We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oswego Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Oswego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,481: English reviews
Courtenay , Bc
Reviewed 2 June 2016

very nice hotel with great location and staff . Every time I stay I need to request a regular office chair for the office desk and every time they have to get it from the conference room so if their is a conference they have to take it away . Did not happen yet .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your loyalty to staying with us regularly. We recognize that some of our guests have special requests and we will always try and ensure your needs are met. I am glad that each time you stay that your requests have been answered. We look forward to welcoming you...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Nice boutique but reasonably priced hotel with modern look and feel. Spacious suites have kitchenette nicely stocked with utensils and cutlery. Bathroom amenities are of good quality specially the robe, very plush and cozy. Location is great, hotel is within walking distance from ferry terminal, main attractions, fisherman wharf and several restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. The day we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tulika_sac
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us - we appreciate it! We are so pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. Our restaurant is rarely closed for functions however on the odd time this does occur we always offer our guests room service. Our Bistro has gone through a lot of recent positive changes with a passionate new chef....

North Bend, Washington
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights in May. Booked a one-bedroom king suite, which was very roomy. The bed was comfortable. Could have used more space for hanging clothes in the closet rather than all of the shelves provided, but that was pretty minor. Our bedroom opened onto a small balcony overlooking the street; no view to speak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldCityWA
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and all the points you mentioned. All of our suites have guest directories in them outlining our facilities. They are not your traditional book but a stand up menu located on the desk. Our suites are spacious and full equipped so many of our guests feel they can relax and enjoy all the amenities...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We checked into our hotel and the front desk told us that they were holding an event at the bar, so it would be unavailable to us and offered us 20% off. We went to order room service and they then told us that drinks were not allowed at the 20% off, which they just told us they were and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DreKS24
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Our guests experience is the most important thing for the team. The team work hard to provide a relaxing and special stay for our guests as noted on many previous reviews. We do offer our guests 20% discount for the bistro. When you stayed we had...

North Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We arrived from the Victoria Clipper 3 hours behind schedule pretty much ready for a late quick dinner and a comfortable bed. Check in was extremely friendly and we were given a standard suite. This was very nice with a balcony over looking the street below, a full kitchen and bar, French Press Coffee maker, living room area and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterV54301
OswegoHotelManager, Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your open and honest review of your stay at The Oswego Hotel and O Bistro. While we're glad to learn that overall we were "far better than expected" we were disheartened to learn about your poor O Bistro experience. There isn't a mention of a poor experience with your late night snack the night of your arrival,...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

My cousin got married this weekend and had our reception there. A bunch of us got rooms along with the couple as we were coming out of town. A few issues came up for our friends and family, and the wedding. For the wedding aspect - we were told that the wedding coordinator was going to be doing the decorations....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole B
OswegoHotelManager, Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and honest review of The Oswego Hotel. It was such a joy welcoming Miranda and Ian to the hotel for their big day, and it was great to work with the two of them. We are troubled to learn about the substandard experience. We want all of our guests to have a fantastic stay at...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our brief one night stay. The room was clean and comfortable. There were fresh apples and mint water in the room, which were nice touches. My one complaint would be the breakfast we had there. It was definitely sub par, my eggs were overcooked and the potatoes were bland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
OswegoHotelManager, Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to learn about your sub-standard breakfast experience at the O Bistro. The potatoes are fried with onions, fresh herbs from our garden, and seasoning, so we are surprised to learn that it was bland. We've reviewed the dish and adjusted the seasoning. And, of course, we certainly do not want to serve overcooked eggs. This is being addressed...

Marysville, Washington
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We booked this hotel through a Black Ball Ferry package deal. It was the perfect place to stay--modern, friendly, complete, easily within walking distance from the terminal, the harbor and downtown. Our room was spacious, with kitchen amenities, comfortable, and quiet. Housekeeping and turndown service complemented all the other good qualities. Meals are not included in the price of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy468
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Yes thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and location. Being so close to the Black Ball Ferry is perfect for yourselves and many of our guests. We are located on the quieter side of the inner harbour and yet a short walk to everything. Thank you for taking the time...

Reviewed 28 May 2016

Very nice hotel, nice staff, but the rooms need to be cleaned daily for the guest, very disappointing on a daily basis. For us staying a week, and then no service on a Tuesday & Wednesday, mid week, not even a weekend, terrible!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nataliecU5235DO
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and my apologies on behalf of our team for any sub standard levels of cleanliness during your stay. Prior to you writing this review, two managers have already called and spoken with you directly and cleared up any questions or dissatisfaction. You were offered to come back to stay with us again which you...

Canada
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Overall the experience was good, staff was courteous and helpful, however the food was average. The rooms were good, neat and spacious, the beds were clean and well-made, bathrooms were well-maintained, and the check in and check out very smooth and quick. Recommended for short stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LysaVarghese
OswegoHotelManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us. I am unsure when you actually stayed with us but we have gone through a lot of positive changes in the O Bistro and recently bringing a new Chef on board. Our culinary team are amazing and have truly raised the culinary experience for our guests. So much positive...

619 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (401)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Premium Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Studio Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (11)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Premium Suite (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
1,362 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
1,163 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range: ₹ 7,724 - ₹ 16,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oswego Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Winnipeg, Canada
1 month ago
Southern California
4 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Oswego Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We parked on the street rather than pay for parking”
 of 5 bubbles islandrockin, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced Oswego and we didn't have any trouble with noise as quiet neighbourhood.”
 of 5 bubbles Tripplanner62, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor room facing the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles davep909, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It has a noise curfew which is great! Worth the upgrade to a suite to have a kitchen so you can cook for yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles laurasU8438OP, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms above the 4th floor have fantastic views”
 of 5 bubbles carrieh678, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5