We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 638: English reviews
Start your review of South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
 Click to rate
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

looking forward to taking another group to this place. i consider this stay as one of the highlights of our tour - the staff, rooms and service have always been great..that's why I keep bringing my groups back here time and again- looking forward to staying again on 7 May 2017 - small group this time but a fun group

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUE2281
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to this Inn several times over the past few years. We have had several work events as well as social events. The staff are great and the food is wonderful. Highly recommend the s'mores by the campfire!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer A, I love that you have come to stay with us several times for work events as well as social events. Thank you! We sure appreciate you sharing your comments with TripAdvisor readers so thank you for that as well! Karen, our Executive chef, will love your food comment. Make sure you ask for me so I can...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We visited altogether 3 nights at the Thompson Inn and enjoyed! The rooms are super clean, fresh and the beds comfy. I really enjoyed the rustic wooden floor as the wall-to-wall carpets make me sneeze.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlanttu
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear jlantuu, thank you for staying with us for 3 nights. I appreciate your super clean comment and your fresh and comfy beds comment, both are very important to our guests comfort. If you choose to come and stay with us again please ask for a room on the main floor as they all have hardwood. Our upstairs rooms are...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was nice and clean they brought food from the bar right to our room :) very nice of them. They also put on a beautiful wedding. I think I would be better in the summer. So we could explore the property more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaedan J
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Jaedan J, I love you sharing that you found our property nice and clean. We hear this a lot ands never tire of hearing it. Leah our Executive Housekeeper and her team will be so happy to hear you say that! We would love to welcome you back in the summer to enjoy all that we offer in the...

Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I stayed here the night of Feb 13, 2017 with my daughters 15 and 13. We were passing through Kamloops on the way to Sun Peaks. I'd driven by this inn dozens of times and often thought it looked like a great place to stay and finally had the opportunity. We were not disappointed. They called and offered to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Tony P, Wow! Thank you so much for your very complimentary comments about your time with us. I enjoyed reading your review very much as will our team! We have a great team who understand why you are here and you have lots of choices of where to stay. I want you to know how much we all appreciate...

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely Valentines night in the king romance mountain view room. The staff were so lovely and the room was amazing. Had a lovely dinner with a menu that had a note on it saying " welcome Deb and Del to a great dining experience " it was such a lovely touch!! I would recommend this inn for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Deb P, thank you for choosing STIGR for a romantic getaway on Valentines Day! Thank you as well for saying such nice things and for recommending us to other TripAdvisor readers. We hear a ton of compliments about our team and never tire of it. Our team read all comments and love when they are mentioned. Hope you will...

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We were here two years ago amd liked it enough to make a special trip back. Nice rooms, front desk staff is still fantastic- friendly and helpful. Restaurant has gone from great to poor service and food. What a disappointment- we won't be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elchaptastico
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear elchaptastico, What a disappointment. Everything was great except you felt you had a bad restaurant experience and you give us 2 circles out of 5 and a negative review. We do appreciate you coming back to stay with us for a 2nd visit and for your comments about our nice rooms and fantastic- friendly and helpful staff. Your comments...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight as we were passing through Kamloops. The room was very clean with a spectacular view. The beds were nicely made up with duvet inside 2 clean sheets (I am always on edge with dirty bedspreads in hotels). All of the staff were smiling and helpful and just plain nice. Don't pass it by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babyelephant00
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear babyelephant00, thank you so much for stopping to stay with us while you were passing through Kamloops. I feel the same as you when staying in hotels as I like to know that the bedding is fresh. Thank you for mentioning that. My wife and I actually place all suspect bedspreads on the floor before we go to bed....

Edmonton
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We booked this room on the way to Kamloops looking for a pet friendly place to stay on our way through town. The reviews we read about the South Thompson were extremely accurate. We were greeted by a very warm and caring staff member (I wish I had gotten his name). Our room was fantastic and our dinner was one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ModelT7
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear ModelT7, thank you so very much for staying with us and for your really lovely comments. It really warms my heart when our guests say such nice things about our property and our team. We truly care about our 4 legged guests and of course the people they bring. I am sure happy that it shows. Karen, our executive...

Banff National Park, Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This is my second trip staying here and what were perfect standards before, have improved further. Breakfast is new and improved and hallways have been renovated. This is the best place I've ever stayed in. If you want a spotlessly clean, attractive location where they pay attention to service, a good night sleep and all for a good price, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zzzzzz95
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear zzzzzz95, WOW! I thoroughly enjoyed reading every word of your review! Thank you for coming back and staying with us again and of course thank you so much for all of your wonderful compliments. Debra, my Daughter, will be so happy to read your comments about her as will Rohan, Amanda and Leah! I also appreciate your comments about...

724 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
901 reviews
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: ₹ 4,755 - ₹ 12,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both Mountain view or River view rooms are well appointed and cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles theshelleyhepburn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5