We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sands Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sands Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Prince Albert, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is very dated however bed was comfortable bathroom was like new, room was clean. The lounge was like new lots of tv's for the evenings sports. Lots of VLT's if that's your thing. The real win is the staff everyone was awesome . Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stage12
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate & comment on our Hotel! I will share this response with ALL Management & Staff and I am pleased you enjoyed our renovated room & lounge! Christee - General Manager

Osoyoos, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The only reason we chose this hotel is because we needed somewhere pet friendly and close to the hospital as a loved one is in the ICU here. I went on Expedia and seen this hotel didn't have very good reviews, but I looked at the pictures and throughly checked out the different options before booking and thought it can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tay F
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This was a hard review to read as we are very disappointed on how your stay was in our Hotel. Our smoking rooms will have the "smoking linger" to them no matter how clean the room is and I am sorry, that even as a smoker, you were not pleased. Regarding the cleanliness of the room; I wish you would...

Reviewed 6 September 2016

I was disappointing that the maid service never changed the sheets on the pull out bed I was using even though I had put the sign on the sofa bed. Did always do my daughters bed. I also was treated rudely by the staff at the lounge when My daughter and I tried to come in the lounge before the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am very sorry I missed this review and took so long to respond. I have forwarded this email to our Executive House keeping as a reminder of guests requests or policy on all bedding, I am sorry this was over looked. I also apologize that you felt our Lounge employee came across stern regarding opening or closing, as we...

Hudson's Hope, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stayed here and it was hilariously awful. We booked last minute and could only get 2 smoking rooms for our group. I don't know if the non-smoking rooms are kept up better, but our rooms stank bad! The long term resident across the hall from us agreed, at 7:30am she started screaming in the hallway for 2-3 minutes about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpow891
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Last minute bookings will usually leave you with last minute rooms. Our smoking rooms cater to the smoker and being a NON smoker you will definitely smell the difference. If your room or neighbor was in fact unsatisfactory, I wish you would have notified us immediately, as being a modest Hotel with many renovations in place; yes, our lounge is...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We had a stop over here on our way to Jasper. It's very good, nothing fancy, clean and tidy with good local facilities for food. There is a pool and gym and I would have liked to have a massage but there wasn't time!. I would recommend as a stop,over. We had a meal at Denny's and The chop place,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! See you during your next visit! Christee

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Went to a concert at Rexall, this was within waking distance so I gave it a try. What a mistake. I checked in, dropped off my stuff, and luckily had enough time to grab some food at the hotel restaurant. The only good thing I can say about this place was the food was good! (But waited a long time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iloveparis00
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I appreciate all of your feedback and I have personally spoke to the staff & checked the room. Thank you for talking to me in my office, I wish we could of resolved this together. Christee - General Manager

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel, as to be close to the concert that was going on. I didn't mind it to much, but when going to sleep. The mattress kept sinking in on one side. Informed the front desk and got a run around that maybe we ended up doing something to the bed. Whatever no big deal. We managed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris t
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We have had the pleasure of many guests attend a concert or game at Rexall & Northlands as we are walking distance to both, and than enjoy our lounge after. I am am pleased that our bartender was able to make your lounge experience memorable. We have replaced many beds in the rooms when suggested from guests experiences and I...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Rooms smell like smoke, customer service agents are not very friendly, management has a bad attitude, restaurant is priced high for quality of food and getting g service to pay is a long wait. I have stayed here more many years, twice a year and since new management came in approximately in 2013 the hotel has gone some hill extremely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Our hotel does offer smoking rooms and I apologize as passing that floor, you could smell smoke. Our Front Desk staff and Management work diligently to try to resolve all issues that our customers may have. Since new Ownership & Management we are pleased with our guests reviews and comments as they keep us working hard to renovate & improve...

Valemount, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Staff were friendly. Old building and sketchy clientele. Brought my children here and didn't feel safe. Man was spraying some bug and asking for new sheets. Not sure what it was, but it was a little alarming. Clump of hair on our bed and something on walls. Staff were helpful but I won't be staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lanceandjess
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I remember this incident at the front desk as I was dealing with "our bug spray" guest. He was seeking OFF, and in his hand was a MOSQUITO. He was quite concerned about the mosquitos, so we accommodated him with the bug spray for his room. I wish that we were contacted immediately at the front desk to change your...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I stayed here with my boyfriend before visiting west ed mall. This hotel was friendly, clean and very new looking. They have a very nice restaurant and lounge with live music, a bar and pool tables. It is a very clean hotel, I felt safe, and the rooms are very nice. The bed was super comfy and the room had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank savannah10025
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for this comment! We appreciate any comments that can make us better for our guests, but this one is a true validation that we have MANY MANY pleased guests as yourself! It has made our entire hotels day to again see that our hard work is making a difference! Christee - General Manager

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
4.2 km away
Travelodge Edmonton East
Travelodge Edmonton East
#73 of 93 in Edmonton
161 reviews
1.1 km away
Eastglen Inn
Eastglen Inn
#72 of 93 in Edmonton
69 reviews
2.0 km away
Century Casino and Hotel
Century Casino and Hotel
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
#56 of 93 in Edmonton
96 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn  Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
4.6 km away
Ramada Edmonton Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sands Inn & Suites is one of the North Edmonton Hotels located on Yellow Head Trail. We are 5 minutes from Rexall place, Northlands Expo and 10 minutes from shopping & ameneties. 53 Hotel rooms that offer NON smoking & smoking, PET Friendly, Large RV Parking, Laundry facilities & 24 hour front desk staff. Our lounge is open 7 days a week with Karaoke, VLT's, Pool Tables and a food & drink menu that will satisfy your apetitie! Our Banquet Facility staff are trained to meet all your needs for weddings, conferences and Live Entertainment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 12340 Fort Rd NW | Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta T5B 4H5, Canada (Formerly Sands Hotel)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Price Range: ₹ 3,774 - ₹ 4,853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn & Suites Edmonton, Alberta
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sands Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sands Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here by yourself, don't keep shiny things in your car, utilize the chain lock!”
 of 5 bubbles jpow891, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“they should make the door ways wider and check the elevator as it is very slow”
 of 5 bubbles 805davet, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bottom two floors are pet friendly. Our room faced away from the highway and was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NeverEverTours, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles morganneb626, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid all rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles G8115VNdand, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay