We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hearthstone Inn Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed here two nights and were in a recently renovated section of the hotel. There were a few quirky things about our room (a lamp didn't work...I fixed it; our two chairs didn't match; the two beds were different heights; the bedside lamps had different kinds of bulbs in them) but these things didn't have any negative effect on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jena M
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jena M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we appreciate your choosing the Hearthstone Inn. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

A really nice place to stay. Close to the board walk. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious. Bathroom is good.. reasonable prices. Complimentary hot or cold breakfast. WiFi could be better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sharon S, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful hot breakfast offerings. I would also like you to know that we have recently upgraded our internet to allow a faster download and better access for our guests. I am sure you will realize quite...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The room was facing the bar area, so we had to close the windows all teh time. the room didn't smell good. Breakfast was very limited. The fridge was actually a cooler not a real fridge. Over all, you can find a better place, we were in a rush and that was our only choice. Positive things were : internet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzan L
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Suzan L, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. We are constantly reviewing guest feedback to ensure we are always improving on the service and product we offer. Kind regards, Thierry Surette

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Pros: Checked in late, so had a quick dinner at the pub associated with the inn. Good hearty fare at economical prices. Next morning had a complimentary hot breakfast served by cheerful staff. Great being able to have a sit down breakfast with individual selection vs buffet. 8 min from downtown Sydney, 2 hrs from Cabot Trail, 1hr from Lobster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ailin O
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Ailin O, It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. We are fortunate to have a great restaurant and such a convenient location for touring Cape Breton. You will be pleased to know that we are working diligently to renovate all of our guestrooms, removing carpets, installing laminate flooring which we are confident will bring a fresh...

Port Dover, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We picked this hotel for its proximity to the Cabot Trail and the Louisbourg Fortress. We arrived a little late and had no problem with check in. Upon entering the room we discovered the hall light was burnt out, so we took out the light bulb and with no hesitation we were given a new bulb. The room was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianJ101
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear BrianJ101, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We have just completed a complete upgrade to our internet service and although we have had to work out a couple of kinks I think you will find we now have great, fast, uninterrupted service. Kind regards, Thierry

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for work for three nights (company booked the hotel) arrived after over a five hour drive to no Internet. Plans to work and prepare for business meetings over the next few days shot. Go on trip advisor and what a surprise, people have been having this same issue...for weeks. After trying multiple times to reach the front desk, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manglor82
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Manglor82, I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the level of service we strive to offer to all of our guests. We have just finished a complete upgrade to our internet service and we definitely could have done more to help you. Once again, please accept my apologies. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our...

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My husband and I stayed at this inn for one night due to the ~30 minute proximity to the Louisburg Fortress. We arrived around 11:30pm after driving the Cabot Trail, and since I had called them earlier that day to let them know we would be very late, there was no issue with check-in. Lloyd was at the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Joanne, Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge your great stay and our amazing ambassador Lloyd. Lloyd always tries to ensure our guests have the best tips on what to see and do in Cape Breton. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Thierry

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Our overall stay at the Hearthstone was pleasant. Our only complaint was our dinner meal in the little pub. My daughter and I were the only ones there and she ordered a salad and I ordered fish and chips. We were both exhausted and just wanted a quick bite to eat. My daughter's salad was excellent but my meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Victoria L, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable. We do apologize for the negative experience you received in the dining room however we appreciate your bringing this to our attention. We pride ourselves on offering maritime hospitality at its best and we feel...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 August 2016

What you see on their pictures is not even close to what you get. I wish that I never booked this hotel. No elevator, free wifi but it just connect you to the router and no internet access. Dirty bathroom, the window is sealed and the room smells filthy- no air ventilation. Same breakfast for 4 days, one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benafil
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Benafil, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. I would like to apologize for your not receiving the stellar service our associates are known for. I have shared your comments with our guest services manager and her team. With respect to your internet challenges, we have just completed a full upgrade and overall of...

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We did enjoy our stay for two nights here, however it was not a place I could get to use any points or earn any. They are independent. One day, the door pass would not function and someone else near our room also had this same problem. I gave up waiting for someone to come help me get into mine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CandGFB
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear C&GFB, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Although we are an independent property, we do share a rewards program with our sister properties, "Preferred Patron" allows our guests to transfer points into pre-paid Visa cards or other services from our hotels. I can appreciate your frustration with having your dinner interrupted by other guests, unfortunately sometimes...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.8 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
142 reviews
2.1 km away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
4.0 km away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Address: 560 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Price Range: ₹ 6,607 - ₹ 8,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hearthstone Inn Sydney staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hearthstone Inn Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If they have any renovated rooms, ask for one”
 of 5 bubbles mikedoiron, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles texaswood, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I didn't see an elevator so if you have a heavy bag and are unable to haul your luggage up stairs, you should ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 488jenam, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid ones near fitness room/pool/vending/laundry machines.”
 of 5 bubbles ailin0, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the vending machine area.”
 of 5 bubbles Stephanie363, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay