We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gatsby Mansion

Booking.comUS$ 200*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Management photos
Gatsby Mansion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gatsby Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2013

When we arrived I went to the main hotel to register, Then up to the room in the Gatsby. When I first entered our room I noticed that the floor was well worn and dirty (Not vacumed) - food particules on the carpet. There were cob-webs all over in our room and the windows were dirty. There was an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane L
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. In behalf of all our staff we do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The properties, including the Huntingdon Hotel and the Gatby Mansion, are expected to undergo extensive renovations once under new ownership. Our employees are doing daily their best...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My partner and I stayed in a room at the Gatsby Mansion last September. The room was really cosy with rich rosewood antique furniture and sumptuous bedlinens. It was a small room, but elegantly appointed. The bathroom was small, but it had character. We ate at the restaurant downstairs that night. Expensive (white linen tablecloths) but the food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Annette060
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for having been our guest during your last trip to Victoria. In behalf of all our employees, thank you for your wonderful review, we do appreciate your feedback very much. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the hopefully near future. Best Regards Bernd Bohl General Manager

Victoria
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My wife and I's 15th anniversary was coming up. So I Planed and reserved everything at least month ahead of time. I booked the Romance package and upgraded to the best room in the place, The #5 Fitzgerald. So everything was reserved, paid for, and good to go. Until the day we show up... Apparently our room had been "double...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim F
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and more importantly, thank you for your comments and your feedback. In behalf of all our employees I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered on this very special occasion. I can and would like to offer an explanation and a solution acceptable to you if you would please contact my office....

Apple Valley, CA
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were totally unprepared and delighted with "stepping back in time" in our stay at the Gatsby Mansion Inn. We were upgraded to the "Fitzgerald" room with a sweeping view of Victoria Harbour and downtown Victoria across the way. The furnishings were all early 1900's with the welcome addition of a flat screen TV and a modern bath/shower. The dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justbeingme38
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for having stayed with us and for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. In behalf of all our employees, thank you for your positive feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Gatsby the end of September 2012, having booked well in advance we recieved a discounted rate for the "Carroway Room" - had we not received the discount we would have requested a different room. The picture they advertise as the Carroway Room is definitely NOT what we stayed in, having read the reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your comments, we do appreciate and value your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do consider returning. In behalf of all our employees, thank you for having been our guest and we are looking forward to your return. With best Regards Bernd Bohl General Manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I never even saw the inside of the Gatsby Mansion. This place was a huge disappointment. The online photos for the Gatsby Mansion are beautiful. When we arrived we were placed in a room at the Huntingdon Hotel on the back of the property which is nothing but a plain motel room. The bed was not a king size bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim M
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest We appreciate your feedback, thank you for posting your comments. Our apologies that we obviously have not been able to meet your expectations. Our staff is doing their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If however you are not happy with the room we assigned you or with any other service we provide, don't hesitate...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I don't disagree with the other writers but keep an open mind. This is an old hotel/inn. We stayed on the top floor of the Gatsby Mansion, in the turret room (#10) We had a large room with private bath and an excellent view of the harbor, the busy street and the Empress from our panoramic windows. Yes some were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TTidball
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 28 August 2012

While the Gatsby Mansion advertises itself as a B&B, it is actually two Victorian buildings (the Mansion and the Judges House managed from a third, the Huntingdon Motel, that sits between them on the same lot. Supposedly each room is named after a character in The Great Gatsby, and we booked "The Baker Room." The room we received at check...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deorr
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. In behalf of all our employees, I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay and it seems we have not been able to meet your expectations. Our staff is doing their best to ensure all our guests and their individual...

Victoria
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The B&B gets one point for the location. Everything else is a big disappointment. If you expect a lovely B&B with charme, something private and familiar, a cosy room, a home that someone is taking care of and friendly hosts that love to talk to people, give recommendations about what to do, where to eat, a host who actually enjoys...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emalaleni
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. In behalf of all our staff we do apologize that you seemingly did not enjoy your stay with us. The properties, including the Huntingdon Hotel and the Gatby Mansion, are under new ownership and extensive renovation plans are are being prepared for the off season....

City, StateAberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We last stayed at the Gatsby mansion some ten or eleven years ago and were lucky enough to have the large bedroom with a veranda, on the first floor overlooking the harbour. When our cruise ship docked at Victoria earlier this month, for just one evening, we headed straight for the Gatsby Mansion to have dinner. It was still a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ultraview
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review and of course that you decided to stay with us again. We every much appreciate your feedback. Our Gatsby Mansion does infact display a different and unique style of hospitality and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Chef D'Arcy Ladret and his front...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
1,968 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,563 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
1,632 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nothing feels more like Victoria than the Gatsby Mansion. A boutique B&B experience in a historic Victorian mansion where each of its 9 rooms has its own distinct characteristics and charm. A heritage building, the mansion does not have an elevator and may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gatsby Mansion

Address: 309 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Price Range: ₹ 11,432 - ₹ 15,593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatsby Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gatsby Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatsby Mansion Hotel Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gatsby Mansion staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gatsby Mansion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a shower. Ours only had a bathtub.”
DavidV153, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The mansion is set in from the main road so I think all the rooms are quiet.”
nlance2016, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“four posted bed room”
ajgcristiano, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in a piece of history at Gatsby Manor. The Pendray Suite is perfect!”
ZuZusMom, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“this review covered high tea only”
sccfsac, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 200* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 200
Cancelon
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates