We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colonial Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Colonial Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colonial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here in May, 2012 for just one night. I chose it because of the price, and it was certainly "adequate." It was clean, though dated, and the managers were pleasant. There is nothing whatsoever special about the motel; it reminds me of a small town motel back in the 70s or 80s. No breakfast was included, and I suspect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TourProDon
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Colonial for four nights as we considered moving to the lovely city of Nanaimo. Hesitant at first, as its the tiniest motel we'd ever encountered, we were immediately pleased. As others have written, our room was spotlessly clean and the pleasant owners made us feel welcome. They strike the right balance between ensuring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephanieClark
London, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The owners of this small motel were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rate was most reasonable and the room was spotlessly clean. It's well equipped with small frig. and microwave, free high-speed wireless internet, TV, and other amenities. The back rooms on the upper floor face a small garden and trees, and are quieter. I'm a light sleeper and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
fort mcmurray
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here on a business trip. The rooms were clean, but the real attraction was the level of service. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Friendly smiles, attention to detail, simply better than most. The building is smaller than nearby motels, but do not let that stop you from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garywFortMcmurray
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had a nice stay at the Colonial the rate was low, service friendly, beds comfy. All amenities were provided and the lady at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. The water pressure in the shower could be better but that is hardly anything to complain about. Its a lovely 20 minute stroll down the sea wall to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CandyGnomad
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 25 February 2011

If you need a 50 (52) dollar room that is actually a 50 dollar room this is your place. I went to 3 other hotels in the area that advertised this price, once I got in, they said it was a seniors rate. The staff has been extremely courteous, the place is always clean, its cheap. Its a busy street,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tsferg
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A few friends and I had just finished the West Coast Trail and had made our way to Nanaimo for our flight back to Calgary. We had a couple of days in Nanaimo and had booked this place online. BAD IDEA! This place was a dump, in a very sketchy area of town AND had the worst customer service ever....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hiker019
jchiNanaimo, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your common. Manager can't recall your case. Please summit your proof of stay. If you did find we miss some spot in our room. Please accept our apology. I understand your anger, you should ask for refund. Thanks.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I stayed there in route to Tofino we got a room at upper level. Nothing fancy about it but if you are booking this low budget motel you don’t expect too much either. The room was clean but this little motel is situated right trough main Street so is quite noisy. Probably it is in very bad area too otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gigiduru
Quesnel, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2010

great service and unbeatable prices! we will only be staying here in the future!!! clean and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldoherty3
San Dimas, Ca
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This is a nice, small motel on the main road through Nanaimo. Not a lot of units, but clean and neat. The proprietors are friendly and the rates are good. The rooms have internet reception, good lighting and cable television. The unit we stayed in had a compact kitchenette with small refrigerator/freezer. We would stay there again when in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SDMRT

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.9 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,181 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
282 reviews
3.9 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our friendly, comfortable and affordable motel is located in a walking distance from Terminal Park Shopping Plaza and the Sea walk trail; and only few minutes' drive from Downtown Nanaimo and the Nanaimo Golf Club. We have been fully upgraded in 2005. High quality Sealy Posturpedic king and queen sized beds in all rooms. Acrylic one piece Tub/Shower Surrounds. All rooms come with fridges, microwaves, hairdryer and kettles. Non-smoking property. Cable TV with full cable. Wireless telephones with voicemail. Free high-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 950 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range: ₹ 3,960 - ₹ 4,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Colonial Hotel Nanaimo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the back of the motel, away from the busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles pecal, 28 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Ground floor (obviously) if you want the deck and garden.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewmark333, 13 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the west side of the motel away from the road. At least one of the upstairs rooms in the locked corridor has a strong mold smell.”
 of 5 bubbles 753MarkL753, 30 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Upstairs rooom would be more insulated from road noise than downstairs rooms. Downstairs rooms have small courtyard outside in the garden - would be nice for a drink”
 of 5 bubbles MicknOlga, 24 May 2012 | Read review
“Rooms on the back are probably the quietest, although that part of town seemed pretty quiet late at night and early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles jcboss, 21 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay