We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tonquin Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tonquin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

946 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tonquin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 848: English reviews
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Our room was nice enough, clean, and had a small fridge. The bathroom was tiny but there was plenty of hot water. The rooms could use an update. The staff was not very friendly. I suggest breakfast at the Bright Spot, instead of the hotel buffet. You buy a $12 price voucher at the front desk, but it was actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Please accept our apologies for the experience you had in the restaurant. Please be assured that this has been brought to the attention of the Restaurant Manager. We hope that we can host you again in the near future on your next visit to Jasper.

Vankleek Hill, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We hit the jackpot here! The multi-levelled motel was interestingly laid out and our room had it's own roof top patio, with table and chairs! It was too bad that we were only here for one night only! The restaurant was renown for it's Prime Rib but since we are not keen Beef eaters we opted to go somewhere else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois T
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your experience of your time with us and were glad to read that you were able to enjoy one of our third floor rooms with a private balcony. Thank you for choosing the Tonquin Inn while visiting Jasper and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Over priced, out dated rooms, paper thin walls. When your neighbor turns his TV on, it's like it's in your room. Even when people are talking, you can hear everything crystal clear! Absolutely no sound barrier. It's a joke.Pool need lots of work. Can not recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dayne3
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We apologize for falling short of your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the management team and will be taken into consideration as we plan for future improvements of the hotel.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just a room. Not enough pillows, coffee, or towels. Pool area decent. Restaurant has great service and patio. Food average, but good service. Nice views. Close to shopping. Outdoor Whirlpool are clean and lots of clean towels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 328Laurel
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We were glad to read that you enjoyed our location, whirlpool and the nice views. However, we were disappointed to read that your room was not fully equipped. Your comments have been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper as this is not the standard we expect for our...

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Room is dated and has seen better days. Flooring in entryway and bathroom needs repairing. Beds are near there death as well. Would not recommend this place . Town is old but clean. Front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful . We definitely won't be back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dman12152012
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful during your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn and we appreciate your comments regarding areas in need of improvement. Renovations and upgrades of the hotel are ongoing. We have passed on your comments to the appropriate departments for their review to ensure that issues such as...

Baldersheim, France
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I was staying in this hotel with my wife and 2 daughters for 5 nights in July. We were very disappointed by the "junior suite" quality in general. The parent king bed was large and comfortable but the 2nd bed for my daughters was only a very old sofa and very uncomfortable. The Bathroom of 4 sqm was really too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llobzh
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your thorough review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, our location and our friendly, helpful staff. We were rather disappointed that you did not enjoy your "junior suite" as we usually receive very positive comments from our guests about this room type. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we...

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We are not picky or difficult to please, but this place truly misled us. There was not enough parking for every room (we had to park on the road) - The room was small with a tiny bathroom - WAY overpriced for what we received. The only compliment I can offer is the breakfast (buffet) was good and the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Although we are pleased to hear that your enjoyed the restaurant and its buffet breakfast, we wish to offer our apologies for falling short of providing you with a totally enjoyable experience. As we are located in a National Park, we are limited, as all hotels in Jasper, to space allocated for parking. We appreciate...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I had a basic room with a queen bed. The hotel is right at the beginning of the town (we missed it when we first drove in), and it's only about a 10 min walk to the shops & restaurants. The bed was comfy, there was a good sized flat screen TV, mini fridge, AC, coffee maker, kettle, bathroom, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suelew22
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and our amenities during your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy breakfast and have forwarded your comments to the Manager of the Prime Rib Village. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation to the Canadian Rockies.

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just a very very basic motel. Big and crowd. Very small rooms. The quality / price ratio is really bad. Personal at reception Desk is correct. No breakfast. Far from downtime to go walking. There are many different options In Jasper, i'll try something different for sure next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anagbl
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. I am glad to hear that the front desk was helpful during your stay. Although we are a 10 minute walk to the downtown, we do offer complimentary taxi service to the downtown upon request. We do offer breakfast from 7am to 10am at the Prime...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2014

With Jasper being a popular destination in summer, the majority of lakeside lodges and chalets get booked out early. The Tonquin was not my first choice but with all lodges being booked out, I reserved a junior suite which I was pleasantly surprised with. The room is split level with the bed on the higher level and living area (couch,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerome C
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Tonquin Inn and that you were pleasantly surprises.. It is our top priority to provide our guests with a positive experience while visiting us and we thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you back at the...

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (5)
Viewed
Kitchen Two Twins One Queen (51)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite with Dry Sauna (72)
Viewed
Two Queen (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.5 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
317 reviews
0.2 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
830 reviews
2.0 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 16 in Jasper
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
1,384 reviews
0.3 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range: ₹ 5,673 - ₹ 13,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tonquin Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Tonquin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See above.”
 of 5 bubbles 799tn, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a mountain view on an upper floor”
  • Family Kitchenette - Entry, TV stand & Table for 4
  • View outside Room entry
  • Family Kitchenette - Queen bed in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Loveseat & Queen bed by entry
  • Family Kitchenette - desk & dresser in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Full sized fridge and microwave
  • View from reception
  • Family Kitchenette - Kitchen stove sink coffee maker (toaster in cupboard)
 of 5 bubbles mgI6736PC, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Parking is terrible arriving early may help if you a lot of gear with you”
 of 5 bubbles Zaytajett, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the top floor may be quieter, as the hotel is close to the road”
 of 5 bubbles waisikmau, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms look over car park - check when booking if you can have room with mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles ctimes2, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5