We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Duckworth Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Duckworth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Duckworth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

I arrived to a locked door. I had to ring the bell which went to a phone line where i had to leave a message. Only by luck did I check my email to find an email from the Hotel giving me a pass code to get in. No one ever called back. In fact I did not see one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Because we are such a small establishment we have limited staff in our off season. However, each guest is sent detailed instructions on how to enter the building and how to reach an employee. We also have several different room types that are priced accordingly, it sounds to me like you booked an Economy...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2015

When I arrived a staff member from the restaurant answered the door, and didn't really have a clue what to do with me. He finally figured out to send me to room 405, where my key and info was on the door. Not once did I see a staff member from the hotel. It was a confusing experience overall and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayla C
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Because we are such a small establishment, we don't have a traditional front desk or check in process. We take great care to explain this in the confirmations we send to every guest upon booking. We also send detailed instructions on how to enter the building and access your room. During our peak season we have...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Made to feel small for not having a credit card. Willing to pay full week in cash upfront "we can only accept reservation with a days deposit on credit". Then told if if I went somewhere else id have to pay the room in full as it was passed cancellation date. Rick and a hard place I was in tears....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank moorw003
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

I am wondering if this was your first experience booking a hotel room. I myself have never been able to book without a valid credit card. Sorry you don't agree with our policies.

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Duckworth Hotel for two nights in September and really enjoyed the stay. We were in one of the smaller economy rooms, and while it was small, it was well appointed. The room was clean, there was lots of space in the bathroom, and the bed was comfortable. We checked in and out at awkward times, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Epinal, France
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Room was nice, location is perfect; but continuous noise from the restaurant located downstairs. A former b and b, transformed into a hotel? without the normal services to be expected in a downtown hotel. Parking facility well located across the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ramunxo
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your room and the location. Being an older building in the heart of St. John's has many benefits but it can certainly be noisy at times. Perhaps next time we could offer you a room on our top floor which might be quieter.

Banff, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2015

No front desk, no services, all for $140 plus tax. Room 402 (I am sleepless in it now at 11:30 pm) should not even be a hotel room. It is a vent for the kitchen system. That these people claim to be "boutique" is comedy of Dickensian proportions. This place will poison your experience of St. John's. Avoid it. Go...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank snowshoetraveller
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Unless you're completely deaf, avoid room 402. There's a huge ventilation tower just outside the window and it generates a great roar till 11pm. It's outrageous that they charge for a room that's so noisy that one can't even hear the television at full volume. And to preclude complaints to the front desk, they've disabled the phone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob T
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

sydenham,Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The area around the hotel is largely vacant, with some of the buildings boarded up or under construction which gave me concern when we were driving around a few days before our stay. I thought the area seemed a little iffy. Our email instructions for entering the building were a little strange but we understood when we got there as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnylough
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Booked 10 nights at this boutique hotel. We chose it based on the location and the information on the website. Room: Large and beautifully decorated. King bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was very large and beautiful. - No high quality washroom linens - they were rough and threadbare. - Lots of silverfish in the washroom. - Hotel staff left our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Suzanne C
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We 2 days in St. John's before heading to the west coast. The hotel was clean, and had everything you needed. The fridge was handy for breakfast foods. The room was small and it was loud.. Expected given the age of the building. We were able to walk to signal hill, terry fox monument, and George street. Many good restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Bernie F, Owner at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
527 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
222 reviews
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 24 in St. John's
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Downtown
The Franklin Hotel
The Franklin Hotel
#20 of 23 in St. John's
45 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 room boutique hotel located on one of the two main downtown city streets. Fully renovated in 2012, this property boasts the onsite award winning restaurant & bar, Magnum & Steins. Besides the convenience of this location and the onsite restaurant and bar each room amenities include mini fridge, free wireless Internet, in room coffee maker, HDTV televisions, telephones with voice mail & wake up calls, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Late check ins welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duckworth Hotel

Address: 331 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: ₹ 3,019 - ₹ 10,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duckworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Duckworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duckworth Hotel Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duckworth Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Senneville, Canada
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Duckworth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think all rooms come with private bathroom which for me is a must. We had a good sized room with modern spotless bathroom.”
  • Sorry about the unmade bed, but you get the idea.
 of 5 bubbles edgarg841, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for upgraded Queen room on south side.”
 of 5 bubbles nursenorah, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is parking right across the street. Restaurant is good, and there is a well known pub around the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles LoganK330, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room was on the 1st floor (no stairs to climb) but I understand things might be noisy in that room if there were many people upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ewyatt2016, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“very top floor away from the street, restaurant and kitchen noise.”
 of 5 bubbles QueenVera, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5