₹ 13,912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Horseshoe Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Horseshoe Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best view on slope side”
 of 5 bubbles BlueGoldTours, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with the split level sitting area are best. The building is long. If you have mobility issues, ask to be close to the Lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles FAC3_Photography, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor!”
 of 5 bubbles 726nh, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great place for kids.”
 of 5 bubbles hamilton534, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring snacks and any water - beverages need.”
 of 5 bubbles Boardapalooza_2010, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5