We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arbutus Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Arbutus Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Went to the Arbutus Inn without a reservation and was welcomed in. As an international traveller, I needed the quiet, well-appointed room and bath, plus the quick service. The staff were very helpful; the room was clean and serviced every day that I stayed; the proximity to Ricky's restaurant and to buses to the downtown all made my stay enjoyable....

1Thank hgeissinger
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Hello hgeissinger, Thank you for doing the review on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Arbutus Inn. All the best with your travels.

Nelson, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2016

we stayed here due to a Family emergency....the room we stayed in was on the smaller side...enjoyed the nicely decorated rooms ...could use some updated flooring...and a new air conditioner . The area was ideal. Will stay here again.

1Thank Coolmom37
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Hello Coolmom37, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see you would return and stay with us. Yes we are in the process again of changing the air conditioners in all the rooms. Thank you for staying with us.

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 25 August 2016

For this price range I hardly think you make a better find. While not a luxury hotel, it has all of the basics. It was clean and comfortable, across the street from a great lil restaurant called Ricky's AND the city bus stop. Cabs are plentiful. I found it's about 2.5 miles if you choose to walk to the harbour....

Thank GregoryBHere
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Hello GregoryBHere, Thank you for your review and kind words on Tripadvisor. We are so very happy to see that you would recommend us to budge minded travelers. All the best in your travels.

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Nice room, clean and neatly decorated, convenient location to restaurants & shopping, no elevator but that wasn't terrible! Wifi worked well and was free. Room had a 2nd bedroom and full kitchen too. Air conditioning in both rooms. Staff was pleasant. Definitely plan to stay here again!

Thank k_eldridge99
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Hello k_eldridge99, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you had a nice stay at the Arbutus. All the best in your travels and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!!

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Staff were helpful with advice and information. Very easy to get uptown, down town or to other attractions by bus. Very clean and quiet. We don't use pools or saunas so the price was right. Close to restaurants and bars. Victoria is a great place.

Thank Lorena S
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lorena S. Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It was nice to have you as a guest in the hotel and thank you for the comments about the staff. All the best in your travels and we look forward to seeing you again at the Arbutus.

Inver Grove Heights
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Doesn't look like much from the outside and it's a little hard to get in and out of the parking lot, but the inside was very nice. Looks like they have done some updating, the rooms were very nice, the beds were comfortable and it was very quiet. No breakfast, but it was a convenient location, I would stay here...

Thank Kevin T
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kevin T, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. So glad to read you had a nice stay at the Arbutus. We are looking to update the rooms again in the fall later this year. Hope you enjoyed Victoria. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future. Thank you.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I found the staff to be very helpful. I came in at midnight and they stayed up for me. The first room I got the fridge did not work - so we moved and then the tv did not work - but it was just unplugged. Other than that the room was clean and quiet and what a great price!...

Thank miken452
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Hello miken452, Thank you for your review and comments on tripadvisor. It was nice to have you as a guest in the hotel. All the best in your travels.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Can't believe that any one would give this place a good review. For $150 a night it was ridiculously overpriced for what it was. Location was poor. Rooms on the second floor overlooked a parking lot full of National Car Rental trucks with not a plant in sight. That's not what you want when you are staying in beautiful Victoria....

1Thank gwyneth_midgley
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not happy with the hotel or your room allocation on the third floor. I have looked into the AC in the room you stayed in and it works great. Perhaps it was on the fan setting and not the cool setting, someone at the...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2016

- The room was supposed to be on the first/main floor but was more like in a dark basement location. - The room, especially the washroom was not clean. - The only available power outlets are located about 50cm above the bed; to charge your cell phone you have to put it on the bed or bed headboard with high...

1Thank Salmanjn
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Salmajn, Thank you for your review and feedback on Tripadvisor. The lower floor rooms are located one floor down from the lobby and we do mention that stairs are required for the lower floor rooms. I am sorry you felt the room to be cold. Its been so hot in Victoria that the only way at this time to...

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Spent a few nights here and the room was basic and a bit worn down, but the bed was very comfortable, bathroom was OK, and the parking was free. I think a bit more attention to housekeeping by the hotel could be a big improvement. This is not a scenic location, it is just a place to rest your head....

Thank RealValleyGirl
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Hello RealValleyGirl, Thank you for your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor. We are looking to do new updates again in the fall of this year, hopefully if you try us again in the future you will see a change in our room decor. All the best in your travels....

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (28)
Room/Suite (9)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Bathroom (7)
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (132)
Deluxe King Room (26)
Double King Suite (40)
Double Queen Room (19)
The Hotel (22)
Two Double Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
700 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#27 of 52 in Victoria
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Price Range: ₹ 4,346 - ₹ 8,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arbutus Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Arbutus Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about the newly renovated 4-piece bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles brandonwG4519QN, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Monthly rate is excellent value. Great place to stay if your planning a move to '' VIC''!!!”
 of 5 bubbles williammorkin, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Older travellers would enjoy staying on the ground floor. No stairs; very accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles hgeissinger, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Car rentals are available in the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles GregoryBHere, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Spend more time or even money and find a better place. If you have to stay here, do not stay on first floor.”
  • Window opens for maximum abou 10cm, plus a spider
 of 5 bubbles Salmanjn, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5