We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Pacific

463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1126)
Room & Suite (533)
Dining (45)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 42 hotels in Victoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. Please call Hotel Grand Pacific directly and ahead of time to personalize your experience with us with your needs and requests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German and 2 more
3,016Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,878
  • 800
  • 230
  • 71
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Morgen M wrote a review 10 Apr
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Front desk staff went out of their way at check in to help us. We arrived early, due to flight schedules, and the front desk were super helpful in getting us a room that was ready and letting us check in early. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The central location of this hotel makes it easy to get around and experience Victoria. There is underground parking and it is secure and easy to access. Overall, a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jashandeep13 wrote a review Mar 2024
Edmonton, Canada2 contributions
I and my family stayed at Hotel Grand Pacific for 3 nights and 4 days. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Amenities were accessible. The harbour view from the room was excellent and worth staying for.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deepmala S wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions
A nice comfortable stay right next to Parliament and close to all the major attractions. The room was nice, clean and came with a balcony to enjoy the beautiful breeze. The staff is polite and helpful, checkin and checkout was smooth and seemless.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
d B wrote a review Mar 2024
Comox Valley, Canada25 contributions27 helpful votes
Had a beautiful view of the Parliament building which was nice at night. The room was spacious and clean. The bedding was comfortable and clean. Well maintained building and property. Parking is a bit tight but they do have valet available as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pool was closed for service and maintenance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chase P wrote a review Mar 2024
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada15 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Oh boy, I’m hoping this doesn’t post twice- I’m rewriting it because I can’t see the first one I posted and I feel it’s really important to write our experience. It was by far the most shocking and horrific experience we’ve had. We were attending Gathering our Voices, an Indigenous leadership conference- as reported in previous reviews, there’s clearly an issue with racism at this hotel. We had to call police to get our dog and suitcases out of the room as the staff wouldn’t allow us back in without authorizing fraudulent and charges for an unspecified amount. As we were leaving, I locked myself out of the hotel room. I took my children down to the front desk to ask for a new key. The front desk person Refused unless I allowed them to charge my card for “damages”. I inquired about the damages as it was the first I had heard about them. They outlined that there was a towel that had been damaged and claimed we cleaned poop with it. When they showed me the photos I remembered that we cleaned coffee that had spilled with it-which I explained the manager continued to tell me it was impossible to remove coffee and said the third party cleaners would be unable to remove it. It was spilled literally that morning so it hadn’t set or anything like that. Then he outlined that you should only use towels to dry your clean body after a shower and the proper procedure is to call them to clean the coffee- not listed anywhere and strange. Then he claimed the room was “ totally trashed” again, I looked at the photos and saw a ketchup stain the size of a dime/quarter, a game my kids hadn’t picked up before housekeeping came and this towel along with some clothes- and I mean 3 pieces of clothing on the ground. He presented an email from housekeeping claiming it took over an hour to clean and the room was covered in poop and blood and needed carpet cleaning. I’ve included the email and photo evidence they presented. It’s a HUGE claim to accuse someone of trashing a hotel room and leaving blood and poop- and certainly not the case here. They refuse to allow us back in the room to get our dog. We had to call police to attend because they were holding our dog and belongings hostage demanding we pay hundreds of dollars. So we ended up having to call the police as they were holding out suitcases and dog hostage and kept insisting we authorize our card for an unspecified amount of damages. They also said they had tried an amount - they wouldn’t tell me how much - but it was declined so it had to have been a VERY high amount and it was not discussed with us in advance of charging it. Again, you can see in other reviews they have a pattern of this. When police arrived they claimed the issue was that our dog was left unattended- as in only in that moment because I locked myself out in the juggle of leaving. This was never brought up but officially put into the police report. I showed the police the printed “evidence” I was given and it was clear they had lied entirely to the officer. We were escorted upstairs to get our dog and luggage but I think everyone was confused as to the problem the front desk was claiming. I’ve included the photos and the email form housekeeping claiming the room is trashed and that there is poop and blood all over- there so some ketchup on the bed but you would think housekeeping could tell the difference between blood/ketchup and poop/coffee. If not they probably need more professional staff. Included the actual photos provided by the hotel showing we trashed the room Along with the email claiming blood and poop. Just horrific.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Pool closed but not listed- alternative is a pool 10-15min drive. charged fraudulent charges did...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. McQuillan, The state of your room was dreadful and was placed out of order for two days to be deep cleaned displacing revenue during a busy spring break. For your future travels, you can expect similar consequences in any reputable hotel: 1) If your credit card is declined or not valid for a pre-authorization for incidentals. 