We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glacier View Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glacier View Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glacier View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Manitou
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The hotel is really nice food is over priced but was delicious. The staff were always friendly and willing to help. The tours are great we had a vip pass with our reservation so we never waited in line. The building is very congested and the hotel should use a separate entrance for their guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jer W
Calgary
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Loved being able to lie in bed and admire the glacier view. The proximity allowed us to do the hike to the toe in the evening. Slept very well and were able to roll right out of bed and onto the tour bus the next morning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcarko
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Hi There jcarko, We want to send our thanks to you for sharing your lovely review on your stay with us at the Glacier View Inn. I loved the fact you had such a amazing view from you room to wake up to! It was great to read you slept so well in our clean and comfortable rooms too. Thanks...

Markhan
Reviewed 19 July 2016

All the staff were very friendly, and they have wifi all over the inn (this is important since you won't get any reception here). They don't have ATM, so make sure you bring enough cash if you need too. There is no local grocery store close by, so be prepared. Food in the cafe is a bit pricey but it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianasJ3793OV
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear dianasJ3793OV, Thank you for your review of the Glacier View inn. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was lovely to see our staff gave you such friendly service. We thank you again for your review and look forward to hosting you and your family in the 2017 year. All the best, Vanessa...

SEATTLE
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Does not approach ammenities expected when paying close to $350/night for a hotel. No bellhop - Hotel parking was 200 yards away from door - only tourist buses were permitted to drive to pickup/drop off luggage except for after 8PM and before 7AM. No cooling temperature control - room overly hot single 2-foot square window that was open upon arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Anonymous A, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Glacier View Inn. We do provide guests bell service when requested at the Glacier View Inn. This is offered by our team through out the day as well as parking to unload in the back entrance if needed. I am sorry that this was not offer...

1693 Kn Wervershoof
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I enjoyed my stay at the Glacier View Inn. The hotel is settled at a toerist hotspot. The rooms have a spectaculair view on the glacier, which you probalby already expected by the name of the hotel. The staff is very friendly. Because it is one of the view accommodation in the area the prices are quite high.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U1579HTsandrar
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Good day U1579HTsandrar, We thank you very much for the lovely review of the Glacier View Inn. I loved hearing that you had a such friendly service from our staff! The views are on of the best features here and I am glad you were able to take advantage of this. We do hope to see you again in the...

Canmore
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Hotel is stituated in one of the most beautiful places in the world but stay was spoiled by poor food in restaurant , old dated decore and bathrooms . Accomodation was budget style but I paid non budget price of $289 plus raxes . Overall poor value for money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gert D
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gert D, Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn. We take in all feedback from our guests as a way to see how we can improve our property. All the items you have mention we will look at to see what ways we can improve and bring a better value to all our Glacier View Inn...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I'm not sure whether I'm being a little too picky in Canada or Alberta for that matter but the front desk clerk had no manners whatsoever. Unfortunately, like it or not your experience starts with check in. The rooms are comfortable, although bed and pillows are very average. Room is very cold with a dismal heating unit under the window...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ppsflyer
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Good day Ppsflyer, Thank you for this insightful review of the Glacier View Inn. This is very concerning to us as we take pride in our customer service! We do apologize about the experience you had but rest assure we will work with our front desk team to ensure this type of experience does not happen again. We do thank...

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We had what has to be the premier room in the entire hotel. It was billed as a Glacier View room, but it was actually one entire end of the hotel from front to back on the south end of the hotel. The room was huge. There were 2 queen- sized beds and 5 windows; the one facing west had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom F
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Hi there Tom F, Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and loved the wonderful views from you room! We will be looking at what we can do for the 2017 year on the comments you have mentioned. Again thank you for the lovely review and we...

Prince George
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Food is Very expensive but get that it is isolated. Automatic 15% gratuity for busboy and cooks is so unusual I felt that the waiter might have been untruthful. 6% tip out from waiters tips is standard. Never heard of it included and called gratuity and then expected to tip waiter on top.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardanitad
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Good morning richardanitad, Thank you for your comments about your experience at our location. The dining room does add the Automatic 15% tip but it is the guest's choice to leave an additional tip along with that. We will be review all comments such as your own to see what we can improve on for the 2017 year. Thank you...

Edmonton
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Hotel is in the nicest area of the world with the best view all around. The rooms need an update to more current, the restaurant needs a correction in pricing and the staff need to be better trained regarding current promotions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevorr320
Vanessa M, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear trevorr320, Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us on Tripadvisor. I loved the fact that you found our location to be the nicest in the world with the best view. This is one of the best reasons to stay with us at the Glacier View Inn. The prices at our dinning outlets are based...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
92.0 km away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#8 of 21 in Jasper National Park
548 reviews
90.4 km away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#10 of 21 in Jasper National Park
404 reviews
45.3 km away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#9 of 21 in Jasper National Park
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.5 km away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#12 of 33 in Jasper National Park
355 reviews
31.6 km away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
0.0 km away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#26 of 33 in Jasper National Park
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Price Range: ₹ 5,621 - ₹ 15,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel
The Glacier View Inn Jasper National Park, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glacier View Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Glacier View Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a Glacier View”
  • The view from Room # 305 - spectaculer!
 of 5 bubbles Etoile_of_NE_Ohio, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Tanya-Glen, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring your food with you”
  • view outside
 of 5 bubbles fahym, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pull out couch bed is not comfortable. Loft with glacier view only has tiny window anyway, so don't pay extra.”
 of 5 bubbles EstherG249, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“When you arrive park in the parking lot on the south side of the building where all the buses are”
 of 5 bubbles Normu, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5