We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cantwell House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Cantwell House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Cantwell House
 Click to rate
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I traveled around eastern NL during the last two weeks of Sept 2016 staying in B & Bs. We would have no hesitation returning to any of them. We loved the look and feel of Cantwell House the moment we pulled the car up in front. This was amplified as we were welcomed inside by Audrey. Our...

1Thank Greg P
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Although there was construction when we arrived and the road was partly blocked off, the construction crews moved the barriers so that we could unload. Audrey greated us and helped us bring in our luggage (we were 2 couples) so that we could move our vehicle quickly. Once in the B&B Audrey showed us to our rooms and around the...

Thank Ann S
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

On the 19th of August, we arrived in St. John's after a long "red eye" flight. Exhausted, my husband and I (accompanied by my Mom and sister) arrived at Cantwell House and were greeted by Kayla's beautiful, welcoming smile. She checked us in and we didn't waste any time climbing into those lush, comfy beds for a mid-day nap. This...

1Thank Carole M
West Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The Cantwell House was a great place to stay in St. John's Newfoundland. We stayed on the ground level room, it was beautiful. The room was large and it had all the amenities we could ask for. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had our own bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and very large. Our hostess,...

1Thank Susie M
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This was our first stay at a B&B. Cantwell House was just what we were hoping for! Every room was absolutely beautiful. Everything that we could possibly need was available in each room. Audrey was a perfect Hostess, very informative & accessible. Our Breakfast was the "topping on the cake"... incredible! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cantwell House to my...

Thank gtfrederiksen
Cantwell H, Owner at Cantwell House, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! And that we were your first B&B! We put much time into keeping our rooms bright and full of character and we're happy you thought so as well! Thank-you again and best wishes.

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here three nights to start our tour of Nfld. Audry the owner was extremely helpful suggesting places to visit and recommending were to eat. Room #2 was excellent and had all the comforts of home. The common room oñ the upper level has a wonderful view of Cabot Tower on Signal Hill. This B&B is within walking distance...

Thank Larry E
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I was disappointed with this B and B. The problem was with the quality and pricing of my room on the top floor. No en-suite rooms were available for booking when I stayed, so I booked one of the 2 rooms with a shared bath on the top floor. You would not know it from the website but there is...

2Thank IsabelleBrisbane
Cantwell H, Owner at Cantwell House, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Cantwell House. We are a historic bed & breakfast - all of our rooms vary in terms of size, character,amenities and price. We advise all guests of room details and pricing prior to confirming any reservation. We are confident that we are competitive, offering equivalent, or in many cases more,...

Omemee, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed at the Cantwell House B&B for four nights. It was one of the best B&Bs we stayed at while in Newfoundland. It is a cute jelly bean row house that has been a B&B for over 20 years. Audrey has taken over this B&B and has done a great job maintaining its good reputation. She was very helpful...

Thank Julie H
Cantwell H, Owner at Cantwell House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're also very happy that you had fun our polaroid idea! It's always nice to hear that people enjoy our breakfast. We like to keep it interesting and to also make sure that our guests get a little taste of Newfoundland! If you every make it back to Newfoundland again hopefully you will look...

Mount Brydges, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Audrey is a great host. In addition to the great breakfasts, she spends time with each guest assisting with their planning of their stay in St. John's. There is a great lounge which is great place to relax with a book or inside the glass doors or actually going outside on the balcony to view the St John's straights. Room...

Thank bruce_deb_farrer
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Audrey is amazing! What a great place. The bedrooms are gorgeous and the house is within walking distance to downtown. The house is quaint and cozy. The dining room is lively. A very homey feeling here. Love it

Thank bobbevcowley

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (34)
Room/Suite (7)
View from Room (9)
Family/Play Areas (3)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Dining (1)
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
546 reviews
#1 of 22 in St. John's
254 reviews
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
371 reviews
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Price Range: ₹ 4,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cantwell House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cantwell House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back rooms are quieter as they are off the main street”
annsC6577BG, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the room on the ground floor. It was easy to get to, on the main floor, very large room, quiet, great bed.”
139susiem, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Third floor has a shared bathroom, which works for families.”
catherinea567, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room #2 at the back of the house and on the second floor - good choice if you want to have windows open at night.”
  • Not our room, but one of the rooms in the B&B
  • A view from the third floor patio off of the public sitting area.
cgwilde, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Lots of up & downhill walking. Need good walking shoes.”
7401tedy, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5