2) If your children and dog soil the carpets to the point that a third part carpet cleaning company must come in, an extra cleaning fee will be charged. 3) If you stain the bedding to the point that some of it must be discarded, there will be an extra charge. 4) If housekeeping must spend a couple hours a day cleaning the disaster that you left your room in, the hotel may confront you. 5) If you are disrespectful and verbally abusiveness to hotel employees, you will no longer be welcome at that property. Yours truly,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phillip C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked via a major travel site. On that site I used the filter for "pool" for our vacation days. On that site not only did the hotel show up but the first two icons at the top of the hotel mini description were for pool and hot tub (attached). Great! So relaxing! Since we were booking for our family (with 2 kids) for March break this was a must. We were excited. After I booked the (non refundable) room I received an email (which I saw later) that those facilities were not available until after my stay was over. My question is ... why if the pool, hot tub and gym are closed (a huge part of a vacation property) from December to April did those facilities show up when I searched (during that time) for hotel with a pool and a gym? The manager said that since they were technically offering a voucher for an off-site pool with a gym (which is a 12 MINUTE DRIVE away) that they can still show up. What a scam. Instead of fighting to get a refund and looking for an alternative (its march break after all and places book fast) I assumed stupidly that they would at least give us something meaningful to make up for it. A harbor view? A dinner? A room upgrade? Nope. After expressing my frustration at length I was give free parking (weee!) and some credits for food (tip money?). Personally it is very unlikely that I will come back. Having to go through that at check-in and having to escalate to a manager was brutal. I hate confrontation bit I genuinely feel that this is a scam. Aside from that the location is good. The property is okay. The room is okay (terrible office chair). ultimately I hate situations where no one takes responsibility and where the hotel acts like you should have known better. Well now I do.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The pool, hot tub and gym are closed. Originally it was supposed to be finished March 22nd 2024....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Philip C, I am sorry that the pool was closed during your stay with us, especially during Spring Break when your kids want to swim. Please know that all of the online travel sites, including the travel site you used, were made aware of the pool closure in December last year. Additionally, we did mock reservations to ensure that the travel site’s messaging were accurate (and they were). According to our records, your reservation was made on March 1 and a voice message was left on the same day informing you of the pool closure. This gave you 19 days to make other arrangements which I believe is reasonable under the circumstances. The Hotel also offered some compensation as a gesture despite the notice that you were given. I understand this was not acceptable for you but we feel that we did everything we could to mitigate the situation. I therefore disagree that you were scammed. Kind regards, Reid James General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jessicacolinares wrote a review Mar 2024
Seattle, Washington22 contributions25 helpful votes
We have stayed here before and had an amazing experience. Unfortunately, we did not have the same experience this time. The hotel swimming pool and hot tub were closed. This information was not on their website and it was the major attraction to staying there. The beds were really hard and the furniture was worse for the wear. Room service was delicious, but we ate the last night's room cost and moved to a hotel with a working pool and hot tub and had an amazing time there. I recommend Chateau Victoria Hotel if you are looking for a wonderful pool that is actually open.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check to make sure the pool is open.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jessicacolinares, I am sorry that the pool was closed during your recent stay with us. We know it was especially difficult for the kids to be without a pool during spring break. Please be aware that website notices, confirmations, and telephone calls were done to inform our guests about the closure starting in December last year and every reservation made thereafter. In other words, we did what we could to notify all our partners and guests about the pool situation. Unfortunately, some of our guests missed seeing this information. I am sorry that you found our beds too firm but are happy that you enjoyed In-Room Dining. The Chateau Victoria is a great hotel. I hope you enjoyed your stay there. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
momWashington wrote a review Feb 2024
Washington7 contributions
We come to Victoria twice a year and stay at the Hotel Grand Pacific. The hospitality is always superb! The location is walkable to all of the amazing restaurants, music and pubs. The in house restaurant, Fathom is delicious and the lounge a fun place to enjoy a cocktail or a night cap. We’ve been coming here since they opened and their service is consistent. There’s a Starbucks directly across the street which I love! The BEST SUITE in the hotel is the Premier Suite room 610. The living room dining area looks out a huge windowed wall with a slider over the inner harbor where the Coho and the Clipper dock several times daily. You can enjoy the gas fireplace while watching tv. The view off the dining room and the oversized bedroom is the Parliament Building which are covered in lights and so beautiful at night. This suite also has a sofa sleeper and a half bath for guests. The bedroom has a large tv and a walk in shower with multiple shower heads and a double sink and bidet! If you’re a lover of Italian food you must make a reservation at IL Terazzo. It’s SOOOO delicious!! Ask for Marissa she’s an excellent server, we had her two nights in a row.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to read your kind comments about our hotel and restaurant. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
eyp708 wrote a review Jan 2024
