We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Hostelworld.comUS$ 47*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 58*
US$ 47*
Great Deal
US$ 57*
US$ 51*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cambie Hostel Gastown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cambie Hostel Gastown
See the most recent reviews
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Reviewed 6 September 2016
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsschweizer
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This place stank, really disgusting, and the room was not good at all, the ceiling and floor was coming off and there were no furniture apart from the bed and one chair. The smell was the worst part, it smelled like pee and rotten things(?). The staff was nice though.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stina L
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Stina, Thank you for your review, we will pass this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We want our guests to feel comfortable and happy in our hostel so we're always open to suggestions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next time you are...

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paz B
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Cambie hostel for one night in August 2016. I'm a young traveller and not difficult to please but I wouldn't recommend this hostel. The corridors smelled of urine and the bedroom was dirty. Our window was wedged open with a golf ball and it wasn't difficult to see out through the windows which were destroyed with pigeon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Máire C
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have given this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We are planning extensive renovations of the hostel soon and will include your feedback in our repairs. I'm glad you enjoyed the bar downstairs, most of our guests enjoy having a bar downstairs with a great...

Reviewed 18 August 2016
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 현진전2014
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Cambie Hostel is very nice place to stay. Clean washrooms and beds, friendly and helpfull staff. There is a huge pub/restaurant downstairs. We tasted burgers and some beer. Plus breakfast! I can only recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barru C
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Barru, We loved reading your review. We will pass along your feedback to our hostel staff! Thank you, The Cambie Hostel Management

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The Cambie is probably the best hostel in Vancouver for people on a budget. I stayed here for several days on three visits. I wouldn't recommend it to people who sleep lightly or are easily annoyed by noise though. The bar downstairs is one of the most sought out bars in town and always packed. So if you're traveling solo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nici B
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Nici, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to heard that we are your first option when coming to Vancouver for a couple of days, hope to see you on your next visit! Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

The hostel rooms are dated and get unbearably hot during the night at least in the summer. It's facilities are then though food kept going missing from fridges. The bar below is well priced for the downtown location and is the saving grace for this hostel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheetah1840
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We appreciate any guest feedback we receive as it helps us guide our hostel improvements. We are currently working on updating our hostel facilities and we will be installing new curtains and refinishing the flooring in our rooms. We are sorry your food went missing from the fridges but we are glad...

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This is the worst hostel I have ever been!! I have travelled for many countries, and this hostel absolutelly is the worst. The building is very old and filthy, on the first floor there is a very noising pub, that doesn't let anybody sleep. The room was dirty, with MOUSETRAPS just on the heater!!! And at night, 03 MOUSES entered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcos Tulio S
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback so that we can improve our facilities. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hostel and we apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort this caused you. We are located in a heritage building in the oldest part of the city and...

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Place is nice, Ioved the party downstairs, the commons, the showers and the general concept... But bedbugs? Seriously? The room mattress was full of them moving around, they have seemingly not been very bothered to hide away. It seems like there are a lot of complains about this problem, I wonder what the law is. Maybe it's time to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas S
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review, we are always looking for ways to improve our hostel and appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our common areas and atmosphere in the cambie downstairs, however, we take bedbug incidents very seriously and we are very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay. We...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,325 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#26 of 49 in Vancouver
93 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 49 in Vancouver
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gastown

Neighbourhood Profile
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's history a more lively presence here than anywhere else. Having been originally founded around a popular worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of Vancouver's best micro-breweries, creative cocktail joints, and corner bars can be found in this area. Classical charm suffuses its many vintage boutiques and the brick-built structures that an army of creative professionals call home.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Address: 300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Price Range: ₹ 1,487 - ₹ 3,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cambie Hostel Gastown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago Google Translation
Mariana B Vancouver, Canada Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hello,

You have to be 19 years old to book a room with us!

1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cambie Hostel Gastown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You get instant access to the bar downstairs without waiting in the long Line = Clutch”
V4786NUjeremyb, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Street side rooms were bigger”
R2260WPjacquelinec, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Não se acomodem neste hotel”
marcostulios, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the third floor to avoid noise from the bar”
Scarlettkatt, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have good views and may be quieter”
oliviab397, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 47* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 57
CheapTicketsUS$ 51
PricelineUS$ 58
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates