We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Bear Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Bear Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of Black Bear Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Alberta, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location was only a couple minutes drive into Tofino, owners go extra mile to provide you with things to make you stay more enjoyable ( provided us with rubber boots (our sizes) to walk the beaches and explore. rain suits in rooms to use , offered us bikes as well. recommended several activities and hikes to do as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brentsB5877AH
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in the cedar room. Decor to a high standard with underfloor heating and a very nice bathroom. Very friendly and helpful hosts. There is a pub serving meals (Jamie's) including breakfast a short walk away and Chesterman Beach (very scenic with surfing) also an easy walk. Tofino is a short drive. There is private parking, tea and coffee making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This Guesthouse is a very nice place to stay. It is very close to the beach and it is very close to the city. We stayed in the Cedar room and it was very nice. Everything was well prepared, they even had rain boots and rain coats ready for us. Unfortunately we were not so lucky with the weather but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mohnlcaroline
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Cedar room for two nights which is in a annexe attached to the main house. It was spotless and tastefully decorated with lovely touches everywhere. The bathroom was lovely, heaps nicer than many hotels. The house is situated on an inlet and there is a small deck with comfortable chairs you can relax in and take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank haytayl
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review guys, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Warmly, Bobbi & Jay

Apperley Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

The Black Bear Guest House is a wonderful place to stay. We had the cedar room which was lovely and clean. It is a really modern space, well laid out, with the bathroom in particular really well done. Bobbi is a really great host and was especially helpful when our whale watching got cancelled. She has a beautiful space outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2wreckless
Reviewed 7 March 2016

A nice and well laid-out one-bedroom suite. We were impressed by the thoughtful details included in the well stocked kitchen, the overall cleanliness of the facility and by how helpful Bobbi and Jay were. Improvements could be made to the Wifi and the quality of the beds but otherwise, we were very satisfied and would come back again in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jasonspratt
Givrins, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We rented both the apartment and the suite located in an annex of the owner's house. Confortable and spacious, located near an ocean's arm in the middle of the forest, very quiet place and kind hosts. The sofa bed in the apartment's lounge is a bit soft otherwise nothing negative. 10 min. drive from Tofino Black Bear guesthouse is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank repachlo
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We realy enjoyed our stay in Black Bear Guesthouse. It's a beautiful suite in a peaceful enveriment. Close to Tofino town, but not on walkingdistance. Bobbi and Jay are very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the great time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaat P
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Our visit to Tofino was definitely a highlight of our trip to Vancouver Island in June of this year. We were privileged to stay at the Black Bear Guesthouse with our Hosts Bobbi & Jay. The location could not be better, situated in woods on an inlet, it felt absolutely secluded although ~100m from the main road whilst only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 181kevin
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We were privileged to stay two nights at the black bear guest house near tofino and what a place. Tucked away and over looking a fabulous inlet it was just a fantastic experience. In evening you can sit in two gorgeous chairs discretely located in forest overlooking the inlet to wildlife watch .......... Accommodation just superb our host bobbi just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.7 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
3.0 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.2 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Price Range: ₹ 6,358 - ₹ 17,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Guesthouse Tofino, Vancouver Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Bear Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide Australia
3 months ago
Oakland, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Black Bear Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't mind not having a TV and kitchen take the Cedar room - it is very cosy!!”
 of 5 bubbles mohnlcaroline, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Chedar room means low price and high quality!”
 of 5 bubbles KateTravellingInBC, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Don't go for the Cedar Suite🌝”
 of 5 bubbles Gcfurey, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The Osprey Room for the best views of the inlet and the sunrise”
  • Sunrise from Osprey Room
  • Inlet of Clayquot Sound from Osprey Room
 of 5 bubbles diktoo, 14 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Osprey Room has full width Panoramic view across the Sound.”
 of 5 bubbles RobP384, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5