Vancouver, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at the Hotel Grand Pacific for 3 nights in January for the Victoria Whisky Festival. Although this was not my first stay, it was my first stay since 2019. Unfortunately, this stay was really not enjoyable. Upon checking in, I'm not sure if the girl at the desk was new, forgetful or not detail oriented, but she asked the same question multiple times. Had she forgotten that she already asked us? Was she new and nervous? Was she going through the motions and not paying attention to what she was asking and wasn't listening to the answers? She even called our room to ask us one of the questions again. The room itself, which I knew would be an older room, was more worn than I expected. The upholstery on the furniture was worn, frayed, dirty and sometimes stained. The bathroom counter had a huge chunk missing on the front. The alarm clock was set 5 hours ahead of the current time and the instructions on setting the time didn't work. The pillows were all very thin - no mix of pillow types here - and the bed was harder than the floor. In the middle of the first night, I finally went down to the front desk to ask for a mattress pad or extra comforter to make the bed softer. The person manning the front desk gave me a very shocked and surprised look. I guess I'm the only one who has ever complained their bed was so hard that it was uncomfortable to the point it was physically hurting me. They offered to deliver a foam pad to the room, which helped a bit but not a lot. After 3 nights of sleeping (or more accurately, attempting to sleep), I've returned home with a very sore back. We were checked out by the same person who checked us in, who again, asked the same questions repeatedly but seemed to have no interest in the actual answer. She asked us twice "How was your stay?" My husband answered good, but I responded "OK". Having worked in a customer service and retail, if someone had responded "OK", I would've used it as an opportunity to find out what the problem was with their stay and see if there was anything I could do to leave them with a better impression of the hotel. However, she either wasn't really listening or didn't care, and simply continued to check us out. The location of the hotel itself was good in that it was quiet and there were 2 grocery stores nearby for getting snacks to eat in between whisky Masterclasses. As well, there was a Starbucks across the street. However, it is a bit far away from the main areas of Victoria if you're looking for restaurants, other coffee shops, to run errands, etc. The grounds of the hotel themselves was covered in snow when we arrived. Although they shovelled the snow leading up from the sidewalk right to their entrance, they missed the opportunity to go the extra mile and shovel the sidewalk from the crosswalk to their actual property. Legally, they only have to shovel the walkways that belong to their property. However, it is very difficult to drag a suitcase in the snow and many of their guests will likely leave the property to eat or explore. Nearby, The Fairmont Empress had taken the extra step to not only shovel all of the paths on their property, but also all the sidewalks surrounding their property all the way to all of the pedestrian crossings. Just taking this extra step gave me a very good impression of the Fairmont Empress, even though I was not staying there. But it said to me they cared about the safety of their guests and had thought about the fact that their guests might be utilizing these areas to get around. Whereas the Hotel Grand Pacific did the bare minimum. Overall, if I did not have to book Hotel Grand Pacific as part of the Victoria Whisky Festival out of towner package, I would not choose to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The gym is on the small side and is crowded during the day
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Dear Marlow Moo, Please accept my apologies for what you essentially described as a miserable stay. As you may have seen, most of our online hotel reviews are very positive highlighting our friendly, personalized service, our quality food and beverage offerings, our unique facilities, and our great Inner Harbour location. For your entire stay to be void of a single bright moment or even a passable moment is disappointing but it is also perplexing. Your feedback is appreciated. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
YYJ S. wrote a review Jan 2024
Victoria, Canada57 contributions27 helpful votes
In the heart of downtown Victoria, convenient to walking the inner harbour and Government St. shops is the Hotel Grand Pacific. It feels elegant, grand and modern yet not stuffy. The lobby is a great place to sit and visit. We loved the bar and the bartender obviously takes pride in their craft as our drinks were phenomenal. (I am very judgy & critical when it comes to my cocktails.) The Arcadian salad and Chicken Karage were also a big hit with us. Our room was clean, comfortable and updated. The balcony is perfect for 2 people to sit and enjoy the view. Though it comes with 4 large pillows, I did ask for an extra pillow and it was delivered within 10 minutes. Kudos to the staff for being so friendly and efficient. Looking forward to our next visit!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reid James, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review Carol! We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Victoria area.
PRICE RANGE
₹13,712 - ₹20,736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand pacific hotel, grand pacific victoria
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaJames Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
304
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GRAND PACIFIC (Victoria) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Grand Pacific
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Grand Pacific?
Nearby attractions include Axe and Grind (0.5 km), The Pedaler (0.2 km), and Inner Harbour (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Grand Pacific?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Grand Pacific?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Grand Pacific?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Grand Pacific?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Grand Pacific?
Conveniently located restaurants include Legislative Dining Room, Red Fish Blue Fish, and Nourish Kitchen & Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Grand Pacific?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Grand Pacific?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Grand Pacific?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Grand Pacific offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Grand Pacific?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Chinese, Japanese, and Indonesian.