We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 723: English reviews
Puyallup, Washington
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on a vacation and found it to be a typical hotel that is nice but a bit dated. I think the parking should be included for the price they charge. The staff was very nice. Our room looked out on the roof and air conditioner units so wasn't quite a view room but it was only on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Scott T, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Noble Pig is a great spot and we love to send our guest there. If you do stay with us again we do have rooms that included parking and breakfast. Thank you again for all your feedback. Thanks Jocelyn

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This is just an ok hotel. Not worth 157/night at all. I have stayed in far better hotels in canada. Yes the staff are friendly but the hotel as a whole is dated. The so called free breakfast included is so sad. It's horrible and not worth the money. Would not be returning for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aghogho123
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear, aghogho123, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older property but we have a very well maintain building. I am surprised that you did not enjoy our breakfast as we have great reviews on this area. Our fresh waffles,...

calgary
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We stayed there on Jul 2, 2016. We got a very reasonable weekend rate. Very good location in Kamloops downtown. Street parking is free during the weekend. Actually, we parked right in front of the hotel. The free breakfast was good quality and was included. Free wifi as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockyviewmd
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Rockyviewmd. Thank you for all your great feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast, and fee WIFI. We hope that you had a great journey to your next destination. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager

Essex
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here overnight as part of the Rocky Mountaineer tour. Good quality room with all amenites. Has swimming pool but we didnt use it. Good Wifi. Would recommend hotel. Didn't use restaurant so can't comment. Rooms clean and spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EssexAviator
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Room was well appointed with fridge with fresh milk for tea and coffee , Also had a selection of pillows on offer . Very clean , thanks Cara . Highly recommend. Very well located to city . Offered 10%'discount for restaurant close by . Can also walk to the river .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian D
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ian D, Thank you for staying with the Thompson Hotel, we appreciate all you feedback. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the fresh milk and cream in your room. I will pass on you comments to the team and to Cara. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Rocky Mountaineer adventure. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We booked this hotel at last minute as part of a road trip, and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were very welcoming and knowledgeable. There is ample parking round the back of the hotel, which was free for us, but depends on what sort of room you book. We had a room on the third floor, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uktechwizard
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear uktechwizard, Thank you for reviewing The Thompson Hotel. I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and our team members friendly. We try hard to make every guest feel at home every day. Thank you for your feedback on the breakfast room we will look into the shortage of cutlery, this should not happen. We will make sure...

Reviewed 10 July 2016

Stayed at the Thompson as part of the Rocky Mountaineer tour. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Free wifi. Lots of very close reasonable restaurants. Staff friendly and welcoming. Free tea and coffee in lobby for the early morning train departure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MRVAust
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear MRVAust, Thank you for all your great feedback from your recent trip to the Thompson Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with our team. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Rocky Mountain Adventure. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager

Cornwall
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed for one night as part of our trip on the Rocky Mountaineer and given a very good room. The staff had left an anniversery card for us which was a nice touch. It was an enjoyable stay if very short but we would stay here again if ever in Kamloops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richcoll54
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Richcoll54, Many thanks for sharing such great feedback on Trip Advisor! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hospitality & Service. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Rocky Mountaineer adventure. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager

Vernon
Reviewed 8 July 2016

same as the last time I was here, good breakfast, clean room, easy to get to the hotel, love the free parking. Love the fresh coffee and news papers in the lobby, for people who swim etc, great front desk people and others for work in all the hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elva912016
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Elva912016, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay again at the Thompson Hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The hotel is excellent and clean. Breakfast was included, which was nice. The room that I stayed in was spacious and good, and there were bathrobes and a pool in the hotel. all in all a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oline O
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear OlineO, Thank you for all your feedback from your recent stay with the Thompson Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast and all of the Hotel amenities. We hope that you will be back to see us again. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
900 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. Two on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse &Vittorio's Downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: ₹ 5,434 - ₹ 9,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms fronting Victoria street would be better if you are looking for a quieter time.”
 of 5 bubbles Rodders104, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room far away from ventilators !”
 of 5 bubbles ton39, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms have the view of far mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles caiom835, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher level with mountain views would be my pick.”
  • Robes, iron, ironing board.
  • Two large comfy beds with side tables and lamps.
  • Good selection of toiletries with writing large enough to read in the shower.
  • Chair and coffee table. Bar fridge with crisper and ice box
  • View towards the mountains.
 of 5 bubbles Sally-1309, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Have the breakfast. It is great”
 of 5 bubbles ELLRAY, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5