We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strathcona Hotel

Save
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (9)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good37%
  • Average30%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“rooftop bar”(8 reviews)
“great location”(66 reviews)
“central location”(20 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Rooftop Bar
Accessible rooms
Laundry Service
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
61
142
116
40
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
61
142
116
40
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationcentral locationnight lifehotel featuresliquor storebasic roomcontinental breakfast isdesk stafffew minutes walkheart of downtownold world charmstayed two nightsvancouver islandvisiting victoriawicketmuffins
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights here and really enjoyed it. It is very centrally located to the bus station, departure points for day road tours, whale watching excursions, float plane airport and many local attractions. The rooms are basic but comfortable. No tea or coffee making...More

Thank Schultz57
Response from Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona HotelResponded 1 week ago

Schultz, Thank you for your review. Your comments about the Hotel's downtown location and our food and beverage establishments will be very helpful to future travelers. You are right seafood chowder is a must when stopping by the pub.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My favorite part about the hotel is that they always have hot tea ready in the main lobby and honey! They also have coffee. In the mornings you can enjoy breakfast that is included as part of your stay. I am not picky when it...More

Thank Ewa F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight at this hotel in the centre of Victoria have to admit it was a bit of a disappointment . There are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms you have to go to the lobby to have a cuppa or coffee ?...More

Thank Alan Y
Response from Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Alan, Thank you for the review. We only advertise complimentary continental breakfast. We offer 24 hour coffee service at the Hotel front desk as a service to our customers. As we update the property more room will have coffee machines wherever possible.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose to stay here after we had issues with our original rental accommodation. They were very accommodating with our reservation on short notice. The staff was friendly and accommodating to us. The location is very good, being within walking distance to many of the...More

Thank Steve459
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Firstly, it's downtown, so don't be surprised if there's some outside noise. Secondly, it's green, so don't expect air conditioning. DO expect a location close to Victoria's sites and bars (walk darn near anywhere) and windows that open (nature's a/c). Little perturbed by the need...More

Thank Chris D
Response from Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona HotelResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Chris, Thanks for the review. The good news is we are adding air conditioning to the room as technology has now made it possible. As of the end of April we have 24 rooms with AC and more to come in the Fall. We...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Vancouver Island
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 136 - US$ 189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 136 - US$ 189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
busboy344
9 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Joel C | Property representative |
We have just added more rooms that are air conditioned. Please contact Strathcona Hotel reservations to see if we can accommodate your request.
0
Votes
uclamates
6 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bill04kelly | Reviewed this property |
Yes it does.
0
Votes
laurenmichael17
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gary N | Reviewed this property |
I think Silvie was right. It was in the closet.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Our first floor room was very quiet."
Read review
"Upper floor rooms are away from the night club noise and street noise. Make sure the window opens."
Read review
"Room was quiet, comfortable beds and warm rooms in winter, fantastic location!"
Read review
"Ask for a room on the fifth floor, or at the back of the bulding. Douglas St. is quite busy! I had 519 and..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing