We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samesun Vancouver

Booking.comUS$ 81
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Panoramas (15)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Samesun Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,131: English reviews
portland
Reviewed 2 December 2016

My wife & I stayed here. We both have traveled the world & have stayed in many different hostels. This experience was horrible. The facility was disgustingly dirty. There were hairs and pubic hairs all of the bottom of the shower and the shower walls. The entire room was coated in dust. The housekeeper announced their arrival to clean the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crystale210
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the feedback. Our front desk team did check your room before you arrived since you were arriving early and the room was vacant the night before. We also checked it after your first complaint with us through another booking site . We didn't find the issues you spoke of and we also mentioned this to our...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 December 2016

This place is clean and convenient. staff here do make an effort to clean up. You can meet different people here. In he season i stayed, I met lots of Australians preparing to work in skiing season. As I am used to glued to my computer, I got frustrated from time to time that wifi was very slow and unstable....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamtamhere
San Francisco
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Thanks! Great atmosphere. Friendly staff. Room and shared bathrooms were clean. Coffee in the morning was delicious! Also, the hike that the hostel organized was absolutely fabulous---they provided transportation and a great tour guide. It was so much fun!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristinu324
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Really nice hostel with good facilities and a central location. Stayed in an 8 bed dorm with good sized lockers and enough room to put your stuff. Really comfy beds. Good, clean bathrooms and showers. Great kitchen facilities as well. Friendly staff and a central location only a 10 minute walk from the skytrain station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at a lot of backpackers and this place is definitely high up on the list! I was on the second floor which was lucky because you only have access to different levels by stairs (so ask for a lower level where possible). The room has 3sets of bunks and there was enough room for the 6 of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

I had an amazing time at Samesun! The beds are extremely comfortable and he staff are incredibly helpful and nice. Matthew and Josh were kind enough to help me out with a new room card when I lost my wallet. Can't thank them enough!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Great location on Granville street. Stayed in a 4 room dorm, which was the perfect size. Very clean, but what makes this hostel so good is its facilities. Really big kitchen and common room areas, plenty of toilets and showers on each level, really helpful staff and a great bar. The activities are fun and the food here is good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Location was excellent . staff was good. Kelly was very kind and very accommodating. she was excellent. staff member. I had a room facing the street so it was very noisy and the smoke from the street level front of hostel entrance billowed up to the rooms. overall I would be willing to stay there again, just away from the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F210QYnicolasm
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Way too expensive compared to what you get and compared to other hostels in Vancouver with the same facilities. Not worth the money. Small washing facilities, worn and unclean toilets. They served a good breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 328caroline
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this review

Hello and we appreciate your feedback. Your stay with us was over a very busy time period so our prices were a bit higher than slower weeks. We offer much more than other hostels and we are the top rated hostel in the city. Our current project is improving and renovating the bathrooms which you mentioned as one our weaknesses....

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Samesun Vancouver is a great harbour to stay at whilst in the wilderness of Vancouver. The accommodation was reasonable, the kitchen reasonable, pretty good to relax and recover (that's me) after a hard day OR stay downstairs and mingle in the bar. It is a very convenient location and the breakfast is the best that I have experienced in a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nbende_926598

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Four Bedroom Dorm (16)
Viewed
Private Double (19)
Viewed
Private Double Ensuite (26)
Viewed
Private Twin (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
1,543 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 89 in Vancouver
1,725 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,643 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Granville Street

Neighbourhood Profile
Granville Street
Granville Street spans many, multiple city blocks and has become so fastidiously known for its nightclubs and watering holes that it's fondly nicknamed the city's 'Entertainment District.' Friday and Saturday nights are the most popular and lively, with young revelers taking to the streets in droves and keeping the party going until late. Granville Street, being mostly open to pedestrian-only traffic, has a healthy social life along its main thoroughfares, even outside of its cafes and pubs, spilling onto the sidewalks. The locals are chatty, the shops at its expansive Pacific Centre Mall are trendy, and the whole area seems to be on a sugar rush: in a good way. Exuberance and camaraderie classify this neighbourhood.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Price Range: ₹ 2,200 - ₹ 9,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Samesun Vancouver staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Samesun Vancouver staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 6 person all females room was very cramped, but the same gendered room was very good in terms of comfort level. ”
C3244VNsamanthab, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Towels provided are small, maybe you'd want to bring your own. ”
819dulceg, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Not near the stair case and on a lower floor -- there is no lift!”
Stepho777, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Fix lights by beds abd the fans. The electric plug situation needs work. ”
patrickgraydon, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not particularly loud on the front street side rooms at night. ”
nicolepW578TT, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 81* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$ 81
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates