We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Expedia.comUS$ 102*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 648: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This hotel gets 5 stars for the staff and location, and 3 stars for the building itself and the food. First, the good: excellent customer service - friendly, efficient and hard-working. Everything my group needed was provided quickly, without fuss, and with great personal attention. Overall, the staff bent over backwards to take care of our needs and make our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gonin60seconds
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear gonin60seconds, thank you for your detailed comments about your time with us. Sure appreciate hearing that you give our staff 5 stars! They truly care about our guests and I am so happy that it shows. It sounds like you may have stayed in one of our Laura Ashley rooms. We have only a handful of these as all...

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from a road trip. Such a cute little hotel! The service was great and we loved Payton the dog and his owner at the front desk! No complaints, room was clean and very homey, service was awesome. Would definetly recommend it if you are traveling through Kamloops!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LISA G
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear LISA G, thank you so much for the 5 out of 5 review! Debra, my Daughter, and Peyton will love hearing that you mentioned them in your review. Well Debra anyway. She will pass on to Peyton. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again! Appreciate you mentioning the “service was awesome”. Thanks David

blaine,wa
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We arrived at the South Thompson Inn and Conference Center mid-afternoon on a Sunday on the way to Lake Louise, BC. It's a "themed" hotel offering a Southern Kentucky style property. The room was clean and simple and not expensive. The location along the river was quiet and enjoyable. The thing that made this a great "stop-over" place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myopinionBlaine_wa
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear myopionBlaine_wa, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us on the way to Lake Louise. Wow how great is that when our team understands how to look after our guests. As you saw first hand they have total authority to look after you. I am also happy that our staff took such good care of...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stopped here en route from Vancouver to Jasper and it suited us just fine. It was easy to find and situated by the river with the opportunity to walk around the grounds. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal. I guess you could drive into Kamloops in 20 minutes or so but we chose not to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bobsk1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Bobsk1, I am very happy that you stopped on your travels to spend a night with us. Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor for other potential guest to read. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. David

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Attended a family wedding at South Thompson Inn over the past weekend. Accordingly experienced the facility, rooms, banquet services and wedding services. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although the building is not the most sound proof. There is an additional building available for rent (the manor), and the wedding party rented that. It was large and spacious and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LHubich
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear LHubich, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, our team really appreciates your kind words. Especially the mention of the excellent food and service. The manor house does work well for weddings, golf groups, family reunions, etc. Hope you will return for another visit. Thank you again! David

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed here one night only on a recent road trip to the west coast. Very attractive property overlooking the river, with a small restaurant of perhaps 10? tables. As it is some distance from town and we got in late we chose to dine in; having made reservations for dinner, it was a cute touch that the menu header...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tansay
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Tansay, I appreciate your very detailed review about your stay with us. Thank you for all of your positive comments. I am sorry about the dogs outside of your room. We do ask our guests to keep their dogs leashed while outside their rooms and this guest did not follow that rule so again I apologize for that. If...

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I am randomly traveling around Canada for my vacation. Stopped here for the night and I am very impressed with the staff, accomodations and food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds must have had new matresses as I get an excellent sleep that night. The food (I had the baby back ribs)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, thank you so very much for your very complimentary review! I am so happy you chose us for an overnight stay. I am also very happy you had a good nights sleep. We hear this a lot. Things like "best sleep ever": I think this goes along with peaceful and relaxing which we also hear a lot....

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

The Inn itself is beautiful, it is a shame they don't offer horse riding there anymore (insurance issues apparently). The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was pretty good for dinner, breakfast was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C, thank you for the mention of our beautiful Inn and friendly and helpful staff. We all appreciate hearing those words. We had to stop for the reason you mentioned. The insurance premiums started getting larger than the total equestrian revenue. Hope you will return one day. David

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The rooms are clean and attractive, the staff is friendly and helpful, the food is wonderful and the location is lovely. One could travel with horses, since an equestrian center is onsite. Painted turtles might even be seen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank latigo5406
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Beautiful old tranquil Inn with perfectly suited decor. Welcoming and charming. Our mountain view was beautiful. Yes it is a way outside Kamloops but it's worth it and so close to Highway 1. Food was very reasonable and 24 hour tea and coffee very welcome. We had a great stay and wish we had more time there. Would recommend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happytrippers20
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear happytrippers20, thank you very much for choosing STIGR and for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. I love the appreciation of our décor. We are obviously not a typical downtown corporate hotel but we do offer the expected amenities. The biggest compliment is your wish you had more time here. Thank you. We look forward to to welcoming you...

717 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
914 reviews
Hotel 540
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: ₹ 6,270 - ₹ 11,959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“plan to relax.”
Freemikejs, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the train can be quite loud on the river side of the building. The mountain side is shadier and, apparently, quieter.”
lovesirenis, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Both Mountain view or River view rooms are well appointed and cozy.”
theshelleyhepburn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
jimblaine53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
Tansay, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 102* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$ 115
Booking.comUS$ 101
PricelineUS$ 101
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates