We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (431)
Panoramas (8)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 02/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Updated 02/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#20 of 46 hotels in Victoria
Travellers' Choice
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free Wi-Fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room and billiards room! Fun for the whole family!
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Game room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Indoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more
1694Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 944
  • 601
  • 103
  • 22
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Richard0828 wrote a review Jun 2022
Richmond, Canada90 contributions36 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights in late June 2022. Rooms were very clean, bed was comfortable, quiet. However was not advised on check it that there is no room service unless requested. Breakfast is very limited .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Sleep Quality
William S wrote a review Jul 2021
Bridport, United Kingdom549 contributions252 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed 4 nights at the Royal Scot hotel. It is close to all attractions in Victoria and all are within easy walking distances. Parking in hotel grounds is plentiful. The staff were welcoming, cheerful, professional and very helpful. The hotel was clean, smart and light. Our room was large, bright with a balcony and large amount of storage space. The bed was huge and very comfortable with good pillows. There were good blackout curtains. There was a small refrigerator which was very useful and there was a good coffee machine. There was a large TV with wide choice of stations. The bathroom was large, very clean and had a powerful over-bath shower with good choice of shampoo, conditioner etc. The room was quiet and we slept very well. This is a really good hotel and we loved our stay - by far the best we have stayed in in Victoria and we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3 Helpful votes
Response from Zeynep Ozgunc, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Dear r0man53, It warms our heart to learn that you had such a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to give us 5 bubbles and an awesome review! We truly appreciate the feedback; it means the world to us. Our mission is to provide the finest customer service, the cleanest rooms and common areas for our guests. I saw that you didn't mention about our pool, hot tub or sauna! When you come back, don't forget to check our facilities ! I'm sure you will love to have a relaxing day at our hot tub! Safe travels and we're looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Scot ! Zeynep Ozgunc Front Office Manager
Read more
Elby C wrote a review Jun 2022
Seattle, Washington65 contributions60 helpful votes
We came to visit Victoria and chose the Royal Scot due to it was close to the Coho/Clipper Belleville Docks. It was a good, old school motel/hotel, the room was very large and included a safe, a mini fridge, a hot water kettle, a coffee pot, some basic dishes and cutlery, and microwave. The wifi was strong. The whole place was classic in its layout but everything was clean and spotless. Easy walking distance to the Inner Harbour, the Parliament, and then also a supermarket and several small shops, a liquor store, some restos, and a yoga studio, the opposite way a few blocks up Menzies St. The horse and carriages used the streets nearby as they came and went with tourist rides, the sound of the 'clop clop' and horse noises in this quiet neighborhood was a nice, calm, plus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
LillieUsa wrote a review Jun 2022
Florida263 contributions78 helpful votes
Lovely old hotel in a fabulous location. Has all the amenities and then some. I would absolutely stay here again. My only complaint is we could hear people next door quite easily. Fortunately they weren’t noisy. Staff is very accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Anna Storozheva, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a great feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us! We look forward to hosting you back very soon! Kindest regards, Anna Storozheva Front Office Manager
Read more
cassie060 wrote a review Jun 2022
Hertfordshire12 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed for three nights, we were upgraded on arrival and stayed in a suite which was very comfortable with good beds, separate lounge and kitchen. Only three minutes from the harbour area at Victoria. Situated in a quiet peaceful area, would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Anna Storozheva, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Day Cassie060, We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us! We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay in one of our 1 bedroom suites. I cannot but agree that our location is unbeatable - just in the heart of Inner Harbour area, close to all major sightseeing places. Thank you again for your kind words and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future! Kind Regards, Anna Storozheva Front Office Manager
Read more
Marguerite S wrote a review Jun 2022
Kingston, Canada436 contributions130 helpful votes
After our first trip to Alberta to enjoy the Rocky Mountaineer Train excursion we decided to spend another few days in Victoria. We had previously spent a few days in Victoria but really wanted to extend our vacation & enjoy more of the area. Had previously stayed at the Royal Scot hotel so decided to once again stay there as it was so close to the activities in the downtown core. We really enjoy the area & options available to do & see. The Restaurants all great to visit for lunches, dinners or a quick Happy Hour. The in house restaurant/pub was not available for our entire stay due to staff shortages & the experience of Covid. Good for breakfast the days it is open. The staff were extremely pleasant & helpful with our enquiries & providing assistance, especially Maya. Thank you. The rooms were comfortable, quiet as we had a room facing the street behind the building. Loved seeing & hearing the horse carriages going up & down the street. Yes the room was warm but we tried to use the balcony door & windows open as much as possible to have a comfortable sleep. There was fans provided however we choose not to use it but let the fresh air in. The staff tried to provide all quests with a comfortable staff & answered enquiries the best of their ability or research the information on your behalf. Thank you a most enjoyable staff in Victoria, we shall love to return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upper floors & rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Anna Storozheva, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear CM S, Thank you for staying with us on your trip to our beautiful city and taking time to review our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and great time exploring our city. Thank you very much for your wonderful words about staff. We are striving to provide the best service to all guests and it is wonderful to know that we succeeded. We look forward to greeting you again very soon! Kind Regards, Anna Storozheva Front Office Manager
Read more
Suz10blue wrote a review Jun 2022
Richland, Washington204 contributions90 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights for a family event in Victoria. Pros: well situated and can walk down to the Harbor and was clean and quiet Cons: pricey for size of room- we were in smallest room and was still quite spend - if you go in summer, note that there is NO AC!!! It was warm and on 4th floor with only one window- boy was it hot and stuffy!!! High humidity and no AC -= misery. They do provide fans but still… if you get hot easily, would not recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Caution: no AC and quite stuff
See more room tips
Intrepid256 wrote a review Jun 2022
Florence, Alabama106 contributions68 helpful votes
Older hotel but is clean and well located. I came as part of a tour and found it to be very quiet. I think most of the rooms are suites and would suitable for long stays. The restaurant was not in service but there were several located with a block or so. Neighborhood behind the Inn has lots of retirees so there is a nice grocery store and several other restaurants to choose from if you want away from the tourist section. My suite was divided into two bedrooms with a full living room suite and bed in the front part. Personally, I would have liked the front area to be just a sitting room, as it was a bit cramped. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Bonnie W wrote a review May 2022
Nanaimo, Canada201 contributions144 helpful votes
We are slowly coming out of a two-plus year Covid pandemic and it is time the hospitality sector quit complaining, raising prices or have less than stellar accommodations offered to the unsuspecting guests. Case in point:  We booked this Hotel for one night prior to a hospital visit. This hotel offered a Dining room, suites and is out of the downtown area, it sounded pretty good. We just wanted a quiet time. We arrived after the 4 p.m. check-in time and asked about the Dining room. We were told they were closed, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday but open the rest of the week. Don said but this is Sunday. Her answer: oh, we closed at 2 p.m. but we will give you a coupon for dinner at a Hotel close by. It was a Hotel we would never have checked into in the first place. Never mind,  we will just go up to our room. Now here is where it is weird. They have a kitchen table (old and abused) and a couple of chairs. The chairs are so low the table came up to my chest when I sat down. The cupboard supplies are more than laughable. The one good thing was an actual coffee pot where drip coffee was available. The use of coffee pods is more expensive but most Hotels now used them. Now the living room. On the south wall was a double bed, and a very large side table (from another planet). These two items took up all the space on the wall and on the north wall was the sofa facing the bed. On the one end of the sofa was the matching huge side table. On the west wall were two sofa chairs with a lamp in front of the windows. In the corner was a huge cupboard housing the t. v. inside. It could not be moved so you have to sit on the bed to watch the t. v. The bed was not made properly. The blanket (light weight nothing) that did not fit the bed and a sheet. The very unclean cover was folded up and laid across the base of the bed. I say this as the top edge was black from many months or even years being used since it had been cleaned. Into the next room - no door and no full wall between the two areas. Again a double bed, and made with the same quality as the first. The bathroom is attached to this area. The room is so small or laid out the wrong way that you could not get out to use the bathroom because it was so close to the wall. Note: I got a concussion a few years ago, with the same set up. Getting out of bed to assist my husband and I fell into the cupboard and fell face first on the cement floor. No room to walk out. You couldn't properly open the window in the living room as the screen was bent out of shape and had a gaping hole which would/could let the bugs in. I called down to speak to a Manager and I was told, we don't have Managers here. I only wanted to ask if we could change the position of the bed and sofa but, alas, no one could do anything. I will say one thing though....after 31 years marriage it was the first time we could not share the same bed (not including hospital times). Not funny! Please hire me to come and help your staff set things up, and also train the front desk staff how to treat the paying guests who enter. We operated a Bed and Breakfast for about 15 -16 years.  It would take about a week. Let me know.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: phone first to confirm what they really offer
See more room tips
Jaydee wrote a review May 2022
Calgary, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite . The bedroom/sitting room was very large with 2 comfy chairs , side table and reading lamp as well as a very comfortable bed. The decor may be dated but if comfort, cleanliness and convenience is what you want, then this is a great place to stay. Although we were travelling as a couple Royal Scot is a good choice for families...with pool, hot tub, games room, billiard room and a good selection of DVDs in lieu of movie chanel on TV. It is on a quiet street,a short walk to all the sights in Victoria. A restaurant is available for breakfast and lunch. Housekeeping is on demand and staff are very accommodating. We are totally pleased with our decision to stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
$144 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
royal scot hotel and suites, royal scot victoria, royal scot hotel victoria
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaJames Bay
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include The Pedaler (0.2 km), Inner Harbour (0.4 km), and IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Legislative Dining Room, Nourish Kitchen & Cafe, and Floyd's Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Chinese, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (0.2 km), Craigdarroch Castle (2.2 km), and Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada (0.4 km).