We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

878 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 826: English reviews
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Not bad hotel but unfortunately we had very small room without even a chair in it. Bad news is that hotel is in the town of Kamloops and that is truly a rather horrid little town. The hotel is conveniently down town for places to eat but the town appears full of vagrants!! Not the hotels fault but leave nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uel T
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest - Uel T Thank you so much for choosing The Plaza Hotel and for taking the time to review us. We are a heritage hotel and the beauty of it is our rooms are not "cookie cutter" rooms... We have a variety of rooms configuration and yes we do have small rooms but we offer them at...

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed only one night in Kamloops. The room was clean and the bathroom was good. We had so to say no view at all from our room but this was no problem as we stayed only one night. The room rate included breakfast which was really good. The hotel was quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcEKM
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your review our hotel. As an independently owned and operated hotel, guest reviews are an important way that travellers learn about us and we're grateful to everyone who takes the time to review our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other comments about your stay. Thank-you for choosing The Plaza...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Yes I know the rooms were a little on the small side but they were charmingly furnished and pleasant. We were barracked here from the Rocky Mountaineer and were very happy. It is a heritage hotel and this was how the other half lived 100 years or so ago. We liked it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PW03
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are proud to keep a piece of Kamloops' history alive and well in our heritage hotel and we're pleased that you enjoyed staying with us Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any other comments about your stay. We hope that you enjoyed your the rest...

Busselton, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were traveling as 2 couples with heaps of luggage which ended up being very difficult for us as the hotel had only one elevator, which was incredibly small and apparently the slowest elevator in Kamloops. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, good restaurant, though the buffet breakfast was just average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your review of our hotel. We are a heritage property and one of things which comes with our history is the oldest elevator in Kamloops. While we work with our guests to make things as easy as possible, we always appreciate their patience! I invite you to contact me directly if you have any other comments...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Aging hotel, centrally located on the main street in Kamloops. Stairs and lots of winding corridors lead to an old and cramped room, but amazingly comfortable bed. Fortunately we packed an overnight bag for here, as there was nowhere to put suitcases. A bonus was a kettle in the room as well as a coffee maker

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzy122015
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are an independently owned and operated hotel and our priority is to ensure that our guests enjoy a comfortable and restful night's sleep every time they stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other comments about your stay. Thank-you for making...

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We travelled from Calgary AB and stayed in the heritage room which was small and usually only used for one person but we knew the size in advance and it was all we need for our one night stayed and we loved it! The staff was very helpful and pleasant and the steakhouse which we didn't know was there til...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your review and kind words about our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to visit Fireside Steakhouse, which truly does offer the best steaks in the city. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other comments about your stay....

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This hotel impressed me with its friendly staff, clean and well kept rooms and delicious continental breakfast. I appreciated that it was pet friendly and was a great option for us with the hard wood floors as we brought our dog with us. The location is fantastic, downtown Kamloops!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elise_dreef
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are an independently owned and operated hotel and we're very proud to keep a part of Kamloops' history alive in our heritage hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any other comments about your stay. Thank...

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My favorite hotel (so far) in Canada, the only thing that it didn't have was a safe (but I'll forgive them for that). We were traveling as a group and they put on a first rate buffet, in the evening. There is a restaurant and a liquor store attached to the building AND you can make free international calls from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your kind review of our hotel. Our team works tirelessly to ensure that that every stay with us is memorable and reviews like yours are a great reward for all their efforts. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any other comments about your stay. Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel. Warm...

Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Very nicely renovated hotel in downtown area. Hotel charges to park in public parking area. Its a downtown location so beware a sprinkling of undesirable abusive locals near the adjacent liquor store. We may have been unlucky but it was an unsettling start to our first visit here. However it is a lovely hotel; a quiet well equipped room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des M
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are an independently owned and operated hotel and our team takes pride in making sure that every stay is memorable. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The adjacent parking for our hotel isn't actually a public lot, it's managed by a private company and we...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2016

The room itself was lovely -- old hardwood floors and a nice view. Very comfortable king-sized bed. The complimentary breakfast was a bit dicey. I'm okay with powdered eggs and toast in a free breakfast, but we found that the bread for the toasters was mouldy, which wasn't cool. Apparently the Plaza used to do a made-to-order style meal for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quentin M
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest - Quentin M Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the mouldy bread; it is not cool at all... We used to have an a la carte breakfast menu (made-to-order) but when we have to feed 90-110 people in 40-45 minutes, it is rather difficult...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: ₹ 5,008 - ₹ 5,753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms are exactly as pictured. Go for the suite if your budget allows.”
 of 5 bubbles Forknknife, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“it has been updated”
 of 5 bubbles Roadrunner365, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check room out before you move in”
  • Nice bedding
  • Tub with shower and the loo
  • Clean bathroom
  • TV & work desk
 of 5 bubbles L&M_from_Oz, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 403 is a family suite with an additional room...”
 of 5 bubbles kimmelfox, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Confirm that the air conditioning is in working order. ”
 of 5 bubbles X9660LRdennisg, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay