We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 383: English reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

1. Booked via Priceline in USD. Nowhere did it state this. Fine. Not their issue 2. Checked in, checked out. They double charged us their rate even though it was confirmed 3x we prepaid 3. Called and unable to get anyone to deal with this for a week or more. I've blocked out the experience. 4. Subpar hotel. For the...

Thank Marco C
Kathleen O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate receiving all feedback, as it allows us to continually improve. We would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay here. We hope you will give us a second chance in the future to rectify the situation.

Reviewed 13 October 2016

I have never had to pay for parking before. This is as annoying as having to pay for your first suitcase on flights. Also, internet password did not work for most of the time we were there. Finally, all elevators were out of service at checkout.

Thank Marc C
Kathleen O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. Please know the maintenance team has since fixed the elevators and that we have also contacted the IT team regarding the internet password to ensure this is not a problem moving forward. We hope that you will give us the...

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Located conveniently next to the Macdonald bridge with good views of downtown Halifax (now for the problems). The bridge is undergoing refurbishment and closes early Friday evening and does not reopen until Monday morning. You have to drive to the Mackay bridge (15 minutes later) to get into Halifax. There are 7 floors at the hotel but floors 5-7 are...

Thank CaptainBill1
Kathleen O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel and surrounding areas. We would like to apologize that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your most recent stay with us, however we are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our guest services teams. We hope you will give us another...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The hotel is exactly as you would expect from a Holiday Inn as far as decor, cleanliness, furnishings, comfort. The breakfast is good, with excellent service. No waffles. Plenty of fresh fruit. If you would like a view of Halifax from your balcony, book the top two floors. Outdoor pool is alright. Check construction before booking, the next door bridge...

Thank Elle W
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear texaswood, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the with the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel, and the breakfast served at par. However, we regret if you did not fully enjoy...

Dieppe, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2016

My only caution is that this hotel is under renovation but don't let this deter you from booking a room. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the ferry to Halifax so it works well for a visit to downtown Halifax. Downtown Dartmouth is also an interesting destination. The overnight parking rate is very reasonable.The hotel room was...

Thank rjaudiman
Shediac River
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Booked the room for two nights, the rate was higher for the second night "based on availability" Never heard that one before, usually the rate is the same for your entire stay. The coffee maker hadn't been cleaned, the room and restaurant had fruit flies. We were told they were attracted to the wine in the restaurant. The fruit flies...

1Thank Ken P
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Ken P, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have...

Seminole, Florida
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Went with a group, asked for a king bed room but they would not give me one saying that the group only allowed double beds for the price, 115.00 U. S. is not cheap for a room and they should have given me a king room and refused. No fridge, phone cord falls out of phone if you want to...

1Thank scoopabove
Kathleen O, Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all feedback so that we are constantly able to improve in areas that may be lacking. We would like to apologize deeply for your unfavourable stay here. We agree that we dropped the ball in many areas and understand this is unacceptable. We have addressed this issue with...

Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Room just about ok, excellent dinner, but very poor reception staff. No initiative, slow service, no sense ofcwhat to do. Management must improve their training. But the dinner was very good, with a waitress who did her job just right.

1Thank Allan T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Allan T, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It is nice to hear that you you have enjoyed your dining experience. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the service that you have received which is no up to your standards. Rest assured that this...

Charlottetown, PEI
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Between the renovations at the hotel and the renovations of the nearby MacDonald Bridge not the best time to book at this hotel. We have stayed here before and liked the proximity to Halifax (easy if the bridge is not under construction and ease access to the ferry). The ferry is a pleasant 10 minute downhill walk and runs regularly....

Thank HappyCanadian13
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear HappyCanadian13, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our property and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered with regards to our on going renovations. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The good: friendly front desk staff, good meals on site (seafood chowder!) at Cafe 101. On site coin laundry is available. The bad: the hotel is undergoing renovations which are needed, however this left the lobby/elevator/dining area in a bit of a construction zone. My room didn't even have a bar fridge (I was there for a week so this...

1Thank Katyms
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview, responded to this review

Dear Katyms, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found our desk staff commendable. However, I sincerely apologize if the ongoing renovations, noise challenges and the condition of the room may have caused you any inconvenience. While we understand your disappointment, rest assured that we are working...

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (66)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (11)
Room/Suite (29)
Bathroom (7)
Dining (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (41)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Room/Suite (15)
Dining (8)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia features quality amenities, superior service, the area's premier conference facilities and the best views of the Halifax harbour. Designed with the business traveler in mind, this hotel features amenities that keep our guests coming back. Conveniently located just steps from the Halifax harbour in Dartmouth, our hotel offers guests easy access to many area businesses. We also provide over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space that can be divided into 16 rooms. With space for up to 550 people, we offer the perfect location for conferences, corporate meetings and weddings. Leisure travelers enjoy our Halifax hotel's warm hospitality, pet friendly atmosphere, breathtaking views of the Halifax harbour, as well as our convenient location near attractions such as the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, the famous Alexander Keith's Brewery, Dartmouth Crossing, the Emera Oval and much more. While staying with us, be sure to enjoy an exceptional meal in our hotel's restaurant, Cafe 101. After a long day, relax in our outdoor pool, exercise in our Fitness Centre or take advantage of our complimentary day passes to the Dartmouth Sportsplex across the street. All of this makes our hotel the place to stay when you're in the Halifax area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview

Address: 101 Wyse Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1L9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Price Range: ₹ 7,504 - ₹ 7,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Hotel Dartmouth
Holiday Inn Dartmouth
Dartmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Halifax Harbourview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles lippera, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for harbour view room”
 of 5 bubbles wherewegoing71, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in another hotel would be better”
 of 5 bubbles Huntlg, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 4th floor facing downtown Halifax”
 of 5 bubbles CaptainBill1, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't even bother.”
 of 5 bubbles scoopabove, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5