We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Recreation Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Recreation Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Recreation Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2015

This is an older hotel but it's clean and the price is great. The rooms are an average size but comfortable. Walls are thin however so you can hear the neighbours. It's also in a very convenient location; close to Harvey Avenue, the mall and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sue A
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this honest feedback in regards to your experiences with us. We will be the first to admit that we are an older property. We are not the fanciest or the most updated of hotels to choose from in Kelowna. But our top priorities are always our guests. From our friendly staff who always offer top...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

The only problem is parking. Parking stalls aren't marked with room numbers so guests parking anywhere they find empty. Personnel is very friendly it is clean and rooms are kept in good condition, housekeeping is fair and honest.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ORHANNM
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of your experiences with us. We use these reviews to help us identify areas where we have room for improvement, and perhaps our parking lot is one of them. We have been doing a number of upgrades to the hotel recently. I do hope that you will return to stay with us again...

Kaslo, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Stayed here in June and was very satisfied, extremely helpful Reception clerk, comfortable, very clean well appointed room and...quiet even though it is so close to the Highway and thus easy to access. The garden area with BBQ's is a extra plus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 120Ani
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind comments in regards to your stay with us. We make every effort to ensure our guests are comfortable during their stay and thus can truly enjoy their time in Kelowna. I am so glad that our staff were able to accommodate you and that we were able to meet our high standards...

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Booked a room with a double and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was the tiniest thing I've ever seen. Maybe 30" wide mattress? For 2+2 kids it wasn't enough. The room was old but clean enough. The pool was small. All in all the worst stay at a motel for our family in 10 yrs. At around $150 for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chitudaya
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences with us. I also want to assure you that the issues you encountered are considered to be far below acceptable. I offer you my sincerest apologies for the service you received and I want you to know that Rose is no longer a part...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

The Hotel was amazing for my family of 6 there was enough beds and the Internet was fantastic the service is great and the Free breakfast just makes it even better, only one problem is the parking could be a bit more organized. Other than that my expericene was cheap and worth every second!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yassmina123
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate you and your family. Please think of us again if you come back to Kelowna and come experience some of the exciting changes and upgrades we are implementing.

Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Booked a room with a double and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was the tiniest thing I've ever seen. Maybe 30" wide mattress? For 2+2 kids it wasn't enough. All the cots were rented so one of us slept on the floor. The room was old but clean enough. The pool was small and full of aggressive pre-teens from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianBCX
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay. I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your time with us. We unfortunately do not reserve the pool for certain people, and allow all our guests to use it so it can certainly get busy sometimes, especially when we have teams in house...

Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spend 3 nights there.Very clean at reasonable rate hotel with full kitchen.Barbeques outside to guests.Quiet place with friendly stuff.Location in central Kelowna with restaurants and shopping nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waldemar W
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will think of us again the next time you travel to Kelowna. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel overall. Beautiful grounds and very quiet. The breakfast was very good although the breakfast room is too small. Rosanna made our day start with a big smile and was so accommodating. The other breakfast server was the opposite. The beds are a bit uncomfortable (hard) but very clean. We had to ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geordiegirlinda
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words in regards to your experiences with us. I am so glad that you made use of and enjoyed the services and amenities we offer here and that Rosanna was able to help make sure your day started out right. I will make sure she sees your comments, and I am sure you...

St. Albert
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Recreation Inn & Suites the week of August 10th. We had no problems or complaints. The room was clean, and the grounds are well kept. This is an older motel, so you have to expect some things that need upgraded. We love the full kitchen! Our room was very quiet and every time we went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kt773
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind and honest review! I am so pleased that as a repeat guest we were able to accommodate your needs and help make your visit to Kelowna enjoyable and relaxing. Customer service is of utmost importance to us, but it is guests like you who really make what we do worth it. Again,...

Nelson, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I got charged $150.00 for smoking in the room when I did NOT. Management refused to discuss the matter with me as I had signed a form at check in that stated I would be charged if I smoked in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathy P
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the reviews we get and we use them to identify areas where we can improve. We are now under new management, and as such have made some changes to policy and also have made a commitment to providing our guests with outstanding service. I am very sorry for the experience you had...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
284 reviews
Howard Johnson Kelowna
#30 of 34 in Kelowna
314 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#13 of 34 in Kelowna
155 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbeque and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Centre. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Price Range: ₹ 3,608 - ₹ 11,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Recreation Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Recreation Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor suite is a good choice”
 of 5 bubbles Taulmaril1, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for suites. The double queensize bedrooms are to small”
 of 5 bubbles dfredrik, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs in the back we can leave the car right in front of the room what is quite good to unload and load the car”
 of 5 bubbles Joaquim007, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if looking for a budget hotel this one is good but not upscale by any means.”
 of 5 bubbles 3lorrainem, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Main floor has parking infront”
 of 5 bubbles 447evelynn, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5