We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford

Expedia.comUS$ 125*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 125*
US$ 125*
US$ 126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Boston
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Wonderful stay here recently, minus a few minor quibbles. This property just reopened and is one of the first in Canada to feature the new Holiday Inn Express design. Have to say that I was pleasantly surprised; the design is clean and fresh, and solid amenities and comforts (USB chargers next to the bed, Keurig coffee machines in room, pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom L
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Tom L, Wow! We love getting a detailed review. I am so glad you too like the new look of our property and the Formula Blue design. We certainly are proud of the outcome and we are loving the feedback. I am so sorry about the confusion over the mail. We can certainly take stamped mail to be sent...

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This is a fairly new property and we found everything to be in very good condition. The hotel is easy to find just off of the main road although you do need to take a side street to get to the entrance. The room was very large. We had a one bedroom suite with a living room and bedroom. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Radmrjg, Thank you so much for the kind review! I am happy to hear you found our location perfect for your traveling plans, and enjoyed our breakfast in the morning. We hope you will join us again for another comfortable stay!

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Stayed overnight enroute to Southeastern NS. Hotel looks brand new, very clean interior design. I agree with a previous reviewer that it has the Scandanavian lines of IKEA. I also agree with another reviewer that there are many, many more charging plugs than most other hotels. However, I also must join the chorus that the breakfast mayhem is a problem....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _pfl30909
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello _plf30909, Thanks so much for the feedback! We are currently working on plans to ease the tension in the Great Room each morning at breakfast time. We hope to have a permanent solution in place soon! We love being at full occupancy but we agree, it does get a little crowded in there in the morning. We are so...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Rooms were great. Recently renovated and exceeded expectation. we had some noisy neighbours on the first night - if hotel management had used better soundproofing in the renovations this could have been avoided. Breakfast average at best, and no eggs in the first few days. We were told the stove/oven was broken - but this hotel is located in Halifax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidwN4321ID
Caroline R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello DavidwN4321ID, Thank you so much for the review! I am happy to see that overall you had a good stay with us. I am sorry about the oven problems at breakfast. The oven we use to prepare our hot items failed over the weekend, and after our maintenance team determined they could not fix it, we called specialty technicians...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights the hotel reception was very nice. Newly renovated look rooms nice and very clean breakfast not to bad swimming pool slide was very good my 3 kids really enjoyed very close to HWY overall good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waseem A
Caroline R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Waseem! Thank you so much for the review. I am happy your kids enjoyed the pool. We are very happy with our renovations as well. We hope to see you again! Caroline

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This was our first time at this hotel but it will not be our last! We travelled with 2 teenage girls and when we walked into the room they said, "Wow!" Very spacious, luggage space for 2 large or 1 large and 2 small suitcases. Wonderful hot breakfast with many choices. Cheerfully gave extra shampoo and conditioner for the girls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miscbee
Caroline R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Miscbee, Wow! I am so glad to hear that you and your two girls had a great stay. Guests seem to really like our Bath & Body Works shampoo line, and we get lots of good feedback about how well it works for long hair. I'm very happy that our staff were able to make some good recommendations for...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is actually pretty decent once you find it (it's a little tough to find off the highway). Check in was fast and efficient and the check in clerk was very friendly. The room was spotless and had nice amenities with plenty of charging ports for all your devices. I love it when hotels are up to date with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antillus
Caroline R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello antillus! Thank you so much for the review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We too are very happy with our recent renovation that gave us the up-to-date technology and room upgrades. I am sorry to hear of your experience during breakfast. It has been our experience that the space works because generally people come...

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

I'd have given it a 3.5 if I could have, but TripAdvisor only does whole numbers. The hotel, and the rooms, have a very modern style, like an Apple store or an Ikea showroom (in fact I wouldn't be surprised if all the furniture was from Ikea). Some people may find that a bit stark and cold, but we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl F
Caroline R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Good day Darryl, I am so sorry to hear you had an uncomfortable stay in the one bedroom suite. I am passing your comments along to our maintenance manager so we can address some of the issues that you have mentioned. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts as it gives us an opportunity to improve. I hope you will stay...

Thorold
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

The good: bright spacious rooms. Very clean and very comfortable beds and pillows. Nice big bathroom. Pool and waterslide were a favourite of the kids and husband lol Breakfast was hot and yummy. The meh: Line ups for breakfast were substantial. Never anywhere for our family of 4 to sit for breakfast. Which means we had to eat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bree W
Caroline R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Good day Bree W, We greatly appreciate the review! I am happy to see that you enjoyed the beds, the breakfast, and the pool. I am sorry to hear you had to eat breakfast in your room during your stay due to the amount of people, as I am sure that was not ideal for your family. Thank you so...

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This place was clean and spacious. The free breakfast was great however it was a little cramped with it being a full house. The pool and slide was awesome although the floors were a bit slippery for the little ones. The elevators went down during our stay however they were repaired quickly. The WiFi was OK. Overall I'd go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
Caroline R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford, responded to this review

Hello Chad S! Thank you for the 5 Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed the pool and breakfast. We appreciate your patience while we had our elevators serviced, and I hope it was not too much of an inconvenience. We hope to see you back again some day! Caroline

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Comfort Inn Halifax
#18 of 28 in Halifax
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax - Bedford FORMULA BLUE, a smart design for smart travelers. Featuring opened greeting desk area with inviting comfortable seating, relaxing music & scent harmonizing a memorable stay & experience. We are easily accessible from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport and conveniently located just minutes away from Historic Downtown Halifax. You will appreciate the hotel's proximity to Bayer's Lake Park, Canada Games Centre, BMO Centre, IBM Innovation Centre & the World Trade & Convention Centre. Whether it's for business or pleasure we have it all! Start your day savoring the healthy food of our Express Breakfast Buffet in our Great Room featuring a wide flat screen TV & Comfortable seating. Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Daily Newspaper & Ample Complimentary Parking. For your comfort, our spacious newly renovated guest rooms and suites are all equipped with fridges and microwaves. All Suites are equipped with King beds, separate living space which includes pull-out sofa bed. Accessible rooms are available. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. For your enjoyment, take advantage of our heated indoor Pool and whirlpool or energize in the fully equipped Fitness Center. Our property features Meeting Space and is the perfect place for your Corporate Meeting or Special Event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford

Address: 980 Parkland Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4Y7, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Bayer's Lake)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: ₹ 7,196 - ₹ 9,894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Bayer`s Lake
Quality Inn & Suites Bayer`s Lake Hotel Halifax
Quality Inn Bayers Lake
Quality Inn Halifax
Halifax Quality Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the opposite side of hotel as the highway is directly beside the hotel”
OntarioFoodie, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you like quitness, ask for a room facing the street and not the highway and away from the pool”
ronio694, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we were on first floor right handy to central stairs....convenient location but also close to elevator so a touch noisy at times”
Radx2, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room on the front side of the hotel to reduce street noise.”
coldinnovascotia, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Windows needs to be sealed well as the hotel is next to hightway.”
natandycanada, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 125* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 125
Hotels.comUS$ 126
TripAdvisorUS$ 125
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates