We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel

Save
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible51%
5 Sep 2017
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
18 Aug 2017
“Racist host”
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
5
11
3
4
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
5
11
3
4
20
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were desperate and booked a room here even after the horrible reviews and we honestly wish we had just brought a tent. I usually don't write many reviews and the ones I do are usually positive but people need to understand how bad of...More

2  Thank Ksymi
Reviewed 19 August 2017

I was about to write a long review but I see the host has already received many negative reviews so I'll keep it short and sweet. The host is racist. Upon check in I was told all British people are aggressive and cause trouble and...More

2  Thank Rishi D
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This is not a hostel. It's a house with a few spare bedrooms that the extremely rude owner makes you feel like she's doing you a favour by letting you stay in. The owner, Maggie, overbooked on the night of our stay and the four...More

4  Thank ElaineCarroll
Response from Maggie W, front desk at Kelowna Okanagan Lake HostelResponded 13 June 2017

Sorry about this, because your review the owner decide no breakfast any more, we did the best we did provide fruits and lots things, that other hostel not provide at all, but people like you said nothing about, only bad review, therefore this year no...More

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This is a HOSTEL and not a hotel. At $89 it's grossly overpriced. We ended up paying and extra $10 for a queen bed. $99 is an absolutely ridiculous price for this place. Highly recommend paying a few extra bucks for a real hotel. No...More

1  Thank jvangurp
Response from Maggie W, Manager at Kelowna Okanagan Lake HostelResponded 13 June 2017

A hostel for the price is very low already, during the summer , the rate can go to 169/night depend on which room that you choice, if no budget please only book dorm for your budget room, private room are much higher, some with condition...More

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Currently staying at the hostel while looking for an apartment. Got a standard private room at very reasonable rate. It is clean and functional. Location is great and people friendly. Keep in mind this is a hostel, not a hotel, but I would recommend trying...More

Thank Mitch G
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$ 56 - US$ 124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$ 56 - US$ 124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Avoid this place"
Read review
"My standard private room has a desk and TV great value."
Read review
"Do not book at this place at all!"
Read review
"May want to ask for a private room. Or simply go somewhere else"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing