We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lavender House Bed and Breakfast

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Westminster
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
 Click to rate
Paris 4th Arr
Reviewed 27 October 2015

During our three visits to New West since January 2015, we've stayed at the Lavender House. Johanna and Derek provided a beautiful room with everything we could hope for in a B&B. The room was immaculate and the bed perfectly comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and the entire experience was a cut above anything we've found in the Vancouver area...

Thank metromole
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

What a nice review to come home to after a vacation of our own. Thanks so much we really appreciate that you took the time to make comments.

Chiltern, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We stayed at Lavender House for 11 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We had the king room in the basement, our own bathroom and a shared lounge area. We were very comfortable - really like a home away from home! The breakfasts were delicious. Various dishes freshly prepared each day. Johanna and Derek were very friendly and hospitable. It...

Thank Emily B
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you ladies for both the review and for checking out Kashi's small injury while you were here. We enjoyed sharing our home with you both and wish you luck as you embark on your respective careers.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We were in New Westminster for a wedding and it was the perfect spot, right in the middle of everything. We rented the Serenity Suite for 2 nights. It was quiet, clean and we had our own bathroom. There was a couple in the other bedroom and they had to leave the suite and walk through Johanna and Derek's private...

1Thank kirkfrew
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for adding a review to TripAdvisor - it is most appreciated. Next time you come remind me that you prefer less fruit and I will adjust the menu for you.

Reviewed 19 August 2015

This was our first experience with B&B and it was very enjoyable. The old house was very interesting and renovated with a lot of thought for decor. Even though the yard was under renovation, it was safe to navigate and you could see that it was going to be quite lovely once completed. Our hostess was very friendly and knowledgeable...

Thank Susan J
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Lavender House. I just love it when a guest enjoys the breakfasts and tells me they feel at home. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The Lavender house reminded me of when I was travelling in Scotland. It is a true Bed and Breakfast with lovely garden and yard. It is a home away from home. We rented the Serenity Suite and had our own very clean bathroom with a great shower and soaps, located close to our room. There was a shared sitting room...

Thank LeahM27
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

How does one respond to such a glowing review. Thank you so much. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time both in our home and in our city. New West is quirky and fun to us so we are always happy when others enjoy it too. Hopefully we shall meet again some day. Thanks for choosing Lavender...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

The place is clean and quiet and the owner is a nice lady. But it is a basement apartment with bathroom separate than the room. There is only street parking. A bit of a shady neighbourhood. Breakfast is served after 8 am. I didn't have any since I had to leave the room earlier than 8. Overall, wouldn't really call...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Upon reading your review it is evident that you were disappointed for which we apologize. However, we are at a loss as to why you would describe a normal and safe residential neighborhood as being shady? New Westminster is primarily what is described as a bedroom community and the B & B is situated in one of the older and...

Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Reviewed 17 July 2015

My daughter and I were thrilled to find such a wonderful B&B close to our family whom we were visiting. The area was quiet with a good fruit and veggie store across the street. The B&B was beautifully appointed and comfortable. Johanna breakfasts were healthy and delicious. I would not hesitate to recommend Lavender House.

1Thank 9santorini
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and to say such nice things about us. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope that we may meet you again soon.

Reviewed 17 July 2015

A really great location, spotlessly clean, comfortable, well appointed and very close to all the transport connections as well as the most homely and welcoming hosts you could hope for. Johanna (and Deryck) went out of their way to make our seven night stay a memorable one, as soon as we met them we felt 'at home' and would have...

Thank Robert H
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was great to share our home with you both and we thought doing a trip through our part of the world on a motor bike was pretty amazing. We are happy that your stay with us was a good one for you and would love to see you again one day. Hope your mother enjoyed the souvenir! I miss...

Revelstoke, Canada
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I stayed for two days whilst I had a laser eye surgery & follow up appointment. I couldn't have found a better place. Johanna was extremely helpful & went well beyond what was expected to make me feel at home. The breakfasts were excellent! Overall I highly recommend staying here.

Thank Adam C
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I forgot to say thank you for the lovely review you left for us. This is a much delayed but heartfelt thank you. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that the eye surgery has healed well giving you full vision once more.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Did I ever get lucky! I found this lovely B&B on the Internet, right in New Westminster about a 20 minute walk from the United Church where my Aunt's Memorial Service was to be held. Without my own transportation, I found the connections for public transportation from the Airport or the Tsawassen ferry to be reliable, excellent, and frequent. Our...

Thank Heloise68
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this flattering review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased that you liked us and that you may be coming back. It is always great to get a return guest and many become good friends. We look forward to your return.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (11)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Dining (1)
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 2 in New Westminster
461 reviews
The Met Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Westminster
174 reviews
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
358 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your home-away-from-home is situated on a quiet street within walking distance to all amenities. Your heritage style home is almost 100 years old and has been extensively renovated, but is still a work in progress. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lavender House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 816 Tenth St, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 4A1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Price Range: ₹ 3,513 - ₹ 4,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lavender House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 2 rooms on the lower floor would be ideal for 2 couples or a family requiring 2 bedrooms. Together, they offer a private apartment.”
metromole, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Serenity Suite..have own bathroom.”
kirkfrew, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Serenity room was lovely”
LeahM27, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had a downstairs room which also included a large kitchen and leisure area”
roberthB6468UG, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Just book it, you won't be sorry!”
Heloise68, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5